PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

Redeemed
10-27-07, 06:14 PM
So, no word on SLi performance in this game yet? :(

24inchGamer
10-27-07, 06:16 PM
wow ok I was running directx10 mode and it was an awful 5-10fps at 1920x1200 with 2 8800ultras in sli then I did that directx9 shortcut and bam performance shot way the hell up. Feels like 40+fps at 1920x1200 with 16x FSAA. I am happy and I'm fine with running the game in pure directx9 mode when it comes out. Hell it is still better looking than any other game out at this setting.
Perhaps a few more driver updates will help things out but it may be next year before I see directx10 mode in this game.
I think it still boils down to drivers though. I noticed that in directx10 mode with sli bars they never max out at all. I mean we are looking at them filling up about a quarter and my second card is barely doing anything.
We shall see in the future I suppose.
Whats the dx9 shortcut mate, ill see if this fixes my unstable issue

conroejoe
10-27-07, 06:17 PM
So, no word on SLi performance in this game yet? :(


There was alot of info about this, SLI does nothing and the demo only uses 2 cores. No SLI and no quad support.

hokeyplyr48
10-27-07, 06:17 PM
Has anyone see any godrays on Very High? I haven't.

The DX10 still doesn't look like this:

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/19965.html

Maybe this is what it will look like when Ultra Quality is available.

wonder what machine that's running on to make it look that nice. what were they using to make those videos? how come ours look like slideshows compared to theirs?

Redeemed
10-27-07, 06:18 PM
There was alot of info about this, SLI does nothing and the demo only uses 2 cores. No SLI and no quad support.

Well, I do remember- about 5 million pages back (:p ) I saw a post showing all four cores in use... but it had no mention of SLi... :(

Oh well. Here's hoping the full retail version has proper SLi support. I'm sure that second GTS would come in REAL HANDY here. :p :D

agentkay
10-27-07, 06:20 PM
There was alot of info about this, SLI does nothing and the demo only uses 2 cores. No SLI and no quad support.

4 cores do work but they are not maxed out, far from it actually.

Zeus666
10-27-07, 06:20 PM
Has anyone see any godrays on Very High? I haven't.

The DX10 still doesn't look like this:

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/19965.html

Maybe this is what it will look like when Ultra Quality is available.

Maybe in 2 or 3 years from now..... maybe...

IMHO we need to wait 5 years to see that amazing look in a retail game.. :cool:

WE NEED HARDWARE ABLE TO HANDLE THAT !!!!

mythy
10-27-07, 06:21 PM
The DEMO DOES use Quad cores! It used a good 20% of the first one same for the second and the last 2 were more like 35-40% usage

Zeus666
10-27-07, 06:22 PM
wow ok I was running directx10 mode and it was an awful 5-10fps at 1920x1200 with 2 8800ultras in sli then I did that directx9 shortcut and bam performance shot way the hell up. Feels like 40+fps at 1920x1200 with 16x FSAA. I am happy and I'm fine with running the game in pure directx9 mode when it comes out. Hell it is still better looking than any other game out at this setting.
Perhaps a few more driver updates will help things out but it may be next year before I see directx10 mode in this game.
I think it still boils down to drivers though. I noticed that in directx10 mode with sli bars they never max out at all. I mean we are looking at them filling up about a quarter and my second card is barely doing anything.
We shall see in the future I suppose.

So Sli works fine in DX9....
and how much core crysis use !?

Thanks

agentkay
10-27-07, 06:22 PM
wonder what machine that's running on to make it look that nice. what were they using to make those videos? how come ours look like slideshows compared to theirs?

Maybe everything else is scripted and nothing else but what you see is rendered. It's also possible to pre-render it all (FMV intro) in the engine.

The godrays are most likely only at specific spots of the game, who knows for sure.

hokeyplyr48
10-27-07, 06:22 PM
yah my quad core is far from maxed out with this game. and cores 1 & 4 are doing about 70% while 2 & 3 are at about 30%. what would the quad core do anyways even if it was maxed out? physics or something?

conroejoe
10-27-07, 06:23 PM
Well, I do remember- about 5 million pages back (:p ) I saw a post showing all four cores in use... but it had no mention of SLi... :(

Oh well. Here's hoping the full retail version has proper SLi support. I'm sure that second GTS would come in REAL HANDY here. :p :D


mine uses 2 cores, the other two are pretty much idle.

Zeus666
10-27-07, 06:23 PM
There was alot of info about this, SLI does nothing and the demo only uses 2 cores. No SLI and no quad support.

It is exactly ? :(

wysiwyg
10-27-07, 06:24 PM
There was alot of info about this, SLI does nothing and the demo only uses 2 cores. No SLI and no quad support.


what are you on about

i have seen in past posts on this thread screenshots of all cores in use

im sure all mine are too

mumstheword
10-27-07, 06:33 PM
wonder what machine that's running on to make it look that nice. what were they using to make those videos? how come ours look like slideshows compared to theirs?

It's probably on a very expensive developer machine. Nothing that we can get. Or it may just be running on SLI at 720p.

Luminal
10-27-07, 06:39 PM
:D Eat this!

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z88/supersupra87/boomstick.jpg

wysiwyg
10-27-07, 06:40 PM
It's probably on a very expensive developer machine. Nothing that we can get. Or it may just be running on SLI at 720p.


its running on a 360 :headexplode:

FearMeAll
10-27-07, 06:47 PM
So Sli works fine in DX9....
and how much core crysis use !?

Thanks
about getting directx9 mode just add -dx9 to the shortcut.
good god it looks amazing and plays so freakin well. needs good drivers is all.
I didn't check core usage but I was too busy finally being able to play the game.
and yes sli works in directx9 and somewhat in directx10. I enabled sli bars using nhancer. I am using the 163.75 drivers and got nhancer to work on them. Crysis has a sli profile just needs more tweaking from nvidia.
I really don't care that much for the directx10 mode unless what I was experiencing before was just bugs. All the screenshots I've seen have been directx9 and that is what I was expecting to see in the game. The other features are meant for the future I'm afraid. We will all see in the next month or so about that.
for now having all my settings on high is kickass enough for me. It's still the best looking game I've ever seen and it's even fun too! gonna play on my 720p hdtv now and watch my framerates skyrocket at the weenie resolution. :D

SweetLou
10-27-07, 06:47 PM
Maybe in 2 or 3 years from now..... maybe...

IMHO we need to wait 5 years to see that amazing look in a retail game.. :cool:

WE NEED HARDWARE ABLE TO HANDLE THAT !!!!
I want to know what the hell kind of system they are using to see those silky smooth framerates @ Ultra High DX10 in widescreen resolutions cause I sure as hell ain't seeing those...

mumstheword
10-27-07, 06:49 PM
Here's another quick CPU test. Everything Very High at 768p with 5-6 koreans on screen at once shooting at me.

http://aycu02.webshots.com/image/31401/2006399613585899147_rs.jpg

SweetLou
10-27-07, 06:49 PM
about getting directx9 mode just add -dx9 to the shortcut.
good god it looks amazing and plays so freakin well. needs good drivers is all.
I didn't check core usage but I was too busy finally being able to play the game.
and yes sli works in directx9 and somewhat in directx10. I enabled sli bars using nhancer. I am using the 163.75 drivers and got nhancer to work on them. Crysis has a sli profile just needs more tweaking from nvidia.
I really don't care that much for the directx10 mode unless what I was experiencing before was just bugs. All the screenshots I've seen have been directx9 and that is what I was expecting to see in the game. The other features are meant for the future I'm afraid. We will all see in the next month or so about that.
for now having all my settings on high is kickass enough for me. It's still the best looking game I've ever seen and it's even fun too! gonna play on my 720p hdtv now and watch my framerates skyrocket at the weenie resolution. :D
Yeah DX9 is running flawlessly crazy fast. I just don't get why DX10 is so slow and yet the devs show videos of it running fast.

XDanger
10-27-07, 06:53 PM
I want to know what the hell kind of system they are using to see those silky smooth framerates @ Ultra High DX10 in widescreen resolutions cause I sure as hell ain't seeing those...

Intel QX6800 @ 3.9Ghz 8x488 || 4GB OCZ Reaper PC8500 || SLI eVGA 8800GTX Superclocked @ 700/2100

Holy Crud!!!

EDIT:- I see you edit. :)

mumstheword
10-27-07, 07:14 PM
Here's another: (Everything High, Textures Medium @768p, fighting several koreans at once, breaking buildings, shooting trees etc)

http://aycu31.webshots.com/image/33110/2005222489401624730_rs.jpg

I ran DX9 in Vista for the first time. It actually has the same performance as XP. I'm surprised.

avirox
10-27-07, 07:14 PM
mums (or anyone with rivatuner): can ya do a vram mem usage test? Preferably in one of the more detailed scenes. I know that even the beta @ med used about 350 peak but I'm wondering if this has been optimized any for the demo (i only had the chance to play it for 10 minutes or so). I was wondering in my last couple days of the evga step-up program if I should go for the 640 GTS from my 320, but judging by GTS640 users' performance it doesn't seem worth it..

FearMeAll
10-27-07, 07:14 PM
Yeah DX9 is running flawlessly crazy fast. I just don't get why DX10 is so slow and yet the devs show videos of it running fast.
we must be patient..we need drivers....or we were duped. lol.
Just wait a couple months I guess...I'm planning on beating the game in directx9 mode myself. looks good enough to me.