PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

GitDat
10-27-07, 05:08 PM
Anyone able to use AF in this game in directx10?

My trees turn white when I try to force it :(

Jonelo
10-27-07, 05:25 PM
If the AF is possible in Vista under DX 9, I try the tweak of changing the files

rHy0
10-27-07, 05:26 PM
It's amazing how stuborn crysis is!! I have spent the last 3-4hrs tweaking and pushing my hardware to the limits trying to allow just enough headroom for everything on very high. I now have my GTS at a risky 700/1600/985. Still refuses to stay above 15fps when I have everything setting to the max... And this is only at 1280 res :rolleyes:

It's the damn sun shafts!!! I love em so much! But the thing is I don't want to sacrifice anything else to have them enabled..

Even though my GPU OC is not ATI Tool stable it is actually game stable so I think I will be pushing this card till it's close to death. Just to play this demo/game maxed out!!!

agentkay
10-27-07, 05:33 PM
Someone inform the president, Crysis actually delivered on its promises. :thumbsup:

It really did. :thumbsup: Apparently a magazine score that got leaked actually gave this game 92%. Can't wait to read the full reviews.

By the way, when I forced 16AF, I actually couldn't see it inside the game, it's possible that we have to add it into the config with:

r_Texture_Anisotropic_Level = 4, 8, 16

$n][pErMan
10-27-07, 05:35 PM
Just played the demo.... amazing :D I love blowing the tree's and buildings up .. lol. Running at 1920 x 1200 with 4xAA ... everything set to Medium except Textures were set to Very High, Shaders were set to Very High and water and sound were set to High. I wish I could set everything to Very High, but I think the settings I do have at Very High give me the most eye candy without such a huge hit on FPS. Maybe I need to try the new beta drivers? If I run everything at very high it crawls to single digit FPS :( Still looks amazing though.

agentkay
10-27-07, 05:39 PM
It's the damn sun shafts!!! I love em so much! But the thing is I don't want to sacrifice anything else to have them enabled..


Did you try to mess with these settings that are apparently responsible for the sunshaft rendering/quality?

r_Beams - Toggles the volumetric light beams. Default is 3, itís an optimized beam with glow support. 0 disables beams, 2 uses fake beams with probably beneficial performance (performance untested). 1 is the best and uses the real full resolution beams but it is slower.

r_BeamsDistFactor - Distance between slices. Default is 0.01 in meters(likely reserved for Very High) and is likely the best setting for beams making it through the densest vegetation. You can try it and see what you like best (currently medium and high use 0.5, low uses 1). You may like more noticeable separation.

r_BeamsMaxSlices - Number of volumetric slices allowed per light beam. Default is 200 (reserved for high specs). The max here is 300, so go ultra if you think you can really handle the performance hit.

Thanks again to the guy from the beta forum. ;)

nekrosoft13
10-27-07, 05:41 PM
It really did. :thumbsup: Apparently a magazine score that got leaked actually gave this game 92%. Can't wait to read the full reviews.

By the way, when I forced 16AF, I actually couldn't see it inside the game, it's possible that we have to add it into the config with:

r_Texture_Anisotropic_Level = 4, 8, 16

yap, after playing the MP beta i would never buy the game, but now after this SP level. this is a must buy!!

rHy0
10-27-07, 05:43 PM
Thanks. Might try that if it comes to it but I will se how much more of a beating my GTS can take first. I'm hoping it can hold up with 710 core and I'm going to push the memory up also.

Obie
10-27-07, 05:43 PM
Why hasn't anyone tried readyboost (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/windowsvista/features/details/readyboost.mspx) to get some level of performance increase? (click on readyboost)

Why?
Why?
Why?
:afro2:

LORD-eX-Bu
10-27-07, 05:44 PM
:rofl

are you serious? :lol:

hokeyplyr48
10-27-07, 05:48 PM
i don't think readyboost is going to help in this situation...

with my ultra i can get 30-35 FPS at 1920 x 1200 with everything at very high except for post processing, shaders which are at medium. not too bad, i was expecting worse compared to what everyone else was saying. still would like to play at my native res though (2560x1600) i'll give it about a year before that happens

24inchGamer
10-27-07, 05:49 PM
Argh! I just loaded up crysis after waiting all day to get home, I was so excited, I started out a little adventurous with Very High everything, 4xaa and 1920x1200.. obviously it was horrible, so i dropped to high and turned aa off, it was running better but still laggy, anyway, I got as far as when you run into the woods and your buddy falls down in your face dead.. and pop, my pc restarted! My first reaction was cpu heat? but I checked it straight away and it was at 55 deg. Anyone having similar problems? I have a C2D x6800, 2gb xms2 8500 and a 8800 gtx

hokeyplyr48
10-27-07, 05:51 PM
were you running the 64-bit version or 32?

mythy
10-27-07, 05:53 PM
wtf did it say 55 in bios after you turned it back on?!?! if so yea its cpu heat :headexplode:

24inchGamer
10-27-07, 05:53 PM
32bit Vista

24inchGamer
10-27-07, 05:54 PM
wtf did it say 55 in bios after you turned it back on?!?! if so yea its cpu heat :headexplode:
yeah.. its air cooled, isnt that about right :S

hokeyplyr48
10-27-07, 06:03 PM
55 under load? that's not that bad. certainly not high enough to force the computer to shut down. drivers? do you have 169.01?

24inchGamer
10-27-07, 06:05 PM
55 under load? that's not that bad. certainly not high enough to force the computer to shut down. drivers? do you have 169.01?
Yup, did a proper clean up of my old drivers and installed 169.01 today :(

hokeyplyr48
10-27-07, 06:07 PM
i'd check all the temperatures of everything in your case. mobo, gpu, etc. see if anything seems abnormally high. is everything getting enough power? i forgot to plug one pci-e power into my card once and did a similar thing. but you got partially into the game so that's probably not it though.

rHy0
10-27-07, 06:08 PM
Yup, did a proper clean up of my old drivers and installed 169.01 today :(
I'd stay away from the those drivers. They're just really messed up. For me fraps read quite high fps (mid 30's) but the game was lagging badly... Didnt make sense.... So i've switched to the 163.75 drivers.

Get rid of that driver. Go for the 163 line.

24inchGamer
10-27-07, 06:09 PM
i'd check all the temperatures of everything in your case. mobo, gpu, etc. see if anything seems abnormally high. is everything getting enough power? i forgot to plug one pci-e power into my card once and did a similar thing. but you got partially into the game so that's probably not it though.
Everything just seems as normal, I havent changed anything internally, and ive been playing bioshock, the cod4 demo and MOH Airborne without any issues :S

Mcklain
10-27-07, 06:10 PM
Anyone able to use AF in this game in directx10?

Every time I try to load a level with AF forced in the control panel the loading bar just stops and I have to alt-tab out and force the game to close.

DirectX10 mode seems to be very unstable overall though. It crashes immediately in 64bit mode and it hangs up in the menus randomly in 32bit mode (not all the time but often enough to be sure it only happens in DX10).

DX9 is perfectly stable.


The exact same thing happens to me. Sometimes the game will hang in during the logo of EA at the start or during loading of the map

mumstheword
10-27-07, 06:11 PM
Has anyone see any godrays on Very High? I haven't.

The DX10 still doesn't look like this:

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/19965.html

Maybe this is what it will look like when Ultra Quality is available.

john19055
10-27-07, 06:13 PM
This game sounds like a bitch to play ,but the screen shots looks good. I gues I may get in the teens if I ever get it downloaded.

FearMeAll
10-27-07, 06:13 PM
wow ok I was running directx10 mode and it was an awful 5-10fps at 1920x1200 with 2 8800ultras in sli then I did that directx9 shortcut and bam performance shot way the hell up. Feels like 40+fps at 1920x1200 with 16x FSAA. I am happy and I'm fine with running the game in pure directx9 mode when it comes out. Hell it is still better looking than any other game out at this setting.
Perhaps a few more driver updates will help things out but it may be next year before I see directx10 mode in this game.
I think it still boils down to drivers though. I noticed that in directx10 mode with sli bars they never max out at all. I mean we are looking at them filling up about a quarter and my second card is barely doing anything.
We shall see in the future I suppose.