PDA

View Full Version : Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?


Pages : [1] 2

Digital_Trans
10-26-07, 01:26 AM
I heard that Crysis and UT3 are both 64-bit games right out of the box. Is there any truth to this?

XxDeadlyxX
10-26-07, 01:29 AM
It has been confirmed Crysis has a 64-bit exe in the demo :)

64-bit FTW!

Here's hoping using 64-bit version results in 5fps increase or something :)

mojoman0
10-26-07, 01:33 AM
It has been confirmed Crysis has a 64-bit exe in the demo :)

64-bit FTW!

Here's hoping using 64-bit version results in 5fps increase or something :)


hah yea seriously...wtf are the advantages of 64 bit anyways...these cpus have been around for ages now and the newest windows doesnt even require them...

conroejoe
10-26-07, 08:23 AM
It has been confirmed Crysis has a 64-bit exe in the demo :)

64-bit FTW!

Here's hoping using 64-bit version results in 5fps increase or something :)


ROTFLMAO 5 FPS!! haha the game runs at 9 FPS don't expect 5 extra FPS. I would gather 64-bit would run .2 FPS faster and you should be happy with that - or NO CRYSIS FOR YOU!

conroejoe
10-26-07, 08:23 AM
hah yea seriously...wtf are the advantages of 64 bit anyways...these cpus have been around for ages now and the newest windows doesnt even require them...


Smoke and mirrors man, just like Vista and DX10.

XxDeadlyxX
10-26-07, 08:34 AM
ROTFLMAO 5 FPS!! haha the game runs at 9 FPS don't expect 5 extra FPS. I would gather 64-bit would run .2 FPS faster and you should be happy with that - or NO CRYSIS FOR YOU!

lol its like I was asking for the world or something :o

Besides you don't know the game runs at "9 fps"... the editor doesn't count.

But yeh god knows, but its always good to hope.

Monolyth
10-26-07, 08:42 AM
At the very least it will increase the available memory space of the app. If anyone remembers Supreme Commander & CoH had big issues running in the 32-bit memory space and MS released a patch to hopefully fix it, but it didn't necessarily work all the time.

CaptNKILL
10-26-07, 09:38 AM
hah yea seriously...wtf are the advantages of 64 bit anyways...these cpus have been around for ages now and the newest windows doesnt even require them...
I highly recommend reading this article:
http://www.bit-tech.net/bits/2007/10/16/64-bit_more_than_just_the_ram/1

"Technically" programs that are fully 64bit could run significantly faster. They just have to be programmed to do so.

If we're just talking about one .exe file being 64bit, then its not likely that it'll do much.

jolle
10-26-07, 10:51 AM
Its mainly about addressing more memory, but I think there are more registers in the CPU that could result in a speed increase in some type of tasks.

Digital_Trans
10-26-07, 02:28 PM
I remember when I had played FarCry in 64-Bit mode and it looked better then 32-Bit visually. It ran smoother and looked some what better then 32-Bit.
So on a graphics visual rating, how would you rate the quality? I remember playing Half Life 2 the Lost Island or something in 64-bit and it kicked ass visually over 32-Bit.

CaptNKILL
10-26-07, 03:11 PM
I remember when I had played FarCry in 64-Bit mode and it looked better then 32-Bit visually. It ran smoother and looked some what better then 32-Bit.
So on a graphics visual rating, how would you rate the quality? I remember playing Half Life 2 the Lost Island or something in 64-bit and it kicked ass visually over 32-Bit.
64bit shouldn't directly have any effect on the visuals. If it does its because the developers tacked on extra features for the 64bit version, not because 64bit looks better.

K007
10-26-07, 08:39 PM
Question is..has anyone got Crysis on 64bit to run without..freezing...

huzdi
10-26-07, 09:25 PM
Question is..has anyone got Crysis on 64bit to run without..freezing...
I just finished playing the whole demo through with the 64 bit, no problems from me.

K007
10-26-07, 09:32 PM
I just finished playing the whole demo through with the 64 bit, no problems from me.

and..is there a bonus in it? Increase in frame rate..perfermance...overall smoothness?

huzdi
10-26-07, 10:14 PM
Well I havn't tried the 32 bit version. Was getting about 30 fps with everything high at 1280x720, I don't think af was on because the foilage and stuff in the distance was really blocky. This is in vista x64, looking forward to seeing what the dx10 version looks like hopefully the new dx10 features should improve the vegatation.

Danik
10-26-07, 11:36 PM
Question is..has anyone got Crysis on 64bit to run without..freezing...

I had no problems running the 64-bit .exe. I played the game for about an hour in 64-bit and 32-bit. I couldn't tell much of a difference but I didn't check the frame rate, or start taking screen shots to nitpick the image quality.

Morrow
10-27-07, 05:54 AM
I remember playing Half Life 2 the Lost Island or something in 64-bit and it kicked ass visually over 32-Bit.

Placebo effect. The visuals of the 64-bit versions of HL2 and Lost Island are 100% identical to their 32-bit counterpart. Nothing has been changed

ArrowMk84
10-27-07, 08:39 AM
In general, 64-bit advantages over 32-bit are in memory management and doing complex calculations faster. You probably won't notice any performance improvement over 32-bit with 64-bit exes, since Crysis is GPU bound (although there should be some performance gains in the physics calculations, if they're 64-bit native, but again, probably not enough to notice). What you should notice with 64-bit is greater stability, especially in large, memory intensive levels. For example, if SupCom had a 64-bit exe, you'd be able to play the 80x80 maps with 8 players and the unit cap maxed out without crashing (the game would crawl, but it wouldn't crash).

Buio
10-27-07, 09:10 AM
64-bit is the future, I'd never step back to x86 now especially since all my hardware and drivers are fine (well except Creatives X-Fi drivers that could be better, but hopefully they will fix it soon). I'm surprised MS don't push Vista x64 more now that the drivers for it are very mature. NVidias x64 drivers perform identical to Vista x86 edition.

Sure the benefits running x64 code games today are tiny, but they do exist and the x86 memory barrier doesn't exist for me anymore.

LordJuanlo
10-27-07, 02:40 PM
The freezing with the 64bit executable of the demo seems to be because (http://www.gamingnewslink.com/2007/10/27/fix-for-crysis-demo-errors-crashes-and-faqs/) of the 169.01 driver. People with older driver have been able to play in 64bit mode.

kobs1
09-26-10, 09:38 AM
UT3 definitely dosn't work with 64 bit systems i just upgraded to window 7 pro from XP and i cant run UT3 with it it freezes at the game itself when you start one.... Checked a few links and looks like they will have to look into it the game is already like 2 or 3 years old i dont think there was any mention of 64 bit operating systems back then so not really their fault but some kind of patch wil have to be made since 32 bit will fade off like all obsolete things did in the past :\

bob saget
09-26-10, 11:17 AM
UT3 definitely dosn't work with 64 bit systems i just upgraded to window 7 pro from XP and i cant run UT3 with it it freezes at the game itself when you start one.... Checked a few links and looks like they will have to look into it the game is already like 2 or 3 years old i dont think there was any mention of 64 bit operating systems back then so not really their fault but some kind of patch wil have to be made since 32 bit will fade off like all obsolete things did in the past :\

search function still works well i guess.

kobs1
09-27-10, 02:47 PM
Loaded it again but i dont know why this time it asked me if i wanted it in the X86 program folder and it works patches, maps everything works :captnkill:

Madpistol
09-27-10, 03:19 PM
Welcome back 2007! We missed you. :p

bob saget
09-28-10, 04:54 PM
2007 was a good year.