PDA

View Full Version : leaving corsair need new memory advice?


mxmightymc
10-13-07, 04:00 PM
Ok this is the third time that I have RMA'd my pair of dominator 8888c4d! Can anybody advice me on a different pair with the same specs and good for overclocking!!

CaptNKILL
10-13-07, 04:41 PM
I'm a fan of OCZ.

I've had 2 sets of their memory and its been fantastic.

Xion X2
10-13-07, 04:47 PM
Ok this is the third time that I have RMA'd my pair of dominator 8888c4d! Can anybody advice me on a different pair with the same specs and good for overclocking!!
That's too much of a coincidence. That 680i motherboard is probably killing them.

680i has been known to eat memory sticks.

Dr.Nick
10-13-07, 05:29 PM
I've been using Patriot ram for a few years now and have never been let down. They are usually the cheapest of the bunch but they have all performed beyond spec for my builds. However, Corsair makes some nice ram and they have been around for quite some time now so if their ram is dying like that you should see if its something else(like the mobo). gl

Digital_Trans
10-13-07, 05:37 PM
That's too much of a coincidence. That 680i motherboard is probably killing them.

680i has been known to eat memory sticks.


How do you justify that claim? because I hate the nForce 680i Chipset.

SOAD
10-13-07, 05:53 PM
google it ;)

im suspicious of my ram :o

Xion X2
10-13-07, 06:08 PM
How do you justify that claim? because I hate the nForce 680i Chipset.

"Justify?" Just ask any # of 680i owners on this forum and across the web. I've seen hundreds of individuals across various communities who have replaced their RAM repeatedly only to find out their mainboard was killing it.

OCZ apparently has even commented on the subject and blamed the 680i chipset in overvolting:

I have been advised by OCZ engineering that there is a known problem with the evga/bfg 680i A1 MoBos running 4 sticks of DDR2-1066 RAM. They said that the mobo is producing intermittent voltage spikes on the 2nd and 4th memory slot which is eating up everyone's RAM!!

http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=60401&mpage=1&key=

agree,,,,

but aparently these boards have a history of eating ram after a months use
from what ive been reading about them.
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/intel/289-680i-dead-dead-dead-3.html

I've been doing some research on the various 680i models, and they all seem to suck with Quad-cores or they have some horrible flaw, like eating RAM.
http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=29&threadid=2075166


All you have to do is google, really; it's all over the place. While it's true that some people just don't know what they're doing, the issues with the chipset are too common to just sweep under the rug to user error. And from personal experience, I had 3 die on me in a matter of months and know that it's crap.

fasedww
10-13-07, 07:41 PM
"Justify?" Just ask any # of 680i owners on this forum and across the web. I've seen hundreds of individuals across various communities who have replaced their RAM repeatedly only to find out their mainboard was killing it.

OCZ apparently has even commented on the subject and blamed the 680i chipset in overvolting:



http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=60401&mpage=1&key=


http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/intel/289-680i-dead-dead-dead-3.html


http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=29&threadid=2075166


All you have to do is google, really; it's all over the place. While it's true that some people just don't know what they're doing, the issues with the chipset are too common to just sweep under the rug to user error. And from personal experience, I had 3 die on me in a matter of months and know that it's crap.
I've had my four 1 gig sticks of corsair Xms dominator 6400d, on a evga 680i since november/december of last year. Run them at 2.10 volts on Vista 64, still running good at 800mhz 4 4 4 12 2t, with no problems period.:)

Xion X2
10-13-07, 08:08 PM
I've had my four 1 gig sticks of corsair Xms dominator 6400d, on a evga 680i since november/december of last year. Run them at 2.10 volts on Vista 64, still running good at 800mhz 4 4 4 12 2t, with no problems period.:)
Yeah, every once in a while you hear of someone like yourself who has no problems.

It's not a black or white issue. Some people have problems; some don't. But it's the frequency of the problems that raises a concern. When you buy a piece of hardware, you generally don't plan on it blowing up in your face and taking some of your other expensive components with it. The quality control just isn't where it needs to be.

mxmightymc
10-13-07, 08:39 PM
its official I will rma both my corsair memory and the mb! which MB should I get?? I need to overclock my qx6850!

Xion X2
10-13-07, 08:54 PM
which MB should I get?? I need to overclock my qx6850!
P35. Just be aware that it doesn't support SLI. I see that you're on a single GTX right now, but you should still know that beforehand.

Unfortunately Nvidia doesn't allow Intel to implement SLI on their chipsets. So they'll have to do without my business on two fronts: that extra graphics card and motherboard.

mxmightymc
10-13-07, 09:15 PM
How about this one?

Maximus Formula (Special Edition)

http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=572&l4=0&model=1850&modelmenu=1

Xion X2
10-13-07, 09:49 PM
How about this one?

Maximus Formula (Special Edition)

http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=572&l4=0&model=1850&modelmenu=1

Looks like a kickass board, for certain. That one also won't support SLI though--just so you know. Supports Crossfire only.

If you wanted to go cheaper, a mainstream P35 like mine or one like Slawter has (which is more expensive with a few more features) will do just fine for OC'ng. I'm quad-priming stable right now at 3.6GHz with more room to go.

mxmightymc
10-13-07, 10:22 PM
Looks like a kickass board, for certain. That one also won't support SLI though--just so you know. Supports Crossfire only.

If you wanted to go cheaper, a mainstream P35 like mine or one like Slawter has (which is more expensive with a few more features) will do just fine for OC'ng. I'm quad-priming stable right now at 3.6GHz with more room to go.

Yeah I know...should I wait for the the upcoming nv chipsets this November? I really want SLI! I don't use it right know. But I was planning to do it early next year!

Xion X2
10-13-07, 10:24 PM
Yeah I know...should I wait for the the upcoming nv chipsets this November? I really want SLI! I don't use it right know. But I was planning to do it early next year!
That's entirely up to you. If it were me, I wouldn't trust an Nvidia chipset as far as I could toss a full-grown hippo.

Digital_Trans
10-14-07, 02:05 AM
How about this one?

Maximus Formula (Special Edition)

http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=572&l4=0&model=1850&modelmenu=1


I just pre-ordered this bad boy last week! I can't wait to get it put all together. Who cares about SLI anyway, it hasn't proven to be worth anything besides a couple of frame rates faster. I've had SLI before with the 7800 GTX, 7900 GTX and the 7950 GX2 and it didn't do a damn thing for me.

mullet
10-14-07, 11:07 AM
I would keep that memory for sure. I would get an Intel chipset and be done!

Xion X2
10-14-07, 11:14 AM
I just pre-ordered this bad boy last week! I can't wait to get it put all together. Who cares about SLI anyway, it hasn't proven to be worth anything besides a couple of frame rates faster. I've had SLI before with the 7800 GTX, 7900 GTX and the 7950 GX2 and it didn't do a damn thing for me.
SLI is definitely worth it for some games. But it's only implemented on a garbage chipset and doesn't scale as well with newer titles as a lot of people expected it to. A lot of DirectX10 games aren't scaling but around 50% or less.. kind of quizzical.