PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

Gaco
10-29-07, 03:23 PM
I am using the 32-bit executables.
If you're 100% sure about that I'd try reinstalling the demo.

Gaco
10-29-07, 03:36 PM
http://stage6.divx.com/user/Gaco/video/1794003/Crysis-DX10-@-very-high-(-except-shaders-high)-sunrise

My crysis video I've been dying to upload for 3 days now (finally figured out everthing from codecs to audio restrictions etc.). It would have been more exciting fore people back when the demo was all fresh, so it's probably not all that exciting, but still shows some good graphics and is fairly well composed and matches the music IMO. I thought everything was at very high (ran in DX10 mode) but unfortunately shaders was on high as the only setting - still gorgeous looking though.

As I've written in the description it actually looks like the fighter jet killed me because the camera view followed it when I died :D

But now I'm finally ready to throw up some videos in highres on Stage6. We've all seen a lot of screenshots, it's time for the moving pictures :)

mumstheword
10-29-07, 03:37 PM
As I said before....I am running vista, and I'm able to play the game with no problems. If you're having problems, the first place to start is troubleshooting your hardware.

In DX9 or DX10? High settings and above is barely playable when using the DX10 pathway no matter what resolution.

krasin
10-29-07, 03:39 PM
hi

does anyone know how to turn off moving trees and grass without setting shaders to low because this causes shadows to disappear.

thanks for any help

crainger
10-29-07, 03:39 PM
I am going to add my feedback after finally playing the demo last night.

It is very good.

That is all. :)

mumstheword
10-29-07, 03:40 PM
VISTA sux !
10fps less ....

VISTA
8800GTS 320,
VERY HIGH (shadow=medium), NO AA, 1280x1024 = 10fps and slideshow !
HIGH (shadow=medium), NO AA, 1280x1024 = 20fps but w/slowdowns .. not too playable

XP
8800GTS 320, HIGH (shadow=medium), NO AA, 1280x1024 = 30fps, and few slowdowns but very playable!

My config:
E6300 @ 3Ghz
2GB DDR2-800
8800GTS 320 500/1600

If you run it with DX9 in Vista, you should get the same performance as in XP. Maybe a decrease in 1-2 fps.

SH64
10-29-07, 03:42 PM
I am going to add my feedback after finally playing the demo last night.

It is very good.

That is all. :)
Thats all what you had to say ? :p

good to see you're liking it .. the game simply rocks!

mumstheword
10-29-07, 03:45 PM
Thats all what you had to say ? :p

good to see you're liking it .. the game simply rocks!

Yeah it does. And the AI is probably the best and most believable i've ever seen in FPS especially when set to delta difficulty.

SH64
10-29-07, 03:49 PM
Yeah it does. And the AI is probably the best and most believable i've ever seen in FPS especially when set to delta difficulty.
Tell me about it! i'm playing on normal difficulty & these dang soliders keep follwoing me even when i leave their area! its even get harder when they group together to hunt for ya .. amazing how trying to escape dont help you much in this game!
i think Crytek did a very good job with the AI path finding in Crysis :cool:

Legend
10-29-07, 04:22 PM
In DX9 or DX10? High settings and above is barely playable when using the DX10 pathway no matter what resolution.


Still spouting off your fud and bs even after I proved you wrong countless times with my DX10 screens:rolleyes:


DX10 shots at 1680X1050. Textures, objects and water are at Very High and all others including shaders are set to high.

Now stop trying to convince the world that the demo is not playable under DX10. Just because you cant figure out how to get it running decently doesnt mean that others cant.

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa160/SLINROB/Crysis2007-10-2817-43-35-87.jpg


http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa160/SLINROB/Crysis2007-10-2817-41-15-48.jpg


http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa160/SLINROB/Crysis2007-10-2817-40-49-99.jpg

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa160/SLINROB/Crysis2007-10-2817-33-21-80.jpg


http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa160/SLINROB/Crysis2007-10-2817-32-52-45.jpg

gfx_demon
10-29-07, 04:26 PM
Nice screens legend (as I'm sure you're fond of praise ;) )

Luminal
10-29-07, 04:27 PM
Nice screens, any AA in them ?

or just looks nice because of small size pics ?

mumstheword
10-29-07, 04:35 PM
Still spouting off your fud and bs even after I proved you wrong countless times with my DX10 screens:rolleyes:


DX10 shots at 1680X1050. Textures, objects and water are at Very High and all others including shaders are set to high.

Now stop trying to convince the world that the demo is not playable under DX10. Just because you cant figure out how to get it running decently doesnt mean that others cant.


Speaking of insecurity....

The person I responded too has a GTS just like me, so your bloated sense of self-importance isn't necessary here.

And you didn't prove anything in regards to DX10. That's just your delusions manifesting itself. Do you remember the premise of your thread? **DX9 Vista 64 bit is way to go!! LOL.OMGZ, Im so smart!**

Please go crawl back into your little bubble.

mythy
10-29-07, 04:36 PM
For a rig that scores 13Kon3Dmark06 I sure cant do **** with crysis I only get 20fps on high settings :thumbdwn:

Legend got any ideas for me? :o

madmossy
10-29-07, 04:37 PM
Nice screens, any AA in them ?

or just looks nice because of small size pics ?

AA aint gonna happen in Crysis with current gen cards, performance hit is too huge at decent resolutions.

Hell even at 800x600 8XAA kills fps.

Legend
10-29-07, 04:37 PM
Speaking of insecurity....

The person I responded too has a GTS just like me, so your bloated sense of self-importance isn't necessary here.

And you didn't prove anything in regards to DX10. That's just your delusions manifesting itself. Do you remember the premise of your thread? **DX9 Vista 64 bit is way to go!! LOL.OMGZ, Im so smart!**

Please go crawl back into your little bubble.


I suggest you scramble back over to that thread because your making yourself look like an even bigger moron:rolleyes:

I did some TRUE DX10 shots on that same thread you tool comparing them to the Ini tweaked DX9 shots. The picks I just posted in this thread are of the TRUE DX10 UNDER VISTA SHOTS. not the hacked ini dx9 shots:rolleyes:

And you cannot deny the fact that you have been telling everyone and I do mean EVERYONE that DX10 is not playable regardless of what CPU/GPU combo that they had.

Your just a sore little pissed off prick who cannot stand to be proven wrong. I proved you wrong as to how well you could make DX9 with ini tweaks look in comparison to DX10 and then when you told me I could not run it in True DX10 and get close to the same results I proved you wrong there too.

You have done nothing but hate on me ever since so dont expect me to treat you any differently.

Legend
10-29-07, 04:38 PM
AA aint gonna happen in Crysis with current gen cards, performance hit is too huge at decent resolutions.

Hell even at 800x600 8XAA kills fps.


Yes stay away from AA with this demo.

Legend
10-29-07, 04:43 PM
For a rig that scores 13Kon3Dmark06 I sure cant do **** with crysis I only get 20fps on high settings :thumbdwn:

Legend got any ideas for me? :o


Well unfortunately 3D mark does not always translate to gaming performance. What resolution are you using and are you trying to use AA and AF?

Apollo 13
10-29-07, 05:08 PM
I turn my shaders on low to see what kind of performance I would get and the damn thing have the trees out lined in white. How do you fix this?

methimpikehoses
10-29-07, 05:11 PM
Legend, make a sig so we can put those shots and fps in context! :cool:

mumstheword
10-29-07, 05:15 PM
And you cannot deny the fact that you have been telling everyone and I do mean EVERYONE that DX10 is not playable regardless of what CPU/GPU combo that they had.


You have the quotes to back this up where I have told everyone, even players with SLI that it is unplayable? Let's see them since you've spent so much time reading my posts.

Your just a sore little pissed off prick who cannot stand to be proven wrong. I proved you wrong as to how well you could make DX9 with ini tweaks look in comparison to DX10 and then when you told me I could not run it in True DX10 and get close to the same results I proved you wrong there too.

Actually, I didn't ask you to prove anything except for the ripple effects in DX10 with high shaders so stop with the nonsense that you've proved me wrong multiple times. What i'm more interested in is what effects require very high shaders. So what I do not believe is that you can get that same waves with high shaders.

If you can show me it's possible, then i'll apologize.

[EOCF] Tim
10-29-07, 05:16 PM
In [H]ardOCP's 8800GT review, there were a number of interesting bits mainly about the Crysis Demo, see if you already figured them out.



NVIDIA also now has a new transparency multisampling algorithm in use that it has implanted in its latest drivers. This new algorithm works on every GeForce 8 series video cards and is not restricted to just the GeForce 8800 GT. This new mode is employed by the latest drivers, version 167.37 and the new 169.01. NVIDIA has developed a new transparency multisampling method that has image quality almost similar to transparent supersampling but without the large performance hit. This new mode replaces the previous TRMS with a new TRMS; the option in the driver control panel is still labeled the same however. NVIDIA claims that the new TRMS mode is on average 6% slower than standard 4X AA. This feature will certainly be welcomed as we can enable TRMS and receive better antialiasing on alpha textures compared to the previous algorithm, with less of a performance hit than TRSS takes.


Post processing deals with motion blur and depth of field, in this game there is a motion blur effect added when you move your mouse. With this option at higher settings more motion blur is added, unfortunately unless you have a fast video card this higher level of motion blur can make it feel like your mouse is “lagging.”

When you select any AA level in the DX10 code path it will automatically set the Shader Quality to “High” in the advanced menu. You cannot run AA at any setting lower than “High” Shader Quality.

This comes directly from NVIDIA’s James Wang on the use of Transparency Antialiasing in Crysis: ” Crysis handles foliage very differently from normal engines so TRMS/SS won't work. Bit of a shame really. The game has some built-in foliage AA, but it only kicks in in "Very high" quality mode.”

On the issue of Anisotropic filtering, the game does not have any in-game options for this. You will have to force AF from the control panel for each video card. However, currently there is a bug with forcing AF on NVIDIA GPU based video cards in the demo. As you can see in the screenshot above we have forced AF from the control panel and are receiving graphical corruption on the trees. It should be noted it is harder to see this during daylight in the game; it is most visible at night and it does not occur in DX9 mode. NVIDIA is aware of this problem.

It should also be noted that the demo currently does NOT support SLI in any way, shape or form. If you have an SLI setup disable SLI because leaving it enabled can in fact potentially hurt performance. The full version game will support SLI with a game patch according to NVIDIA.

The only three we needed to lower were shadow quality, post processing and shader quality. We found that shader quality took a rather big hit on performance at “High” on every video card, and second to that was the shadow quality.

We saw absolutely no performance difference between the 320 MB and 640 MB GeForce 8800 GTS in this game. The video cards just aren’t powerful enough to push the game to settings where the framebuffer size would make a difference apparently.

Legend
10-29-07, 05:18 PM
Legend, make a sig so we can put those shots and fps in context! :cool:


Ok, I will soon. LOL.

For now here are my specs-

Q6600@3.4ghz
8800GTX 650core 2040mem 1720shaders
4gb ddr2@850mhz 4 4 3 5
Vista 64
Asus P5b deluxe
Creative XFI extreme gamer
Pc powercooling 750watt 60amp single 12rail.

methimpikehoses
10-29-07, 05:21 PM
Ok, I will soon. LOL.

For now here are my specs-

Q6600@3.4ghz
8800GTX 650core 2040mem 1720shaders
4gb ddr2@850mhz 4 4 3 5
Vista 64
Asus P5b deluxe
Creative XFI extreme gamer
Pc powercooling 750watt 60amp single 12rail.

:scarey:

Legend
10-29-07, 05:24 PM
What i'm more interested in is what effects require very high shaders. So what I do not believe is that you can get that same waves with high shaders.

If you can show me it's possible, then i'll apologize.


How many thousands of times have I told you that the shader setting does NOT HAVE AN EFFECT ON THE WAVES!!!!

THE ONLY SETTING THAT HAS ANY EFFECT ON THE WAVES IS THE WATER SETTING ITSELF.

And yes, MY PICS WITH THE DX9 INI HACKS INCLUDE THE SAME SETTINGS AS THOSE FOUND WITH THE WAVES UNDER DX10 MODE WITH THE HIGH RIPPLES. (VERY HIGH SETTING FOR WATER)

I HAVE IT ENABLED AND YOU CAN SEE IT IN MY PICS! PLUS I HAVE PLAYED DX10 and DX9 WITH THE INI TWEAKS BACK TO BACK AND THE WATER IS JUST AS GOOD UNDER DX9 WITH THE INI TWEAKS AS IT IS IN DX10 WITH THE WATER SET TO VERY HIGH!.

Another thing is that it is damn hard to just go off of a screen shot with the waves because its not always easy to tell the difference unless you see it in motion for yourself since it is a constant moving (changing) mass.