PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

raystorm
10-26-07, 08:13 PM
Happy to see I'm the only one who can't play the demo!!! lol I get corrupted graphics no matter what I do (flashing colors, flashing textures)..it kinda looks like what happens when your videocard overheats but I know its not overheating (my room is downright freezing). Vista is up to date (with the performance/reliability patches..etc), using the latest radeon drivers, nothing is overclocked at the moment..etc. oh well sucks for me.

Obie
10-26-07, 08:15 PM
wow I forgot that I had 16x af in control panel :afro2:

Ambrose
10-26-07, 08:16 PM
Hey, anyone know why when I create a helicopter via the editor I can see it until I get close up and then it is missing most of its parts. Same goes for most if not all of the objects. It seems like the editor only wants to render certain parts to them and I cannot for the life of me figure out why...

Also, is there anyway to change the weather?? ;)

Gaco
10-26-07, 08:18 PM
With everything on very high except Post Processing on Medium I've now got 23-25 FPS average compared to 16-18 FPS average before when PP was on very high aso. Nice :)

mojoman0
10-26-07, 08:20 PM
At 800x600? ;)

1024x768 actually (nana2) with textures and phys on med! avg about 40 fps!

K007
10-26-07, 08:23 PM
any advantages on 64 bit?

Gaco
10-26-07, 08:23 PM
By the way this post is looking it must suck to play Crysis with a Q6600 & 8800GTX.

LOL.
Actually it doesn't. I know that I have the best and it can't possibly get any better, which is a great comfort and it just means that I have to do the best with what I have and tweak it into playability. Now just by turning down Post Processing I was abe to gain 7-8 FPS average with everything looking very, very close to just as nice. 6800GT or 8800GTX means the difference between playable in mixed low/medium setting sand very high/high settings as well as native res on 1680*1050 or crappy 1024*768 :D

BTW I know you were kidding, I just wanna spell the difference out :p

any advantages on 64 bit?
I wouldn't say with it crashing all the time you know ;)

mumstheword
10-26-07, 08:26 PM
Couple more pics:

DX9 High, with parallax occlusion mapping and sunrays.

http://aycu33.webshots.com/image/29752/2000902413913911274_rs.jpg
http://aycu29.webshots.com/image/29508/2000930404687816412_rs.jpg
http://aycu05.webshots.com/image/30404/2000925157461221155_rs.jpg
http://aycu20.webshots.com/image/32539/2000924378626914258_rs.jpg
http://aycu32.webshots.com/image/32191/2000941400467489689_rs.jpg

Eliminator
10-26-07, 08:36 PM
just tried it out... graphics look amazing but the performance isnt so amazing

Vista DX10 very high everything (motion blur, depth of field, shadow blur OFF) i was averaging 20-26 FPS @ 1920x1200 no AA/AF

XP DX9 is clearly faster than vista DX9 (~10%)

an FPS comparison i was getting 22FPS in DX10 vista with the above settings... and at the very same spot i was getting 32FPS in XP with all settings on high (no blur as before) and i even had 8xAF on

whats with the DX10 mouse lag?... DX9 is very accurate responsive but DX10 has some annoying mouse lag

Driver is 169.01 for both systems.... also 64bit just freezes in a few seconds... 32bit works perfectly fine

ALSO why cant we enable very high sounds and very high textures in DX9 mode?... its not like those require DX10... hmm sounds like some fishy EA trick to me

K007
10-26-07, 08:48 PM
http://www.gamearena.com.au/files/details/html/31644

For the Australians :) Downloading atm @ 4MB/sec

Madpistol
10-26-07, 08:50 PM
Oh wow! What beauty! Those graphics look absolutely amazing, and the people look so dang lifelike!!!

I have 3 games I'm looking forward to now...

1. UT3
2. Call of Duty 4
3. Crysis (my favorite demo thus far)


I can't wait to see the final product!!! :D

Also, my game was running All high, 1680x1050, and it looked gorgeous (averaged 30fps in jungle areas). However, is Vista the only way we can play Very High? :(

Gaco
10-26-07, 08:50 PM
just tried it out... graphics look amazing but the performance isnt so amazing

Vista DX10 very high everything (motion blur, depth of field, shadow blur OFF) i was averaging 20-26 FPS @ 1920x1200 no AA/AF

XP DX9 is clearly faster than vista DX9 (~10%)

an FPS comparison i was getting 22FPS in DX10 vista with the above settings... and at the very same spot i was getting 32FPS in XP with all settings on high (no blur as before) and i even had 8xAF on

whats with the DX10 mouse lag?... DX9 is very accurate responsive but DX10 has some annoying mouse lag

Driver is 169.01 for both systems.... also 64bit just freezes in a few seconds... 32bit works perfectly fine

ALSO why cant we enable very high sounds and very high textures in DX9 mode?... its not like those require DX10... hmm sounds like some fishy EA trick to me

Now to think of I, I think there might be some mouselag when I tried the game in very high settings. Do you reckon this go away with just high settings? Also while I believe we should remain suspecious about socalled DX10 exlusive features considering all the empty hype and broken promises they have been around DX10 so far, we really can't rule out the DX10 is able to do some high res/quality texturing and more advanced sound :)

Xion X2
10-26-07, 08:52 PM
1680x1050, DirectX10, 8xAF, no AA:

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/5223/cry1fy3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img455.imageshack.us/img455/1454/crysis2007102620284744hq5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/2563/cry3gb2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/127/crysis2007102620281323gn8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/5000/crysis2007102620302762yj9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

The key is the shaders. Turn those down to medium, and it runs decent. There's also a bug that causes the shaders to go to "high" if any AA is enabled, which kills performance.

DeusGear
10-26-07, 08:54 PM
Although I had to lower resolution to 1024 and some settings to high/medium (post procressing and lightning stayed on high) I got a stable 60 fps rate, and the game was extremely fun!

ChaoticNick
10-26-07, 08:59 PM
oh man....the ol' nvlddmkm stopped responding error has returned!
It crashes just before I hit the water, both DX9 and DX10 modes. Anyone else experiencing the same?

FW 169.01, 8800GTS 320mb, Vista 32bit

rHy0
10-26-07, 09:03 PM
Alright hold up a sec! Someone said back on page 61 that the 'leaked' demo is dx9 only! I know the demo is official but what the hell is that about? Not true right??

Xion X2
10-26-07, 09:05 PM
Alright hold up a sec! Someone said back on page 61 that the 'leaked' demo is dx9 only! I know the demo is official but what the hell is that about? Not true right??
DX10 working fine here, and very playable.

K007
10-26-07, 09:05 PM
1680x1050, DirectX10, 8xAF, no AA:

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/5223/cry1fy3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img455.imageshack.us/img455/1454/crysis2007102620284744hq5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/2563/cry3gb2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/127/crysis2007102620281323gn8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/5000/crysis2007102620302762yj9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

The key is the shaders. Turn those down to medium, and it runs decent. There's also a bug that causes the shaders to go to "high" if any AA is enabled, which kills performance.

That looks god awful -.-

Xion X2
10-26-07, 09:06 PM
That looks god awful -.-
Yeah whatever, dude. The game is the most incredible looking thing you've ever seen while you're playing it. The motion-blur helps reduce the jaggies that show in screenshots but are minimal when the scene is in motion.

K007
10-26-07, 09:09 PM
Yeah whatever, dude. The game is the most incredible looking thing you've ever seen while you're playing it.


There is no AA thats probably why the shots look a bit strange after looking at other shots.

Also why does the distance stuff...look really bad/blurred? Kinda...makes it a bit..ugly.

PS:Btw are you taking back the CoD4/Jericho>Crysis in graphics :O

Xion X2
10-26-07, 09:12 PM
There is no AA thats probably why the shots look a bit strange after looking at other shots.

Also why does the distance stuff...look really bad/blurred? Kinda...makes it a bit..ugly.

PS:Btw are you taking back the CoD4/Jericho>Crysis in graphics :O

I'll check and make sure I had AF on; that might be the problem.

And yeah, it looks better than anything else out there. Totally different from the beta version that I played before (which I knew it could be. I never said that it couldn't look as good as Jericho, CoD4 eventually--just that the beta didn't.)

Madpistol
10-26-07, 09:14 PM
Xion, those DX10 pics are just...:eek: (in a good way)


The demo was awesome!

grey_1
10-26-07, 09:14 PM
This is mind blowing, and I'm at medium settings on last gen hardware. Averaging around 30 FPS, just playable.

Really nice thing is I was half expecting this to feel kind of like Far Cry, not even close. Whole new Bad-ass animal here.

K007
10-26-07, 09:15 PM
I'll check and make sure I had AF on; that might be the problem.

And yeah, it looks better than anything else out there. Totally different from the beta version that I played before (which I knew it could be. I never said that it couldn't look as good as Jericho, CoD4 eventually--just that the beta didn't.)

The stuff on the distance is like...kids finger painting..or something lol...i think there is meant to be some kinda FOG effect to make hide that or something like that..but yea defiantly looks really bad the distance.

GitDat
10-26-07, 09:15 PM
What is Post-Processing?