PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking 8800 Ultra on water, and Some Benches.


Nkd
10-14-07, 07:05 PM
Alright guys so I know what all of us want to know how those shaders overclock thanks to the new rivatuner. so I found the most stable oc with riva tuner and looped 3dmark06 and lost planet for atleast and hour and than flashed my card's bios with the overclock. so here it is. my highest stable 24/7 overclock with the 8800 ultra, 700core, 1836 shader, and 2350 memory, I was able to bench at 720/1890/2400 but I had artifacts here and there so I reduced the overclock to the first settings.
all this with thermaltake ND4 added to my water loop, and idle temps are 39-40c and load temps never go above 43-45c. all benches are done at 24/7 stable clocks. 700/1836/2350, quad core G0 at 3.6 on IP-35 pro.

here is My 3dmark with a single ultra, with my quad running at 3.6, game tests with 4xAA, 16xAf at 1920x1200. NO AA for timeshift, everything maxed out.

few games benched with fraps.

COD4
Frames: 57002 - Time: 907517ms - Avg: 62.810 - Min: 32 - Max: 192

TimeShift
Frames: 58181 - Time: 940663ms - Avg: 61.851 - Min: 38 - Max: 206

UT3 Demo, is locked at 60FPS and thats what I get.

3dmark run at default settings.
http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/1627/3dmarksingleultrabr0.jpg

http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/9463/lostplanetzu8.jpg

http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/3952/wic1ai7.jpg

I have to say that this game is really smooth, and in game average is over 50 and my minim is no where near the benchmark, lol.

Xion X2
10-14-07, 07:31 PM
Some really nice #s there. What kind of a block are you using on the Ultra?

Nkd
10-14-07, 07:41 PM
Some really nice #s there. What kind of a block are you using on the Ultra?

thought I didnt mention it in the post, But I did, but anyways its the Thermaltake ND4, man I cant believe I am getting better performance with this waterblock than dangerden waterblocks, well from what I have read online, Idle gpu diode temps are 39-40c and load temps are in worst case 45c. most of the time 43c, and also I was amazed to see the memory temps 33c idle and 38-40c load, went from 54C idle and 74c load temps on gpu to 43c load temp, 31c drop, memory temps were only taken with everest, were 49cidle and about 58c load.

3DBrad
10-15-07, 07:18 AM
You can unlock the framerate in UT3, it's just there for "smoothing" the game experience. Just search the forums. :)

GitDat
10-20-07, 01:23 PM
Who needs water :D I'm almost keeping up, hehe