PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

Dreamingawake
10-26-07, 10:05 PM
that modded cfg really made a huge difference !! WOW all over again.......

the water looks like its on very high, and there's sun shafts, and everything
just looks more crisp, or sharper. it's truly awesome, i'm getting excellent
performance and a few dx10 goodies thrown in the mix. i'd seriously recommend
playing the demo in xp if you have an 8800 card. just wait until the drivers
are up to par in vista, and replay it and be even more amazed.. because
it's literally jaw dropping in dx9.

Nkd
10-26-07, 10:05 PM
on high I am good, and its very smooth, and under very high its a slideshow and a nightmare.

Dreamingawake
10-26-07, 10:10 PM
on high I am good, and its very smooth, and under very high its a slideshow and a nightmare.

it looks sweet on very high though.. crazy that no can really run it..yet.

Armed_Baboon
10-26-07, 10:14 PM
so much for DX10 making better use of resources. seems that was just a lie.

wazandy
10-26-07, 10:20 PM
This is NOT DX10.

That'll be hosted exclusively by NZONE. Read this:

http://www.gamesindustry.biz/content_page.php?aid=30016 (very reputable site..)

Might explain some choppiness anyway.

Dreamingawake
10-26-07, 10:20 PM
^^ yup. i dunno what the hell they're talking about..but the rig you must need to play it in vista on very high would be ridiculous. (in a good way) :)

conroejoe
10-26-07, 10:21 PM
so much for DX10 making better use of resources. seems that was just a lie.


Some of us have been saying that all along.

K007
10-26-07, 10:21 PM
so much for DX10 making better use of resources. seems that was just a lie.

Thats Vista OS problem..

As for the game..looks stunning. SLI is full use, but there is no way i am gonna play this game till i do a full upgrade in November so i am gonna hold back because this game defeantly is worth waiting to get on a high end machine to play.

Story actually might be better than what UT3 offers i think.

Dreamingawake
10-26-07, 10:34 PM
This is NOT DX10.

That'll be hosted exclusively by NZONE. Read this:

http://www.gamesindustry.biz/content_page.php?aid=30016 (very reputable site..)

Might explain some choppiness anyway.

lol what are you talking about, the demo is dx 9 and 10.. whatever
you choose (o.s) to run it in.

K007
10-26-07, 10:37 PM
Wonder if Jakup's rig is running it smooth :O....

nekrosoft13
10-26-07, 10:38 PM
dx9 works

dx10 won't ****ing load

Obie
10-26-07, 10:41 PM
lol what are you talking about, the demo is dx 9 and 10.. whatever
you choose (o.s) to run it in.

I was thinking the same thing. I think he's confused that today it's only released to those who pre-ordered. Tomorrow it will be released to everyone. He's taking that link to mean more then what it is.

firehawk
10-26-07, 10:45 PM
it feels like iam playing farcry all over again......i think in a good way

ikjadoon
10-26-07, 10:45 PM
Demo is released, btw, to everyone now...check filefront, I'm downloading @ 350kb/s..

~Ibrahim~

Nkd
10-26-07, 10:46 PM
it looks sweet on very high though.. crazy that no can really run it..yet.

yea and that is with my 8800 ultra running at 702/1786/2350. well I really think its a driver bug because very high wont even run stable at the lowest resolution, very high looks good but nothing jaw dropping over high.

Zeliard
10-26-07, 10:46 PM
Yeah whatever, dude. The game is the most incredible looking thing you've ever seen while you're playing it. The motion-blur helps reduce the jaggies that show in screenshots but are minimal when the scene is in motion.

Wow, someone had quite a change of heart. :P I agree, the game is unbelievably good looking. The environmental destruction alone makes it worth the hype. In fact I don't think I've ever played a better demo. This demo is almost too good, almost too replayable. I bet some won't even buy the game and just play the demo and mess with the sandbox editor.

XxDeadlyxX
10-26-07, 10:49 PM
Um what the.. so is this demo on Nzone exactly the same or different?

Eliminator
10-26-07, 10:53 PM
Now to think of I, I think there might be some mouselag when I tried the game in very high settings. Do you reckon this go away with just high settings? Also while I believe we should remain suspecious about socalled DX10 exlusive features considering all the empty hype and broken promises they have been around DX10 so far, we really can't rule out the DX10 is able to do some high res/quality texturing and more advanced sound :)
yea the mouse lag is completely gone with everything on high/dx9... i am very suspicious of this so called dx10 mode

nekrosoft13
10-26-07, 10:53 PM
dx10 version won't work for me!

anyone have a clue!

sandeep
10-26-07, 10:58 PM
how to show fps??? what command.

Crow_Nest
10-26-07, 10:58 PM
EDIT: Nevermind, im an idiot.

http://www.crysisdemo.com/ says its 9 more hours, but nzone says the demo is up and they even got a download link. But its dead wtf? Did they kill the link until 9 hours is up before the bring it online again?

Burnt_Ram
10-26-07, 11:07 PM
i think SLI might be working. i'm running DX9 @ 1280x1024 everything on high except post processing is on medium, and im averaging 35-40 fps which is smooth suprisingly enough. however sometimes it dips to 25 fps and its gets a little choppy, but that doesnt happen offen thank god.

overall it runs WAY better than the MP beta did! definately playable, and it looks good too ;) oh and im using 163.76

Luminal
10-26-07, 11:08 PM
The DX9 "tweaks" on page 64 is awesome, much better visual difference and still it runs smooth.

Thanks "mumstheword" :)

nekrosoft13
10-26-07, 11:09 PM
re-downloading again, i have no clue why DX10 version won't even start.

bobobinbobo
10-26-07, 11:09 PM
Here's the benchmarks:

Crysis SP Demo\Bin32\Benchmark_CPU.bat
Crysis SP Demo\Bin32\Benchmark_GPU.bat

Puts it in devmode and runs a benchmark, use that for your performance comparisons..

Vista 32, 2GB RAM, 8800GTX, C2D 2.7Ghz, 169.01
1280x1024, no AA, all on high:

I did two runs of each and am showing the second run...

GPU:
!TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
Play Time: 59.65s, Average FPS: 33.53
Min FPS: 10.55 at frame 976, Max FPS: 43.90 at frame 92
Average Tri/Sec: 33030554, Tri/Frame: 985056
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 0.93

CPU:
!TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
Play Time: 50.59s, Average FPS: 29.65
Min FPS: 15.03 at frame 196, Max FPS: 41.62 at frame 113
Average Tri/Sec: 30440866, Tri/Frame: 1026651
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 0.70

I should point out the benchmarks run in a loop, you probably want to let it go through it a few times, when you quit the game it echos the results in the log file back to the console...