PDA

View Full Version : q6600 idle and load temps


kingme02
10-12-07, 10:29 PM
when i use speedfan my idle temps read : 29-30 c on all cores at idle. When i use core temp: idle : 0: 48c /1: 44c
2: 47c /3: 44c/. This is strange to me what program is more accurate? Also when i go into a game, why does CORE TEMP READ ALLY MY CORES AT 100c(?)? I have b3 stepping I dont want to LOSE my q6600.....

Muntz
10-12-07, 11:19 PM
CoreTemp is showing the correct temperature.

In Speedfan you need to add 15C to the core temps. You can do this in the Advanced tab of the configuration. Alternatively, you could download the latest beta of Speedfan (4.34 B23) which now correctly displays the core temps.

100C is scorching for a Q6600. My new Q6600 (G0) runs at around 60C when running Prime95 on all cores. The G0 stepping is supposed to run a little cooler; but, not that much cooler. I'm overclocked to 3.0Ghz and I'm using an Zalman 9500 with the fan running at about 7V.

Are you overclocking your Q6600? What heatsink and fan are you using? Are you sure you have the heatsink installed properly? Thermal paste applied properly?

kingme02
10-12-07, 11:36 PM
OMG is my cpu going to die??44-48c idle, Under load its 60-66c on the cores.......This is my first time installing a cpu and heatsinkfan. I use zalman 9500, arctic silver 5, and no overclocking...

kingme02
10-13-07, 12:17 AM
I set mp pc to shut at 60c but why isnt it shutting down?

skank
10-13-07, 12:34 AM
If you set the shutdown temp in your bios then that is taking the shutdown temp from the CPU heatspreader, this will typically be 10c lower than the core temps. 60-66c on your cores at load is a little high for stock speeds, however it is within safe limits, you can try lowering your voltage a little, I found that I was able to OC to 3Ghz and still lower the voltage from stock.

I wrote more here (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1398310&postcount=8)

kingme02
10-13-07, 12:45 AM
I've googled this and seems theres many others like me with these kind of temps

skank
10-13-07, 02:48 AM
I suspect it has something to do with the built in anti vdroop that some motherboards support. With my cpu running stock at stock voltage and the vdroop protection enabled I noticed high temps, when I disabled it the core voltage would fluctuate more under load (it would drop under load) however still remain perfectly stable under stress testing, all with lower temps. This is what led me to turn on the vdroop protection and lower the voltage on the cores. Now my voltage stays very stable even under load and I am able to run a consistent low voltage on the cores. Once my AS5 has had time to settle I will be pushing my OC higher.