PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 [79] 80 81 82

Mr_LoL
11-02-07, 03:34 PM
Those Aliased trees are really doing my nut in. It just looks horrible especially the palm trees.

FastRedPonyCar
11-02-07, 03:53 PM
I don't have the screenshot here at work but yesterday I blew up one of the boats in the bay and then swam down to it and it was on fire underwater. :retard:

On a plus side, at least they managed to get a believable underwater "thud" grenade explosion. - 1 for no cool water geyser after said explosion.

Mr_LoL
11-02-07, 03:57 PM
I don't have the screenshot here at work but yesterday I blew up one of the boats in the bay and then swam down to it and it was on fire underwater. :retard:

On a plus side, at least they managed to get a believable underwater "thud" grenade explosion. - 1 for no cool water geyser after said explosion.
Also if you blow up a jeep with a Korean still in it, he isn't burnt .

FastRedPonyCar
11-02-07, 04:01 PM
Nor are their bodies tossed a great distace when an explosion is near.

I was also expecting more vegetation mayhem when explosions go off in their vicinity. Something valve nailed perfectly.

You can park a jeep around a group of trees and blow it to hell and watch as mabey 1 tree falls and the rest just sort of bend and that's it. :thumbdwn:

does crysis use some proprietary physics engine or does it use Havok?

methimpikehoses
11-02-07, 04:09 PM
Also if you blow up a jeep with a Korean still in it, he isn't burnt .

I noticed that too. They should have done something about this.

agentkay
11-02-07, 04:39 PM
MechWarrior mod/total conversion in development. :)

http://www.incrysis.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=546

Crysis uses it's own physics engine, no Havok or Ageia.

mythy
11-02-07, 04:40 PM
Could some one help me figure out how to force DX9 bench marks in vista?

six_storm
11-02-07, 04:58 PM
Could some one help me figure out how to force DX9 bench marks in vista?

Right click and "Play DX9"?

I dunno if anyone has tried this but I was showing my dad the 8800GT last night when playing the Crysis demo. I jumped on top of a tin roof building (the very first building next to the GPS jammer), enabled Max Strength and punched it, causing it to collapse. Low and behold, I flew up in the air dead. WTF? I tried it again and nothing happened. Weird.

Jonelo
11-02-07, 05:37 PM
http://www.gamespot.com/features/6182140/index.html#

Gaco
11-02-07, 06:47 PM
http://www.gamespot.com/features/6182140/index.html#
Nice. It doesn't really say anything we didn't already know, but it's always nice to have concrete benchmark data and they also gave DX10 a fair treatment :)

BTW Jonelo how do you insert embedded videos into this forum? The embedded code that stage6 spews out is a mess..

Gaco
11-02-07, 07:08 PM
Ah screw it, link's coming. I can always figure out the embedded way later :)

Jonelo
11-02-07, 07:46 PM
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/jonelo/capturas/yturyturt.jpg (http://stage6.divx.com/user/Oritxupolitena/video/1805187/)

Not is embedded code ;) is one screen and the link of the video :D

Gaco
11-02-07, 08:18 PM
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/jonelo/capturas/yturyturt.jpg (http://stage6.divx.com/user/Oritxupolitena/video/1805187/)

Not is embedded code ;) is one screen and the link of the video :D
oh :D


I captured this video while screwing around, I call it "how a grenade can backfire and have indirect and fatal consequences" - be sure to watch it to the end :D


http://stage6.divx.com/user/Gaco/video/1809050/Crysis-Demo:-Grenade-backfires!

Burnt_Ram
11-02-07, 09:19 PM
http://www.gamespot.com/features/6182140/index.html#
very cool comparison! thanks for posting it. but how do you get "very high" in XP? i only have the option for "high"

MamiyaOtaru
11-02-07, 09:19 PM
Thats not what i meant agentkay! I mean the texture resolution looks alot better on the mountains in 64 bits mode...

Look:
http://aycu14.webshots.com/image/30973/2001875357142440170_rs.jpg


Now how the hell can we get that into 32bit aswell?

In XP, the mountain looks like the pic on the left when I use high textures. If I switch to medium textures, it looks more like the pic on the right. Try in 32bit with medium textures and see if the mountain looks better. Makes little sense to me, but there it is (on my aged 7900gt anyway)

Jonelo
11-03-07, 06:58 AM
:captnkill: :captnkill:

[quote="vilian111"]So here is my final mod for Crysis Demo. It adds every weapon in 3 different places to pick up + ammo, it adds alot of more enemies + new boats, cars (tanks) and Helicopter, different day time.[b]
I wont be making any new Mods for the Demo cause there is alot of stuff unavalible and alot of bugs.

http://i8.tinypic.com/4mv67av.jpg
http://i3.tinypic.com/6gx9nnp.jpg
http://i3.tinypic.com/6fym87m.jpg
http://i8.tinypic.com/4pkon6w.jpg

[b]Info: Extract to ...\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis SP Demo\Game\Levels\
Dont Forget to backup the island folder!!

Download!!!

http://rapidshare.com/files/67043150/Island_v1.0.part1.rar
http://rapidshare.com/files/67044471/Island_v1.0.part2.rar

FileFront Link!!!
http://files.filefront.com/Island+v10rar/;8951011;/fileinfo.html

Destroy
11-03-07, 08:38 AM
In XP, the mountain looks like the pic on the left when I use high textures. If I switch to medium textures, it looks more like the pic on the right. Try in 32bit with medium textures and see if the mountain looks better. Makes little sense to me, but there it is (on my aged 7900gt anyway)

Great find, thank you. Yes, this proves it does seem to be a bug and NOT a 64bit vs 32bit 'enhancement'.

Edit: Solution has be found. See here..
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1436134&postcount=8

DX9 winXP High vs Medium texture setting changed only
http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/7072/mtntextureos6.gif (http://imageshack.us)

Gaco
11-03-07, 09:06 AM
Great find, thank you. Yes, this proves it does seem to be a bug and NOT a 64bit vs 32bit 'enhancement'.

DX9 winXP High vs Medium texture setting changed only
http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/7072/mtntextureos6.gif (http://imageshack.us)
Lol that is wicked weird (ack)

Legend
11-03-07, 09:22 AM
Great find, thank you. Yes, this proves it does seem to be a bug and NOT a 64bit vs 32bit 'enhancement'.



Thats great news for all the 32bit users then because the textures in the distant mountains were looking like crap even when they drew in correctly.

FastRedPonyCar
11-03-07, 09:37 AM
As I mentioned in my other thread regarding this mountain texture problem, when switching to medium textures, I see quality degradation on all other textures :(

So it's a give and take "fix".

Is it a problem with the pak file or whatever holds all the texture data just having things mixed up? Like mabey crytek accidentally put the high settings textures in the medium settings place and vice versa?

Buio
11-03-07, 11:35 AM
oh :D
I captured this video while screwing around, I call it "how a grenade can backfire and have indirect and fatal consequences" - be sure to watch it to the end :D
http://stage6.divx.com/user/Gaco/video/1809050/Crysis-Demo:-Grenade-backfires!

And for those who don't like to use the embedded web divx player you can also mod the link to get a download and play locally using f.e. ffdshow as filter.

Like this:
http://video.stage6.com/1809050/.divx
(the .divx file is same container as .avi just renamed, so you can rename it back to .avi if you want)

Destroy
11-03-07, 02:10 PM
Now for the AF issue. Seems enabling Parallax Occlusion Mapping cause AF to go to hell.

only Parallax Occlusion Mapping on/off
http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/4151/afissuezv7.gif (http://imageshack.us)

Anyone find a fix for this yet?

Destroy
11-03-07, 02:18 PM
Is everyone else getting this type of granular vaporizing rock draw in? I've used the scope to zoom in and out to exaggerate the issue.

The rocks can be seen 'vaporizing' in as you walk towards the rocks also.

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/3787/rockdrawinlo5.gif (http://imageshack.us)

Lfctony
11-03-07, 02:42 PM
Is everyone else getting this type of granular vaporizing rock draw in? I've used the scope to zoom in and out to exaggerate the issue.

The rocks can be seen 'vaporizing' in as you walk towards the rocks also.

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/3787/rockdrawinlo5.gif (http://imageshack.us)

Yeah I get it too, happens in DX9 mode only AFAIK. DX10 (not very high, but DX10 path) is fine.

GitDat
11-03-07, 05:24 PM
http://photo.ringo.com/240/240383869O999783156.jpg
http://photo.ringo.com/240/240383874O631612009.jpg

Couple shots of the infamous texture mountain :afro: