PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

Zeus666
10-26-07, 12:55 PM
Crysis is made for high image quality and runs best with a
powerful main processor, a lot of main memory, and a powerful
graphics card with a lot of video memory. The performance can be
limited by one or more of the above mentioned points. By default
the game prefers settings for better performance which means
many options in the menu go to low quality mode. However if
hardware allows, this can be changed by the user. By adjusting
graphical settings you can find a good compromise for your
computer. Some very high quality features can only be accessed
when running on DirectX 10 which requires Windows Vista. Features
which are not accessible appear grayed out.

It is advisable to have the latest graphic card drivers as the
hardware vendors often include optimizations for specific games
into their drivers. Some graphics card settings in the Windows
display settings can affect performance or quality.
Windows Vista is a bit more demanding on hardware side and drivers
can be less optimized. This makes it even more necessary to get
recent drivers and hardware running well on Vista. Memory
management within Windows Vista has changed a bit which makes it
more memory demanding. Microsoft released a patch to improve this
situation. More details and the download can be found there:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/940105

Modern processors now support 64bit which mostly improves their
memory managing capabilities. This feature is only available if
the operating system support 64bits. As Crysis is demanding in its
memory requirements it can benefit from a 64bit OS. On a 64bit system
the engine texture streaming can be disabled as the operating
system can handle all data in a level. 64bit also supports more
main memory available for each application. Both are beneficial and
can result in improved frame rate and frame rate stability.

Multiple processors allow processing of some tasks in parallel which
mostly improves computational heavy situations like explosions.
The game utilizes multiple processors automatically.

Some hardware vendors have solutions to utilize multiple graphic
cards in parallel (e.g. Crossfire or SLI) and that can greatly improve
render performance. This requires the engine to run in the
"MultiGPU" mode. The speedup depends on the scene and system
properties like the main processor performance. Frame rate can be
less stable but is often much higher.

The screen resolution is one of the most critical options for
performance and quality. For best quality on a TFT it's best to
pick a resolution which fits the hardware resolution (check your
monitor manual). Generally a higher resolution gives better
quality but requires more memory and renders slower. However, this
depends on the hardware configuration and sometimes increasing the
resolutions does not even affect performance.

Crysis features soft real-time shadows which play an important
role in the image look. Shadows can be activated and deactivated
in the advanced options menu.

Crysis also features HDR rendering which can be activated via the
shading quality in the advanced options menu. In HDR mode you can
notice bright image areas not appearing burned out. You can also
notice the eye adapting to the brightness of the environment.
Deactivating HDR can give you higher frame rates as it requires
more graphics card performance and graphics card memory.

Anti aliasing is a hardware feature to improve image quality.
Edges become softer and lower resolutions can look quite
acceptable. The hardware feature works for most engine techniques
but some graphical features like atmospheric effects may appear
slightly different.

If your graphics card supports multiple monitors you might not get
full 3D acceleration on each display. This can be avoided by only
activating one display in the driver control panel.

To get a stable frame rate you should make sure your computer is
not busy with other tasks such as virus scans or downloading files.

Vertical Sync is a graphical option you can choose in your graphics
card driver. Switching this option off gives you best frame rate
but the image quality might suffer and the image may appear torn
apart. This is mostly noticeable when doing a quick horizontal
camera rotation. For benchmarking, this option is usually switched
off.

Modern TFT monitors have short response times and other features
which help when the eye is following fast paced action.

Input devices need to submit their data in some rate and with a
better connection (serial, PS2, USB) or better hardware you can
get a faster rate. This can result in improved response time and
an improved game experience.



================================================== ================
Known Issues
================================================== ================

1 ) Audio in Crysis is stereo although I selected a multi-speaker
mode in the Control Panel:

On selecting certain speaker modes in the Control Panel’s Audio
settings which are not supported by the sound card driver, Crysis
will switch to stereo as a fallback. This happens most likely on
selecting "Surround sound speakers" (5.0), or 7.1 speaker mode.

These outputs will be in the log:

Sound - initializing FMOD-EX now!

[Error] <Sound> Sound-FmodEx-AudioDevice: event system init failed!
(56) Error creating hardware sound buffer.

Sound - initialized FMOD-EX with stereo fallback



Resolution: Go to Control Panel -> Sound and Audio Devices ->
Volume tab -> Advanced button in Speaker settings field and choose a
different speaker mode.

2) There is a delay between action and audio (eg. shooting a weapon):

Most likely the user has turned hardware acceleration off by changing
the performance slider in the advanced audio playback settings.
Because DirectSound uses a larger buffer size of 200ms Crysis will
adapt its buffer resulting sounds to being slightly delayed.

Resolution: Go to Control Panel -> Sound and Audio Devices ->
Audio tab -> Advanced button in Sound Playback field ->
Performance tab and set the performance slider all the way to "full".

3) Intro movies and the MP tutorial have no sound:

Most likely the user has turned hardware acceleration off by changing
the performance slider in the advanced audio playback settings. The
video codec cannot create sounds with these settings so audio for the
movies are being disabled.

Resolution: Go to Control Panel -> Sound and Audio Devices -> Audio tab ->
Advanced button in Sound Playback field -> Performance tab and set the
performance slider all the way to "full".

4) Users running AVG anti virus prior to version 7.5 may experience false
positives with Crysis.exe. This can be fixed by upgrading your AVG client
to 7.5 or above.


================================================== ================
NAT/Firewall
================================================== ================

Game Port Usage

For all traffic between server and client 'game' port is used
(default 64087).

Ports
SDK Service Hostname Type Local Remote

Server:

Available hbmaster3 crysis.available.gamespy.com UDP Any 27900
NN natserver1 natneg1.gamespy.com UDP game 27901
NN natserver2 natneg2.gamespy.com UDP game 27901
NN nat neg Game client UDP game game*(other game)
QR2 hbmaster3 crysis.master.gamespy.com UDP game 27900
QR2 Incoming queries Game client UDP game Any
CDKey keymaster key.gamespy.com UDP game 29910
ATLAS Stats auth crysis.auth.pubsvs.gamespy.com TCP Any Any (def:443)
ATLAS Stats crysis.comp.pubsvs.gamespy.com TCP Any Any (def:80)
SAKE Profile settings/stats crysis.sake.gamespy.com TCP Any Any (def:80)

Client:(additionally)

Chat Any IRC server peerchat.gamespy.com TCP Any 6667
GP gpmanager gpcm.gamespy.com TCP Any 29900
GP searchmanager gpsp.gamespy.com TCP Any 29901
SB gmaster3 crysis.ms5.gamespy.com TCP Any 28910
SB Server queries game servers UDP Any game*(target server)

Default value for 'game' is 64087 (can be adjusted).
For incoming UDP traffic, only port "game" ( default 64087)
is required to be opened.

================================================== ================
*Administrator Privileges
================================================== ================

Please note that you may not be able to add Crysis to your software
firewall's exceptions list if you are not logged in as an administrator
in Windows. You will either need to do so from an account that has
administrator rights, or add your existing account to the
administrators list.

To do so, do the following:

In Windows XP,
1. Log out of Windows and log in with an Administrator account.
2. Once logged in, click on "Start" in the Windows taskbar.
3. Click "Settings".
4. Click "Control Panel".
5. Click "User Accounts".
6. Select the "Users" tab.
7. Under "Users for this computer:" click on your account name.
8. Click "Properties".
9. Select the "Group Membership" tab.
10. Select the "Other" radio button.
11. From the pulldown menu, select "Administrators".
12. Click "Apply" and then "OK".

In Windows Vista,
1. Log out of Windows and log in with an Administrator account.
2. Click the "Start" button in the Windows taskbar.
3. Click "Control Panel".
4. Click "Change account type" under the "User Accounts" heading.
5. Under "Users for this computer:" click on your account name.
6. Click "Properties".
7. Select the "Other" radio button.
8. From the pulldown menu, select "Administrators".
9. Click "Apply" and then "OK".


================================================== ================
Audio Information
================================================== ================

If some of the audio in the game seems to be missing, this is likely
due to your speaker settings. If your speaker settings are set to a
surround-sound configuration, but you do not have a surround-sound
speaker system, then some audio channels will not be heard during
gameplay.

To check and adjust your speaker settings:

1. Click the "Start" button in the Windows taskbar.
2. Choose "Control Panel".
3a. If your Control Panel is in the default Category View, click
"Sounds, Speech, and Audio Devices". Then click "Sounds and
Audio Devices".
3b. If your Control Panel is in Classic View, double-click
"Sounds and Audio Devices".
4. Under the "Speaker settings" heading, click "Advanced".
5. Choose the correct configuration in "Speaker setup" drop-down
menu.
6. Click "OK".

This should resolve the issue.

================================================== ================
End of ReadMe File.
================================================== ================

avirox
10-26-07, 12:56 PM
XP all the way.

I'm running at 1680x1050. Textures medium, shaders high and the rest changed in the config to very high and im running at an average of 20fps. It's smooth enough.

Any word on mem usage in the demo at med?

SH64
10-26-07, 12:58 PM
well, I think a $6000 PC should be able to run any game out there at max settings with high AA and high AF (lee63)
Well i still remember when FarCry came out .. no PC would play it at highAA+HighRes that time. IIRC it was barely running good for me @1280x1024,noAA,4xAF on a 9800XT & P4:3.4Ghz or something close.

expect the same with Crysis .. thats the life cycle of the big games :headexplode:
i'll be happy if i will be able to run Crysis @1280x1024,noAA,8xAF,DX10 with decent framerate on my current rig :o

stncttr908
10-26-07, 01:01 PM
I'll take 1600x1200 on max w/no AA and a bit of AF. No problemo. I'm gradually weening myself off the requirement of AA with the problems we're having with UT3 and others.

SH0DAN
10-26-07, 01:02 PM
I'd like to see some task manager shots while the game is running and under load.

Zeus666
10-26-07, 01:03 PM
README FILES

Tork64
10-26-07, 01:05 PM
this is just nuts, this is water on the tank vehicle zoomed up close.

http://img113.imageshack.us/img113/2406/wetad7.jpg

stncttr908
10-26-07, 01:05 PM
I really want the sandbox as much as the real game as dumb as that sounds.

Skinner
10-26-07, 01:07 PM
Btw, the grame freezes a lot, but only when loading a saved game, always at 88% loaded or with a new game after the landing.. Somebody else have this?

Zeus666
10-26-07, 01:07 PM
First Video !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1IYjquvZ7U


CINEMATIC IS STUNNING

CGI QUALITY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


no audio

Rummy
10-26-07, 01:11 PM
Does not seem to be using 4 cores only two at the moment. I was using high settings and my mem usage was at 1.58 while playing. Cpu was at 22% with core 1&4 being busy and 2&3 doing nothing. I had put settings on Very high, but was avg 19-22. So I set everything to high. Newer driver didn't seen to increase frames.

SH0DAN
10-26-07, 01:13 PM
Does not seem to be using 4 cores only two at the moment. I was using high settings and my mem usage was at 1.58 while playing. Cpu was at 22% with core 1&4 being busy and 2&3 doing nothing. I had put settings on Very high, but was avg 19-22. So I set everything to high. Newer driver didn't seen to increase frames.



:( Did not Cervat say last week,and another 45027 times that a quad would be the shiznit for Crysis ??

Destroy
10-26-07, 01:16 PM
Does not seem to be using 4 cores only two at the moment. I was using high settings and my mem usage was at 1.58 while playing. Cpu was at 22% with core 1&4 being busy and 2&3 doing nothing. I had put settings on Very high, but was avg 19-22. So I set everything to high. Newer driver didn't seen to increase frames.

WHAT?!!!$%%^&!!@!! No quad core support? Lame.

Ontariotl
10-26-07, 01:19 PM
Installed the new beta drivers from Nvidia. Didn't matter much...
Still using..
Q6600@3.4
Single 8800GTX@675/2120
Patriot 4Gb DDR2@850
Vista32

1920x1080 No AA/Very high settings
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-36-53-39-1.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-36-55-75.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-37-00-01.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-37-08-34.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-37-38-80.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-38-40-97.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-39-10-26.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-42-17-15.jpg

1024x768 No AA/very high settings

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-47-18-93.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-47-54-29.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2613-00-02-85.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-59-59-22.jpg

Ontariotl
10-26-07, 01:21 PM
1024x768 4X AA/Very high Settings

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-52-01-84.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-52-39-30.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-53-32-14.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-53-34-55.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-52-42-68.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-54-33-64.jpg

Obviously not an optomised demo :thumbdwn:

SH64
10-26-07, 01:27 PM
Where can I get this demo? I heard a rumor, that some registered member of this forum has it (and I also thought that, after I read some of your replies).
:(

It will go publich tomorrow. you have to wait as we all do!

lee63
10-26-07, 01:28 PM
I cant get that far, when I get to the 100 percent loading screen and the game is about to start my PC shuts completely down WTF :headexplode:

mumstheword
10-26-07, 01:28 PM
About several minutes of gameplay:

http://aycu01.webshots.com/image/30160/2003430860579006305_rs.jpg

1680x1050
Vista
-----------------
Textures medium
Shaders medium
Object Quality Very High
---------------------
Everything else Very high
About avg 23fps

mumstheword
10-26-07, 01:29 PM
Obviously not an optomised demo :thumbdwn:

I'm afraid what we see now is what we'll get it.

Saintster
10-26-07, 01:31 PM
The game will be fun no matter what. It better be if i have to lower my resolution and settings. If it is what it seems to be then it will be worth the sacrifice. This game is just like FarCry so really they have stayed with that formula. far Cry didn't run well until you had a Dual core cpu andd a 6 series card. So looks like the next gen of high end card and a nice quad(Penryn) should be the ticket. Another thing is for those that are using Dx 10 that's another hurdle.

Labyrinth
10-26-07, 01:32 PM
About several minutes of gameplay:

http://aycu01.webshots.com/image/30160/2003430860579006305_rs.jpg

1680x1050
Vista
-----------------
Textures medium
Object Quality Medium
Shaders Medium
---------------------
Everything else Very high
About avg 20fps

That looks like is using 4 cores to me!

FlashFreeze
10-26-07, 01:33 PM
The thing is this is a very nice opportunity for nVIDIA to promote the SLI platform with two ULTRAs, since the G80 was(is) so powerful that far less people opted for an SLI setup this time around. Games that really laugh at my single overclocked ULTRA when I try to run them at my monitor's native res (1920x1200) with aa/af are CoJ DX10 CoH:OF DX10 and Crysis DX10 those titles need SLI with those settings.


We really need a new top performer card from nVIDIA to run crysis DX10 at high-res maximum details with AA/AF. I am still waiting for that promised teraFLOP monster. :afro:


I am not sure even two ULTRAs have the horsepower to run crysis at the setting I mentioned above, people with quad core CPUs and GTX/ULTRA SLI should report the performance they are getting at 1920x1200 max details DX10 with AA/AF.

I hope what Cevat Yerli said in his interview with Shacknews turns out to be true and we get a new top performer card mid november but perhaps he was confusing it with Tri-SLI or 8800GT.

Saintster
10-26-07, 01:33 PM
BTW is the game even though at low frames running smooth?

Jonelo
10-26-07, 01:38 PM
1024x768 4X AA/Very high Settings

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-52-01-84.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-52-39-30.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-53-32-14.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-53-34-55.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-52-42-68.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j232/OntarioTL/Crysis2007-10-2612-54-33-64.jpg

Obviously not an optomised demo :thumbdwn:


What is your system ?

toby77jo
10-26-07, 01:40 PM
we all saw the sweet looking videos of the game running smooth 3-4 months ago on old drivers and the game looked a lot better than the beta we are playing around with now. My assumtion/speculation, they where running it on a nvidia prototype card yet to be released. Plus it made us all think, let's run and buy a nvidia 8800 gtx cause crysis will be smooth and dx10 good looking. One hell of a commercial trick they played us with, here we are sitting with our 8800 and we get 15 fps on medium settings looking ****. Nvidia made money, wonder how much they paid crytek for the bluff. Now I am sure nvidia has their next generation card ready, but they will not release it in november, why? simply becuase 8800 still rule, and amd is no competition for high end cards. It's all about money, but still we will have to wait until next year to play crysis in its full glory.... that is what i think at least....