PDA

View Full Version : 4 gig ram in a 32 bit os


stefan9
10-26-07, 04:19 AM
Ok guys I have decided to add another 2 gig kit of team extreem ddr 2 800 mhz pc6400 ram to my pc. Now my question is this. I have a vista 32 bit and 64 bit disc's. I currently have the 32 bit one installed.

When add 2 gig of ram do I need to format or won't it make any difference??
Will running the extra 2 gig of ram in a 32 bit os be ok or should I switch to the 64 bit one. I can is just going to be a pain in the ass.

Is there any major disadvantage of running 4 sticks of ram?

Kain
10-26-07, 04:43 AM
You'll need to format and install the 64-bit version to take advantage of the 4GB of RAM.

wolfgar
10-26-07, 04:11 PM
You'll need to format and install the 64-bit version to take advantage of the 4GB of RAM.


the 32-bit OS can only handle 3gig of ram. Some Intel/MS memory reserved range issue if I remember. Any more RAM is ignored.

As Kain referenced, only the 64-bit Vista version will address more than 3 gig.

BUT

Vista 64-bit is not that well supported yet by the vendors. All different drivers, and I've read that some drivers and apps don't work well in the 64-bit environment.

Do your research, and determine if its worth the additional effort.

PS: I do not have Vista personally. Its not worth it yet, for me.

$n][pErMan
10-26-07, 06:44 PM
I am using 4Gigs of ram in 32-bit Vista.... see's only 2.93GB but I did notice some difference from 2 gigs. RAM is so dirt cheap you miught as well... :)

Slammin
10-26-07, 07:28 PM
4GB of ram is better than 2GB regardless of Vista32 or Vista64, or XPX86 for that matter, in which case, 3GB is better than 2GB.

Been there, done all that.

And I've been running Vista64 exclusively for the past several months so any talk about lack of support is bullcrap. Heck, I have a Thrustmaster Cougar joystick and it even has 64bit support. Same with all my Logitech gear (wheels, mouse, etc.).

I wish folks that don't actually KNOW what's going on would leave it to folks that DO know, to answer. Just reading drivel on the net does not mean you actually KNOW what's going on.

Speaking of drivel, what did I just say? :D

Absolution
10-27-07, 09:22 PM
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/platform/server/PAE/PAEdrv.mspx

stefan9
10-29-07, 04:56 AM
This isn't exactly on topic but I don't think I need to open a new thread for this.

I have the asus p5n32 e sli mobo updated to latest 1205 bios. What I would like to know does anybody know if this mobo has issues running 4 x 1 gig ddr 2 pc 6400. I am hopeful of using these :http://www.teamgroup.com.tw/xtreem/overclocking/team-xtreem-ddr2-800mhz-cl-4%114%114%1110/