PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

methimpikehoses
10-27-07, 02:32 AM
Can't get it to load in the DX10... just hangs at the first "this program..." screen. DX9 is fine.

newparad1gm
10-27-07, 02:36 AM
I just got this demo and installed it under Windows Vista. When I right-click the shortcut in the Games Explorer and select PlayDX9, everything runs fine and looks great on High. But when I select PlayDX10, I get these strange artifacts in the foliage. This occurs on all the settings I've tried (Very High, High, Medium, Low), and with various AA settings.

http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/8909/88360868dq4.jpg

http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/1107/20141955vt2.jpg

Its this strange discoloration around some random foliage in the distance and this goes away for the most part when I zoom in on them with the rifle sights. I was wondering if anyone else was getting these errors or if it could be a problem with my video card. It doesn't happen in DX9 mode though. I'm running the latest nVidia Vista32 169 drivers.

XxDeadlyxX
10-27-07, 02:42 AM
Yes I get that too, when you first start and are parachuting, most of the island is comprised of white trees Lol.

Armed_Baboon
10-27-07, 02:45 AM
glow bugs

Demanufakture
10-27-07, 02:59 AM
Wow!!!!! I just got done playing the demo. I ran it on 1,024x768 with all settings on low except shadows on medium, shaders on medium, post processing on medium, and sound quality on medium. The demo was VERY playable even on my old rig. To me also, the game looks pretty dam good even on my old rig. I now will be getting this game for sure. Wow, the story telling is great, I can't wait to continue from the end of the demo, bring it on!!!!(nana2)

Armed_Baboon
10-27-07, 03:01 AM
just installing now btw... think it's time for some serious overclocking of the 8800gtx.

I remember when doom3 came out. everyone was tweaking and overclocking like mad...

let's get some of that vibe back...

now pass me the liquid nitrogen...

Redeemed
10-27-07, 03:13 AM
So is this now available to the general public? Sorry for a repeat question- but I don't feel like reading back through the massive ammount of pages and posts here.

LORD-eX-Bu
10-27-07, 03:14 AM
yes its been available since yesterday :lol:

ASUSEN7900GTX
10-27-07, 03:16 AM
i canīt play this :( because it takes 900mb of memory RAM and some Cpu power

it goes drom 26fps to 1 the to 13 and stutters and halts and is so unplayable so iīm thinking of canelling mt preorderd copy since i canīt afford to upgrade my system as i thought it would be able to run it
i have all on high in settings and i have 16xq AA in game and all that stuff also maxed in Nhancer am i aiming too high in grpahics on this game?

jAkUp
10-27-07, 03:19 AM
16xAA??!!

jcrox
10-27-07, 03:22 AM
WOW!!! What a game!!! I can't wait for the next gen video cards :)

jcrox
10-27-07, 03:24 AM
i canīt play this :( because it takes 900mb of memory RAM and some Cpu power

it goes drom 26fps to 1 the to 13 and stutters and halts and is so unplayable so iīm thinking of canelling mt preorderd copy since i canīt afford to upgrade my system as i thought it would be able to run it
i have all on high in settings and i have 16xq AA in game and all that stuff also maxed in Nhancer am i aiming too high in grpahics on this game?

Are you trying to be funny?? you might be able to do 16xQAA.... at 640x480 :p

philljc
10-27-07, 03:29 AM
Can someone answer a few questions for me? I have a dual core 2.4ghz, 4gb ram and 7950GTX 512mb.

Will it run ok on medium dx9 with 1024 x 768 on vista?

Can you switch between dx9 and 10? (its a bit unclear from some of the things ive read in this thread).

And has anyone else with a similar setup tried running it? Im on a M1710. Thank you.

ASUSEN7900GTX
10-27-07, 03:31 AM
i also have xp installed so is thi demo for Vista or is it XP/Vista

Redeemed
10-27-07, 03:31 AM
yes its been available since yesterday :lol:

Um, I know it was available to those that pre-ordered it, but that was a limited few. For the rest of us that haven't pre-ordered the demo was supposed to be out today...

Or did I miss something? :(

Blacklash
10-27-07, 03:33 AM
If the game feels sluggish to you when looking around try increasing your mouse sensitivity and turning on mouse smoothing.

Oh yeah, and if you are playing @ 1680x or greater run the DX 9 path :p

Lfctony
10-27-07, 03:44 AM
I'll go ahead and state the obvious here. At 1680x1050, all high except volumetric effects and shadows(medium), no AA, runs great in DX9. Make that DX10, the game slows down to a crawl. I'm happy the performance is way better than the MP beta though. Looks like we need Nvidia's next card to enjoy this game at max detail settings, at least for us w/o SLI. :(

Demanufakture
10-27-07, 03:52 AM
WOW!!! What a game!!! I can't wait for the next gen video cards :)

Hell, bring on the game to me right now. Even on my old agp 7800 gs rig below I can still play the game very smooth. On my rig it looks like Farcry only much better. Sure someday I will get a better rig and be able to play the game on max settings but even on my old rig with a mix of low and medium settings at 1,024x768 the game ran and looked beautifully. Bring on Crysis, Yerli wasn't lying when he said 2-3 year old rigs would be able to run this game.(nana2)

Nkd
10-27-07, 03:57 AM
whats good about this game is the smoothness, and the low fps, this I can play at 1920x1200 under xp with my oc'ed ultra at 702/1786/2350, and my quad core at 3.5, my framerate average is 32 thorough the benchmark, and very playable, thats with every thing on high. the beauty is all the explosions and physics is off loaded to the cpu so thats why the game has no lag or big fram rate drop.

Demanufakture
10-27-07, 04:01 AM
does anybody know which effect turns on the water dripping off your mask effect when you get out of the water? I have the game set 1,024x768, no aa, most settings on low except shaders, shadows,post processing,and sound on medium. Which setting do I have to crank up to get the cool water on your mask effect?

sharvin
10-27-07, 04:02 AM
Can someone answer a few questions for me? I have a dual core 2.4ghz, 4gb ram and 7950GTX 512mb.

Will it run ok on medium dx9 with 1024 x 768 on vista?

Can you switch between dx9 and 10? (its a bit unclear from some of the things ive read in this thread).

And has anyone else with a similar setup tried running it? Im on a M1710. Thank you.

yes i can run it on medium settings at 1280 x 1024 fine still looks nice I'm running 1gb ram 2.6ghz dual core 8600GT.

sammy sung
10-27-07, 04:32 AM
i have all on high in settings and i have 16xq AA in game and all that stuff also maxed in Nhancer am i aiming too high in grpahics on this game?

Yes you are,16q AA is nuts and will kill your fps dead.Your system can run this game but not at the max settings you can apply,its way unrealistic to even think that tbh.Im using 4xAA and all on high ingame with XP 169.01.You need to back your res down or atleast the AA and the nhancer stuff.I cant really play this game at 1680x1050 at these settings so i drop my res to 1024x768.Sure it doesnt look as nice but its a lot more fluid and doubles my fps at the same detail settings.

1680x1050

http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/4096/1680wn8.jpg

1024x768

http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/2742/1024zr0.jpg

Crow_Nest
10-27-07, 04:33 AM
I just downloaded and finished the demo. Friggin awesome game! Runs reasonably at all medium settings @ 1024x768, which is the default settings given to me. Performance was pretty much what i expected out of my 1 year old rig. I jacked some of the textures and effects to high and seems to run the same but with a little more stutter. Which is normal for my PC as im only running on 1GB of RAM.

Gameplay wise, the game is basically a next-gen far cry. In fact it feels almost like playing far cry except you got better graphics, weapons and more choices. Surpasses far cry in every way. And that ending was kickass. :cool:

philljc
10-27-07, 04:37 AM
yes i can run it on medium settings at 1280 x 1024 fine still looks nice I'm running 1gb ram 2.6ghz dual core 8600GT.

Good to hear, as long as I can play on medium. Thanks.

ASUSEN7900GTX
10-27-07, 04:47 AM
i can play this baby using 1024x768
all settings in advanced to high AA 8XQ or 1280x1024 no AA or 4XAA

in Nhancer coverage sample AA 8x enhance in game AA enabled and all other settings on as well

see here is two screens one in 1024x768 the other in 1280x1024

http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/6371/crysis2007102711345085or8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)


http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/728/crysis2007102711351648tw2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)