PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

Gaco
10-27-07, 11:30 AM
Bah. The DX9 version gives me the boring DX9 water etc., but no mouse lag and better FPS. DX10 gives me all eyecandy, but a bit worse FPS though most importantly mouse lag. I hate the mouselag, hope Nvidia fixes it soon asuming it's their drivers fault :(

Mouselag or pretty water and DX10? That config tweak from page 64 seems go give me DX10-level performance and the mouselag seem somewhere in between, I dunno? Can't decide :(

Think I'll end up going DX10 all very high except Post Processing on medium in 1680*1050 noAA and see how far it gets me. If it gets too worse, I'll step down to DX9 pure no tweaks, all high but PP on medium.

FastRedPonyCar
10-27-07, 11:31 AM
I just finished it myself just now.

We'll start at the beginning.

First of all, I wasn't prepared to sit through 5 minutes of un escapable ads :thumbdwn:

The pre-recorded intro was probably the single greatest moment of cinematic gaming footage I've ever seen.

The graphics are just unbelievable. I didn't play the beta at all so this was a big wow for me. I did noticed that some rock textures are crap and some are great (screenshots at the end of the post showing this). Mabey something that will be tweaked for the final release or patch.

I noticed that your shadow doesn't change to reflect the object you're holding. Holding a barrel, the shadow has no barrel. :thumbdwn:

The AI on normal was pretty good. They ran if I was mowing them down and used grenades very well and flanked me a few times when I thought I was being sneaky, they'd pop out from behind a rock or something and surprise me.

The gun and suit menus are cool but for some reason my nostromo wasn't doing the instant suit mode change right so in the heat of things, I'd have to quickly jump to the little circular suit menu to switch modes :thumbdwn: Maybe it's just the button I was using.

The character models are really really rediculously good looking too. Those pictures of the peoples heads we've been seeing for years now live up to the hype when playing.

Explosions kick ass and the effect you see when a grenade goes off close to you is incredible. The dirt on the screen, debris, blur for a second.. just so cool and the effect you see when you're about to die was cool too. :o

I liked the way they did the cutscenes. They didn't take the view away from the player and it kept the feeling that you're actually taking part in something like how when you're bending over to go under a tree or something like that, the camera moves in just the right way to make you believe that you're taking part in it rather than watching a pre-rendered scene.

It felt exactly like farcry which I enjoy becuase I loved farcry. I'll be interested to see if it's predominantly outdoor jungle warfare like farcry was or if they'll mix it up and give the player a variety of environments. I'd really like to see that. I don't mind fighting in the jungle as it's a spectacular viewing spectacle but it does tend to get repetitive after a while and with farcry, they came awfully close to it getting too much jungle fighting but I think they took you out of that jungle element at just the right moments so that you weren't fatigued from it.

In referencing back to those DX9 vs DX10 screen shots, I distinctly remember seeing a mountain side with a green texture supposed to be a forest and in DX10 mode, seeing rendered 3d trees. I was surprised to see fully rendered mountainside forests in DX9 mode.

Speed wise, the game ran very smooth on my machine at all high settings @ 1680X1050. I did turn AA off as it had a noticable hit on performance and I can only assume that the very high settings are only available with DX10? Or is there an INI edit that can turn some stuff on? I'm sure someone has mentioned it but this thread will take a year to sift through to find it. We need a crysis optimization thread if it isn't already floating around.

ok screen shots (which as most of you probbaly know do the game NO justice)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-43-12-43.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-44-49-42.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-45-27-70.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-45-43-95.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-48-05-87.jpg

BAD ROCK TEXTURE!! :thumbdwn:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-51-38-40.jpg

GOOD ROCK TEXTURE :afro2:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-07-10-89.jpg

FastRedPonyCar
10-27-07, 11:32 AM
moAr

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-52-49-12.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-56-20-82.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-56-51-54.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-57-00-00.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-09-27-18.jpg

Sleepy time

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-11-15-79.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-19-50-07.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-20-08-95.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-34-07-70.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-38-09-70.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-41-08-78.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-41-38-87.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-43-19-73.jpg

Mr_LoL
10-27-07, 11:44 AM
The games quite hard if you don't use your suits special abilities. It took me 1 hour, 10 minutes to complete the demo.

Where can I find the config file to add all those tweaks?

Revs
10-27-07, 11:45 AM
Having some troubles with Vista DX10. It's plays fine in XP, but in Vista it's constantly crashing. It started off crashing a few minutes in to the game, hard crash so restart required :( , now it's crashing in the menu as soon as it comes on the screen :( :(

I've got the latest DX installed and i've tried the newest beta driver as well as the 163.75's. With or without OCing.

Please help :o

Edit: BTW, i've also tried re-installing Crysis and the drivers to no avail.

[EOCF] Tim
10-27-07, 11:49 AM
Having some troubles with Vista DX10. It's plays fine in XP, but in Vista it's constantly crashing. It started off crashing a few minutes in to the game, hard crash so restart required :( , now it's crashing in the menu as soon as it comes on the screen :( :(

I've got the latest DX installed and i've tried the newest beta driver as well as the 163.75's. With or without OCing.

Please help :o

Edit: BTW, i've also tried re-installing Crysis and the drivers to no avail.

It was fixed for me stopping the Diskeeper service, and exciting NOD32, haven't figured out which one it is yet. :)

grey_1
10-27-07, 11:53 AM
Tim']It was fixed for me stopping the Diskeeper service, and exciting NOD32, haven't figured out which one it is yet. :)
Comodo AV gave me trouble in XP also.

shabby
10-27-07, 11:54 AM
Cons:

Red enemy and grenade outlines (consolitus?) are lame removing immersion.

Stop playing on easy mode :)

svetli_pp
10-27-07, 11:57 AM
I'm with 163.67 whql and I don't hava any problems in Vista64 and dx10 though the performance is not quite acceptable at 1680x1050 at high - lower resolutions look terrible on my 24" screen :( The game is amazing BTW.

Gaco
10-27-07, 12:00 PM
Having some troubles with Vista DX10. It's plays fine in XP, but in Vista it's constantly crashing. It started off crashing a few minutes in to the game, hard crash so restart required :( , now it's crashing in the menu as soon as it comes on the screen :( :(

I've got the latest DX installed and i've tried the newest beta driver as well as the 163.75's. With or without OCing.

Please help :o

Edit: BTW, i've also tried re-installing Crysis and the drivers to no avail.
The new beta drivers ****s 64bit mode up. That's true, if you use the newest official drivers, 64bit actually works. But lacking the dedicated Crysis demo performance tweaks that the beta drivers has, the difference is the same, so I'm using the beta drivers anyway.
Go to the Crysis folder and find the 32bit bin and launch that exe if you wanna play DX10 in vista.

But while the DX10 is somewhat playable, it is thoroughly f'ed up as well by a whole other thing: intolerable mouse lag! It's clear from playing around with DX9/DX10, settings and configs that the DX10 indeed suffers some kind of mouse lag that is not caused by low FPS and it's really annoying. No doubt I'm gonna settle on the DX9 mode with config tweaks that adds DX10'ish effects until Nvidia get it sorted out so we can play DX10 without mouse lag and 64bit version. Hopefully shouldn't be too long. I'll tell you guys when I've settled on a final set of settings that I think is playable (25-35 FPS, but looking as good as possible). My specs is in my sig.

Mr_LoL
10-27-07, 12:03 PM
Also the guns seem a little underpowered. Its either a headshot or 10 bullets to the chest.

CDE_1246
10-27-07, 12:08 PM
Ok, I fixed it! Put everything on high and it actually runs well! This is one awesome demo!

Jonelo
10-27-07, 12:14 PM
BAD ROCK TEXTURE!! :thumbdwn:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2708-51-38-40.jpg

GOOD ROCK TEXTURE :afro2:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v212/fastredponycar/Crysis/Crysis2007-10-2709-07-10-89.jpg

The demo not has AF , this is a part of the problem ;)

GitDat
10-27-07, 12:15 PM
No AF? So is that why I get white trees when I force AF from the control panel? :confused:

wysiwyg
10-27-07, 12:17 PM
the editor doesnt seem to work properly for me

(this is in xp) :(

it stays like this=

http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/3931/loadedlargeml3.png

and i get errors loading a map/level

http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/9028/maploadfailslargeox9.jpg

rudedog
10-27-07, 12:18 PM
OK, too many posts so I don't know if anyone has posted this just yet

add

-DEVMODE +map island +exec

to your shortcut to bypass the intro movies/screens. Will take you to the jump screen. You will still have to watch that one, but shaves at least 2 minutes of startup time.

looking for a way to jump right into one of your saved game slots. will report back if I find out how to do that.

Anyone else find out how to get in game quickly?

grey_1
10-27-07, 12:25 PM
the editor doesnt seem to work properly for me

(this is in xp) :(

it stays like this=



and i get errors loading a map/level


It might not be just the editor, I opened the console and was greeted with error message after error message. Maybe due to it just being the way the demo was put together.

Gaco
10-27-07, 12:26 PM
OK, too many posts so I don't know if anyone has posted this just yet

add

-DEVMODE +map island +exec

to your shortcut to bypass the intro movies/screens. Will take you to the jump screen. You will still have to watch that one, but shaves at least 2 minutes of startup time.

looking for a way to jump right into one of your saved game slots. will report back if I find out how to do that.

Anyone else find out how to get in game quickly?
I don't see a shortcut for a new game being useful at all, take just as much time loading the map and exiting to the main menu as to watch all those annoying startup movies, well thanks anyway.

Does anyone have one that just throws you right into the main menu?

MistakenID
10-27-07, 12:32 PM
Has anyone figured out how to save items you place in the editor to the actual demo mission?

I placed the minigun, LAW, and best of all the NK attack chopper in the editor and proceded to have some "fun" with the NK outposts. (nana2)

I would love to be able to save all this stuff to the demo mission to mess around with.

Mr_LoL
10-27-07, 12:32 PM
I change suit modes for the hell of it to hear the voice "MAXIMUM SPEED". Love it.

rudedog
10-27-07, 12:43 PM
I don't see a shortcut for a new game being useful at all, take just as much time loading the map and exiting to the main menu as to watch all those annoying startup movies, well thanks anyway.

Does anyone have one that just throws you right into the main menu?

Just found a better way to dump you right to the main menu

go to
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis SP Demo\Game\Localized\Video
and either delete all the *.sfd files or do what I did, create a backup folder in the video folder and dump all the *.sfd files there. Now when you launch your shortcut (without the above switches) it will go right info the main menu.

To quickly exit, pull down the console (~) and type quit

Revs
10-27-07, 12:47 PM
Tim']It was fixed for me stopping the Diskeeper service, and exciting NOD32, haven't figured out which one it is yet. :)

OK Tim, cheers, i'll give it a go. BTW, DX9 Vista is fine :o

I've just found a very important point. SLI does NOT work. I was running the game with Fraps, getting about 23fps at a specific point, so I saved the game and exited. Disabled SLI in the control panel and reloaded back to the same point, looked at the the fps and it was exactly the same, 23fps.

This is disappointing for the demo, but it means people with SLI can expect an increase in the full game, maybe even a good (ish) fps on 'very high' settings. Fingers crossed :p

Looking at the pics people have posted for their quad CPU usage it may not be optimised for that either. I know it's using a 4 cores but Windows will spread the load a bit anyhow. It's not using anything like all the CPUs potential. Lets hope there is still room for improvements in this respect too.

Logical
10-27-07, 12:52 PM
Running everything on high with no AA @ 1680x1050 DX10 this gives me around 30fps average and definately playable though with a little mouse lag.

Same settings as above but with medium post processing gives me a 8 fps jump and the mouse lag disapears without any huge noticible changes on visuals.

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/9444/crysis2007102705002095kf4.jpg

Game is awsome to play btw.

Gaco
10-27-07, 12:57 PM
Just found a better way to dump you right to the main menu

go to
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis SP Demo\Game\Localized\Video
and either delete all the *.sfd files or do what I did, create a backup folder in the video folder and dump all the *.sfd files there. Now when you launch your shortcut (without the above switches) it will go right info the main menu.

To quickly exit, pull down the console (~) and type quit
HEhe nice I was actually looking for a folder of this sorts in the Crysis demo folder, but it looks like I didn't search thoroughly enough. Damn my impatience, thanks :D

pg_ice
10-27-07, 12:58 PM
Fastredponycar: those screens that you posted is that with DX10?