PDA

View Full Version : Windows Vista 32-bit/64-bit questions


Kain
10-11-07, 10:17 AM
When I buy Vista, will I get both 32-bit and 64-bit installation DVDs? Is it true the 64-bit version runs slower than the 32-bit? Crysis is suppose to have both 32-bit and 64-bit versions when it goes out for sale; will it be better when running the 64-bit version?

nekrosoft13
10-11-07, 10:22 AM
When I buy Vista, will I get both 32-bit and 64-bit installation DVDs? Only if you buy Ultimate retail, for rest you will ahve to pay extra for 64bit dvd

Is it true the 64-bit version runs slower than the 32-bit? no, its mostly the same, in some cases 64bit has the edge. Plus with 32bit if you get 4gb of ram, you will only have about 3.2 of usable ram.

Crysis is suppose to have both 32-bit and 64-bit versions when it goes out for sale; will it be better when running the 64-bit version? right now only crytek and maybe ea has 64bit version of crysis(thats even if there is one), no one can honestly answer that.


.

Kain
10-11-07, 10:24 AM
GS: When we talked last year it was said that Crysis will ship with 32-bit and 64-bit versions. Is 64-bit still in the box? Does it offer any kind of performance improvements as predicted?

CY: Yes, 64-bit in general runs better than 32-bit. In fact I would recommend gamers run 64-bit only under very high configurations. We ship both 32- and 64-bit out of box. http://www.gamespot.com/pc/action/crysis/news.html?sid=6180628&om_act=convert&om_clk=newsfeatures&tag=newsfeatures;title;1

Kain
10-11-07, 10:25 AM
If I install 4GB of RAM on the 32-bit version, does that mean 1GB goes to waste or is it used elsewhere?

nekrosoft13
10-11-07, 11:45 AM
http://www.gamespot.com/pc/action/crysis/news.html?sid=6180628&om_act=convert&om_clk=newsfeatures&tag=newsfeatures;title;1

then why did you ask, if you already knew the answer?

Kain
10-11-07, 11:52 AM
then why did you ask, if you already knew the answer? I don't trust a company's opinion of its own products.

nekrosoft13
10-11-07, 12:36 PM
I don't trust a company's opinion of its own products.

that fair enough, like i said, no one that i know has played the 64bit version outside of crytek and ea.

just have to wait.

jcossin
10-11-07, 01:36 PM
If I install 4GB of RAM on the 32-bit version, does that mean 1GB goes to waste or is it used elsewhere?

It will go to waste. If you want to use 4GB, get the 64-bit. 64-bit has a very small performance hit compared to 32-bit but if you add more RAM, it might actually perform better than 32-bit. I only have 2GB of RAM so I went with the 32-bit but I went through this same dillemma myself and finally settled on the 32-bit.

If you don't buy Ultimate, here is the link to upgrade your 32-bit to 64-bit if you ever decide you want to go 64:

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/1033/ordermedia/default.mspx

hell_of_doom227
10-11-07, 03:22 PM
64bit version with 4GB is better performer and more stable then 32bit Vista.

Don't worry about drivers and software. A lot of software supports 64bit even the latest dvdFab with its unsigned VSO drivers :D

Kain
10-11-07, 03:28 PM
Will iTunes work on 64-bit Vista? It states it needs 32-bit Vista or XP to install.

six_storm
10-11-07, 05:44 PM
Just with my experiences, unless you have 4GB RAM, don't go with Vista 64-bit just yet. It's still not 100% with some/most games and apps. I got horrible performance, but that's mainly because I don't own a 8800GTX. Vista and gaming don't mix just yet.

Just a word of warning.

Redeemed
10-11-07, 06:03 PM
Just with my experiences, unless you have 4GB RAM, don't go with Vista 64-bit just yet. It's still not 100% with some/most games and apps. I got horrible performance, but that's mainly because I don't own a 8800GTX. Vista and gaming don't mix just yet.

Just a word of warning.

That's the biggest LOL I can possible conjure up. You took the caek therez. GG, rtv and votemap? (crazy)

Joking aside, Vista Ultimate x64 rocks for gaming, and I don't own an 8800GTX nor do I have 4GB RAM- though I'll have that RAM soon. :D

Vista is FTW, unless you have an uber old system. :p

einstein_314
10-11-07, 07:55 PM
Will iTunes work on 64-bit Vista? It states it needs 32-bit Vista or XP to install.
Yup, works fine here.

nekrosoft13
10-11-07, 09:36 PM
Just with my experiences, unless you have 4GB RAM, don't go with Vista 64-bit just yet. It's still not 100% with some/most games and apps. I got horrible performance, but that's mainly because I don't own a 8800GTX. Vista and gaming don't mix just yet.

Just a word of warning.

please don't post your BS

I been been playing games with 2gb ram on 64 bit vista for 8 months. Every single game played without any issues.

six_storm
10-11-07, 09:48 PM
please don't post your BS

I been been playing games with 2gb ram on 64 bit vista for 8 months. Every single game played without any issues.

I'm just saying, the performance difference between the two OS's are worth mentioning. Take the Crysis Beta. 10FPS on Vista (32/64) vs 45FPS in XP. What about Source games? 30FPS on Vista vs 60FPS+ on XP. Why not just use XP until Vista gets its stuff straight and get the extra performance gain? That's all I'm saying.

Vista for some reason doesn't like to run games as good as XP does so when it comes down to someone that doesn't have a GTX, I'll stay with XP for a little while longer.

I'm planning on getting another HDD soon and install Vista x64 to test some apps and performance. I'm reviewing for NVNews now so I'll have to add Vista performance to my reviews.

crainger
10-14-07, 07:38 AM
Source(HL2, Ep1, LC, Ep2, Portal) runs perfectly for me using Vista32, still have the classic stutter though from way back in XP days...not Vista related by any means...in fact I'd say it is less in Ep2 than ever before. Maybe it's just the old boring CS folks having problems under Vista?

They have problems with everything they do. :D *Boom headshot*