PDA

View Full Version : ET: Quake war : No sound??


wolfgar
10-20-07, 09:05 PM
starting a separate thread for this specific issue.

I bought the game on release, and enjoyed it. Its a bit more complicated with all the classes and abilities but fun once you get the hang of it.

Then HalfLife2 Orange Box came out (Team Fortress 2!!!!!!)

today, for kicks and a change of pace, I launched ET:QW again.

No Sound. nothing, nada.
not on the menu's, at load up, on anything.:thumbdwn:

Tried other games, everything seems to be okay. checked ET again: Nothing.

This seems to be a pretty big problem from the ET forums.

Anyone else losing sound?

This seems like a pretty significant issue for many users, but Activision seems to be hushing it up, or just ignoring it..

Anyone else having these problems?
I've also read reports of sound just cutting out completely, mid game.

:fu:

a12ctic
10-21-07, 12:49 AM
Works in linux, the FPS is really solid too. Even on my 6600GT.

Nar
10-21-07, 02:51 AM
Which sound card ya got?

Armed_Baboon
10-21-07, 03:49 AM
are you using some kind of 3rd party server finder/launcher? It may cause problems.

wolfgar
10-21-07, 12:52 PM
based on a suggestion in a different forum, I completely removed the drivers (and board for a few reboots) and then totally installed audio from scratch.

Its working again.

very strange. its been solid for 1 1/2 years.


for reference: its a creative labs Audigy 2 ZS (MB audio is disabled)

AngelGraves13
12-17-07, 04:54 PM
based on a suggestion in a different forum, I completely removed the drivers (and board for a few reboots) and then totally installed audio from scratch.

Its working again.

very strange. its been solid for 1 1/2 years.


for reference: its a creative labs Audigy 2 ZS (MB audio is disabled)

When I uninstalled Visual C++ 2005 SP1 I lost all sound in the game. Installing Visual C++ back (I installed 2008) fixed it.

bob saget
12-17-07, 05:27 PM
hope you get it fixed. sound driver?

Dragunov
12-17-07, 05:45 PM
based on a suggestion in a different forum, I completely removed the drivers (and board for a few reboots) and then totally installed audio from scratch.

Its working again.

very strange. its been solid for 1 1/2 years.


for reference: its a creative labs Audigy 2 ZS (MB audio is disabled)

Said