PDA

View Full Version : Boost your PS3's framerate in games?


christos
10-15-07, 08:30 AM
I came across this, this morning:

http://www.pspsps.tv/2007/10/boost_your_ps3_game_framerates_1.html

It's some setting you can change in the xmb to allegedly improve your ps3 framerates in some games. Logically it makes sense that disabling a lot of these settings would free up some cpu time, but would it be enough to make any sort of a noticeable difference?

If anyone has a chance to try this out with a few games I'd be interested to know if there's any sort of measurable improvement.

buffbiff21
10-18-07, 12:26 AM
So we have to worry about performance issues on consoles now too? Great. I'm losing faith in gaming, across the board. Screw next gen. I don't want ten-eighty-pee. I just want a fun game (with a perfectly smooth framerate).

Lyme
10-18-07, 11:12 AM
So we have to worry about performance issues on consoles now too? Great. I'm losing faith in gaming, across the board. Screw next gen. I don't want ten-eighty-pee. I just want a fun game (with a perfectly smooth framerate).

You don't have to worry about this on the Wii and 360. They both do a soft-reboot when you leave a game, leaving the system in a clean state. I'm kind of surprised that the PS3 doesn't do that too.

Mr. Hunt
10-18-07, 11:18 AM
You don't have to worry about this on the Wii and 360. They both do a soft-reboot when you leave a game, leaving the system in a clean state. I'm kind of surprised that the PS3 doesn't do that too.

Definitely don't have to worry about it with the Wii for one other major reason... it doesn't support HD resolutions.

BioHazZarD
10-18-07, 11:19 AM
I dont believe that, the ps3 cpus are so powerful changing wont do any difference as it has 1 cpu reserved for xmb and such, all others are up to the devs to use in games.