PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

Mr_LoL
10-27-07, 02:32 PM
Xion X2 what res are you running the game at?

Eliminator
10-27-07, 02:33 PM
There's some bug in the demo that causes the textures not to load in on the mountaintops at times. I've seen it sit there and flicker back and forth before.

*shrugs* Hopefully they'll fix it in the final version of the game. But it's not a shortcoming of DX10.
thats not my point.... its 64bit vs 32bit... in 32bit DX9 the mountains look just as bad as 32bit DX10... 64bit DX9 however the mountains look much better... i cant run 64bit DX10 without freezing so i cant test it

jeffmd
10-27-07, 02:34 PM
Crank down the Post Processing to medium for a 6-8 FPS boost and a really minimal visual difference. I went up from 17-18 FPS to 23-25 FPS that way.



I looked in the config files that contain the settings for the low/med/high settings, and saw that many different controls are adjusted. I would MUCH rather like to tweak just one or two of those since I bet adjusting the whole lot will lose visual quality while gaining little or no performance.

Xion X2
10-27-07, 02:34 PM
Xion X2 what res are you running the game at?
1680x1050.

Gaco
10-27-07, 02:34 PM
There's some bug in the demo that causes the textures not to load in on the mountaintops at times. I've seen it sit there and flicker back and forth before.

*shrugs* Hopefully they'll fix it in the final version of the game. But it's not a shortcoming of DX10.
Wait a minute couldn't it be that it had nothing to do with DX9 and DX10, but that DX9 is 64bit and DX10 is 32bit? As somebody else mentioned they was a pretty good difference on distant texture in Far Cry depended on whether it was 64bit or 32bit!

Raje
10-27-07, 02:35 PM
I'm pretty surprised that I could play the demo with all high settings, 1680x1050, 4x AA.

Zeus666
10-27-07, 02:36 PM
http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/5485/crysisbenchcopyhx2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Again, for anyone running DX10, you need to turn the shaders down for better performance. There is around a 20fps performance hit between medium and very high on this setting. Screw all the other in-game settings.. leave them as they are (on very high if you have a GTX/Ultra.) At the most they will make a 1-2fps difference in framerate. Shaders are where it's at, and there doesn't seem to be any way to compensate for them--at the moment. Hopefully Nvidia can release a new driver that'll bring out more performance.


Thanks for trick ! :D

Gaco
10-27-07, 02:36 PM
The water in DX10 looks the same on lower shader settings as long as you keep it set to "very high" for water detail.
Ok.. well unfortunately you can't have the "very high" water in DX9 can you? :(

Actually the only thing keeping me from running 64bit DX9 exclusively now must be the missing very high water. I've noticed some little differences in lightning/shadowing and other minor stuff as well, but the DX9 just have so much better performance...

Xion X2
10-27-07, 02:36 PM
thats not my point.... its 64bit vs 32bit... in 32bit DX9 the mountains look just as bad as 32bit DX10... 64bit DX9 however the mountains look much better... i cant run 64bit DX10 without freezing so i cant test it
No, I think you're not getting the point. I have seen the mountains in DX10 32-bit (on my rig) flicker back and forth between extremely detailed and blurry like is in your pics. It's a bug. It's not some advantage of DX9 64-bit over DX10 32-bit like you're espousing. I've even gone so far as to reload the same scene, and for whatever reason about half the time the detailed textures on the mountain will not load up. The other times they do. And then sometimes they sit there and flicker back and forth between detailed/blurry.

Probably due to the beta driver and incomplete demo.

Zeus666
10-27-07, 02:37 PM
Looks awesome! And plays awesome w/ everything maxed out! Im happy and impressed ;)


SLI works ?

Thank you

: P

Xion X2
10-27-07, 02:37 PM
Ok.. well unfortunately you can't have the "very high" water in DX9 can you? :(

Nope, it's a DX10-specific shader.

Actually the only thing keeping me from running 64bit DX9 exclusively now must be the missing very high water. I've noticed some little differences in lightning/shadowing and other minor stuff as well, but the DX9 just have so much better performance...

Give DX10 a go with the shaders at high or medium and see what you think. Also, do you have the latest Riva Tuner that lets you overclock the shaders on your GTX? Need to do that, too.

Gaco
10-27-07, 02:38 PM
I looked in the config files that contain the settings for the low/med/high settings, and saw that many different controls are adjusted. I would MUCH rather like to tweak just one or two of those since I bet adjusting the whole lot will lose visual quality while gaining little or no performance.
I don't now the details of Post Processing but I do know that I looked very hard to notice any difference between very high end medium, but I certainly did notice the 6-8FPS boost. I sincerely think it's the single setting that gives you most FPS's for the least lost eyecandy. Just try and see for yourself :)

jeffmd
10-27-07, 02:38 PM
thats not my point.... its 64bit vs 32bit... in 32bit DX9 the mountains look just as bad as 32bit DX10... 64bit DX9 however the mountains look much better... i cant run 64bit DX10 without freezing so i cant test it

but thats HIS point. There may be a glitch that causes the mountains not to revert to high res textures. IMO, from everything I know about 3d graphic cards, there shouldn't be any visual quality difference. Aside from geometry and physics, all texture handeling, all lighting, everything is done on the gpu. Infact with DMA, the textures of that mountain probably never even touched the cpu.

It could be a rogue shader or shader setting for the DX10 shader too.

Eliminator
10-27-07, 02:39 PM
No, I think you're not getting the point. I have seen the mountains in DX10 32-bit (on my rig) flicker back and forth between extremely detailed and blurry like is in your pics. It's a bug. It's not some advantage of DX9 64-bit over DX10 32-bit like you're espousing.
well i didnt see any flickering in that spot... i moved around and it always stayed the same... either way DX9 64bit is the way to go... the performance of DX10 and the mouse lag makes it completely unplayable unless you play at 1024x768 or something

jeffmd
10-27-07, 02:41 PM
hmm...im still not sure im reading the config files right, it looks like this...

[default]
; default of this CVarGroup
= 4

r_DepthOfField=2
r_MotionBlur=3
r_sunshafts=1
r_UseEdgeAA=1
r_Flares=1
r_Coronas=1
r_colorgrading=1
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2

[1]
r_DepthOfField=0
r_MotionBlur=0
r_Flares=1
r_Coronas=1
r_UseEdgeAA=0
r_sunshafts=0
r_colorgrading=0
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2

[2]
r_DepthOfField=1
r_sunshafts=0
r_MotionBlur=0
r_UseEdgeAA=0
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2

[3]
r_DepthOfField=1
r_sunshafts=0
r_MotionBlur=1
r_colorgrading=0
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2



4, at the top, looks like the highest.. but 3 has very few settings, and 0 has alot of settings turned on like flare and chorona.

Gaco
10-27-07, 02:42 PM
Nope, it's a DX10-specific shader.



Give DX10 a go with the shaders at high or medium and see what you think. Also, do you have the latest Riva Tuner that lets you overclock the shaders on your GTX? Need to do that, too.
Everytime I try to OC my gfx card it seems to run fine for some time then I start to experience crashes to some extend. I can't seem to find a stable OC, perhaps my cooling sucks (though it's water cooled :s) or perhaps I just suck at OC (inpatience).

Anyway I'd totally go the "DX10 all very high except shaders high and post processing medium"-way if it wasn't for the FPS-independend-DX10-exclusive mouse lag. It's hugely annoying.

Zeus666
10-27-07, 02:43 PM
DX10 is much prettier indeed. What are the settings and framerate on those screenshots respectively?


+1

I think it is much better DX10 pict (just texture mountains look crappy), but any other things are better in dx10 !!

Raje
10-27-07, 02:44 PM
Loved the demo, this is a definite must buy, but honestly I have some issues with the fact my new 3 month old rig needs to be at lower than 1920x1200 even with AA off to run this game at an acceptable level.

Well, honestly, what did you expect?

Are you running it better than 1680x1050, High Everything, and 4xAA?

That's what I can run it at and it's more than adequate frame rate on my 2 year old machine (minus the new 8800GTX).

brownstone
10-27-07, 02:45 PM
Ok while playing around with the graphic settings I found something very intresting. First off Im playing with t2600 core duo, 2gb ram and the 7950 gtx. 1440x900 AA=off AF=4x and all settings medium.

So what I found is if u start crysis and load into to a game with all settings above but the texture quality set to HIGH then u get the fps below.
http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/8150/crysishightexturesgj4.jpg

Now if u set the texture quality to medium and restart crysis and load into a game then u get the following fps:
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/5132/crysismediumtextureslw7.jpg

If u then go into options and change the setting to HIGH u pretty much get no fps drop!
http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/6428/crysismediumthenhightexjp8.jpg

I should also mention that I found that u can load between different saves just can't exit to the main menu or you will get a huge FPS drop when starting a new game. Same happens with alt-tabbing into windows and back.

Gaco
10-27-07, 02:45 PM
Hmm..you sure about that not noticing any changes? heres what I see...

VERY HIGH
_____________

r_DepthOfField=2
r_MotionBlur=3
r_sunshafts=1
r_UseEdgeAA=1
r_Flares=1
r_Coronas=1
r_colorgrading=1
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2


HIGH
_______
r_DepthOfField=1
r_sunshafts=0
r_MotionBlur=1
r_colorgrading=0
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2


looks like im missing a ton if I turn post process down to high..
Try looking at the actual game, do some subjective assesments and objective too (take screenshots) then tell me what you think. If you want more perofrmance can you giver me a better alternative that will hand me as much extra FPS but also reducing the eyecandy less? I would be impressed. If you play at 1280*1024, it might be playable.. or notsince cranking the Post Processing down is the only reasonable thing to do at the moment simply because of the mouse lag bug, which gets much worse at PP set to very high.

jAkUp
10-27-07, 02:46 PM
Yea, after playing the DX10 vs. DX9 executables, I think the DX10 path looks much better overall, the lighting and water especially, but the DX9 path runs twice the framerate.

Xion X2
10-27-07, 02:47 PM
That's strange. The only time I really notice mouse lag is if the FPS drop below 30.

I've seen this show up in Oblivion, though. Even up around 50fps.

Gaco
10-27-07, 02:50 PM
Yea, after playing the DX10 vs. DX9 executables, I think the DX10 path looks much better overall, the lighting especially.
Yea right? I especially noticed in the beginning where I'm running with my nanosuit teammate in the night that the nightsetting as a whole just looked more realistic, whereas in the DX9 it looked more bland, more like a game, I can't quite put my finger on it.. Definently the lightning, perhaps dynamics with the moonlight, dunno..

Zeus666
10-27-07, 02:51 PM
Ok while playing around with the graphic settings I found something very intresting. First off Im playing with t2600 core duo, 2gb ram and the 7950 gtx. 1440x900 AA=off AF=4x and all settings medium.

So what I found is if u start crysis and load into to a game with all settings above but the texture quality set to HIGH then u get the fps below.
http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/8150/crysishightexturesgj4.jpg

Now if u set the texture quality to medium and restart crysis and load into a game then u get the following fps:
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/5132/crysismediumtextureslw7.jpg

If u then go into options and change the setting to HIGH u pretty much get no fps drop!
http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/6428/crysismediumthenhightexjp8.jpg

I should also mention that I found that u can load between different saves just can't exit to the main menu or you will get a huge FPS drop when starting a new game. Same happens with alt-tabbing into windows and back.

Hey man fix your link ! :)

And above all show them here in the forum :D


FIXED !!! AHAHAHA!!!

very fast!



You have reason, very strange what happen
?

Gaco
10-27-07, 02:52 PM
That's strange. The only time I really notice mouse lag is if the FPS drop below 30.

I've seen this show up in Oblivion, though. Even up around 50fps.
I can even feel it when I look out other the water in on the beach in the night at the very beginning where I have 40-45 FPS (settings: DX10, all very high but shaders high and PP medium): mouselag. Grrrr....