PDA

View Full Version : APC Question


ChiBChombo
10-25-07, 05:21 PM
Alright, I live in a place where power goes out alot when its storming, so it gets pretty annoying.

My friend told me of "APC" things, so I looked one up. I found one that I liked of 750W, and my question is...

If i set up this APC, and connect my computer, Speakers, and my DSL to it, will it be able to run fine? I don't exactly know how they work, but I'm guessing 750W is the limit and I dont know what happens if it goes past that.

So question is, will a 750W APC atleast give my comp 5 minutes to turn it off if power goes out? I don't want to connect it and have power go out and have a problem.

Thank you

BashfulTux
10-25-07, 09:40 PM
Alright, I live in a place where power goes out alot when its storming, so it gets pretty annoying.

My friend told me of "APC" things, so I looked one up. I found one that I liked of 750W, and my question is...

If i set up this APC, and connect my computer, Speakers, and my DSL to it, will it be able to run fine? I don't exactly know how they work, but I'm guessing 750W is the limit and I dont know what happens if it goes past that.

So question is, will a 750W APC atleast give my comp 5 minutes to turn it off if power goes out? I don't want to connect it and have power go out and have a problem.

Thank you

You should be fine with a 750w UPS if you are really concerned then go to www.apc.com and use their calculator to see what they recommend. As to when the power goes out they include software where you can set how the machine will be shutdown so if you set a minimum amount of charge left then it shuts the machine down automatically when that level is reached.

evilghost
10-25-07, 10:03 PM
Get one with AVR and one with high floor and low ceiling transfer to battery voltages. The closer to 120V with a good sine wave the happier your equipment is.

ChiBChombo
10-25-07, 11:54 PM
This is the one I'm getting:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16842101137


Not sure what you meant by getting one with AVR etc, all I'm looking for is an APC that will give my computer atleast 3-5 minutes when power goes out to get a proper shut down.

BashfulTux
10-26-07, 12:21 AM
This is the one I'm getting:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16842101137


Not sure what you meant by getting one with AVR etc, all I'm looking for is an APC that will give my computer atleast 3-5 minutes when power goes out to get a proper shut down.

Active Voltage Regulation I assume, for your needs I think it 750 should do it. Mine which is a 500w easily runs my machine a Core 2 Duo running at 3ghz, 4gb ram, 7900 GS KO video, single hard drive, a couple of PCI cards, a sound card, cable modem, 20" LCD and router all running through it. Now from the output below with all this on it you can see I have 10 minutes of runtime when the power fails.


HappyTux:/video/virtualbox/images# apcaccess
APC : 001,037,0952
DATE : Fri Oct 26 01:08:01 ADT 2007
HOSTNAME : HappyTux
RELEASE : 3.14.1
VERSION : 3.14.1 (04 May 2007) debian
UPSNAME : HappyTux
CABLE : USB Cable
MODEL : Back-UPS ES 500
UPSMODE : Stand Alone
STARTTIME: Sat Oct 13 16:10:33 ADT 2007
STATUS : ONLINE
LINEV : 119.0 Volts
LOADPCT : 54.0 Percent Load Capacity
BCHARGE : 100.0 Percent
TIMELEFT : 10.1 Minutes
MBATTCHG : 5 Percent
MINTIMEL : 3 Minutes
MAXTIME : 0 Seconds
SENSE : High
LOTRANS : 088.0 Volts
HITRANS : 138.0 Volts
ALARMDEL : Always
BATTV : 13.5 Volts
LASTXFER : Input frequency out of range
NUMXFERS : 3
XONBATT : Wed Oct 24 13:55:05 ADT 2007
TONBATT : 0 seconds
CUMONBATT: 2 seconds
XOFFBATT : Wed Oct 24 13:55:06 ADT 2007
STATFLAG : 0x07000008 Status Flag
MANDATE : 2003-01-25
SERIALNO : JB0304044636
BATTDATE : 2003-00-00
NOMINV : 120
NOMBATTV : 12.0
FIRMWARE : 2.e2.D USB FW:e2
APCMODEL : Back-UPS ES 500
END APC : Fri Oct 26 01:08:31 ADT 2007

evilghost
10-26-07, 08:11 AM
AVR would cover the gaps in the voltages between 88V and 138V. For example, at 95V, which is low voltage, the UPS would not transfer to battery to produce 120V.

The higher the low-voltage transfer and the lower the high-voltage transfer the better.


LOTRANS : 088.0 Volts
HITRANS : 138.0 Volts

Bman212121
10-26-07, 08:45 AM
I'm not sure what the difference is between the the smart UPS and the normal ones, but I have this model: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16842101006

It's a 1200VA and it give me this much runtime at idle.

EDIT: The difference is that the smart UPS have more surge protection and less surge let through

http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/2774/apc1200kn2.jpg

Loaded it more like 12 minutes.

I think you might want to go even a little bigger because once you load that you'll get about 5 minutes tops. If you had to shutdown the computer you wouldn't have much time to save everything and get it shutdown.

The one you are looking at can run 500W, which your computer loaded it going to get close to 400W. If you do go over 500W it will flip on an overloaded light. The UPS will still run, but if the power goes out I assume the unit would just shut off. There should be some surge only plugs on it for you to connect speakers to since you don't care if those stay on when the power goes out. (EDIT: Smart UPS don't have any surge only, so you'd want to have another surge protector for your speakers) The DSL modem and even a router draw so little power you won't have to worry about them in your choice, but the 8800U is going to be drawing quite a bit of power.

I would probably look at the 750XL model. It can hold 600W and also has a lot more runtime. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16842101016

ChiBChombo
10-26-07, 02:06 PM
How about this one??

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16842101066

Bman212121
10-26-07, 02:25 PM
How about this one??

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16842101066
That's basically the newer version of what I have. It's not quite as good as the smart ups server one would be, but I haven't had any problems with mine. That one is the commerical type UPS. It should give you a good amount of runtime and not kill on the price.

Also, you can pick one of those types in computer stores like Bestbuy. It is only $160 for that model in the store and you don't have to pay the shipping. (Which is a lot on battery backups)

ChiBChombo
10-26-07, 02:27 PM
So that one would be a good choice?

Bman212121
10-29-07, 05:26 PM
Sorry I forgot about this thread. Yes, that would be a good UPS device for your needs.

ChiBChombo
10-31-07, 01:20 AM
Well I bought it, small, looks really nice, heavy but good.

I connected the screen, DSL, and my whole comp to it, on load (while playing games) it goes uo to 370-390 (42-48% load) on Cutscenes (example half life 2) went up to 400 (52% load).

With that ammount of load it gives me 12 minutes of power if theres no electricity.


One thing I wanted to ask, other than those 3 things, I didn't connect anything else to it. The manual shows phone, modem, etc etc, is it really needed?

And, does this work as a power stablizer? Don't know if those are the names for them in USA, but its what you connect everything to to protect from when power goes down/up etc.


Edit: I also didn't install the software it came with, simply because the APC has a screen that displays everything. Is it needed tho?

evilghost
10-31-07, 08:46 AM
It doesn't offer AVR from what I can tell but it will help regulate voltage by transferring to battery if the voltage is below 88V or above 139V. AVR helps normalize voltages between those 'transfer to battery' values.

Bman212121
10-31-07, 11:29 AM
It doesn't offer AVR from what I can tell but it will help regulate voltage by transferring to battery if the voltage is below 88V or above 139V. AVR helps normalize voltages between those 'transfer to battery' values.

It should.
Boost Automatic Voltage Regulation (AVR)
http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=BR1300LCD&tab=features

evilghost
10-31-07, 11:32 AM
It should.
Boost Automatic Voltage Regulation (AVR)
http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=BR1300LCD&tab=features

Thanks, I couldn't find it in the 'Technical Specs' section, that's weird. Good UPS then; AVR with good transfer to battery voltages is the key.

Bman212121
10-31-07, 11:32 AM
Well I bought it, small, looks really nice, heavy but good.

I connected the screen, DSL, and my whole comp to it, on load (while playing games) it goes uo to 370-390 (42-48% load) on Cutscenes (example half life 2) went up to 400 (52% load).

With that ammount of load it gives me 12 minutes of power if theres no electricity.


One thing I wanted to ask, other than those 3 things, I didn't connect anything else to it. The manual shows phone, modem, etc etc, is it really needed?

And, does this work as a power stablizer? Don't know if those are the names for them in USA, but its what you connect everything to to protect from when power goes down/up etc.


Edit: I also didn't install the software it came with, simply because the APC has a screen that displays everything. Is it needed tho?

If you can it would be strongly advised to run the incoming phone line before your DSL modem through it. In the event of a lightning strike this might keep your computer from frying. Someone I know just told me the other day they had a strike during the summer that somehow travels back through to their nic and it melted that part of the board and took the whole computer out. (It was probably running at the time)