PDA

View Full Version : CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.


Pages : [1] 2

wazandy
10-27-07, 01:20 AM
Ok, to all you config junkies out there..

Let's try and tweak this thing.

As far as I can see - DX9 on XP seems to be the way to go so far (and I'm running 4gig DDR2, o/c 8800 Ultra and an o/c Q6600.)

The adapted config seems to add some more eyecandy - here it is again for those that missed it - it's added to the .cfg file in your documents folder.

(Remember - you have to keep adding it, as Crysis will delete it from your config file once you reload the game..)

r_DepthOfField=1
r_MotionBlur=3
r_sunshafts=1
r_UseEdgeAA=1
r_Flares=1
r_Coronas=1
r_colorgrading=1
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2

sys_spec_Quality=4
e_sky_type=1
e_sky_update_rate=1
r_DetailTextures=1
r_DetailNumLayers=2
r_DetailDistance=8
r_HDRRendering=2
r_SSAO=1
r_SSAO_quality=2
r_SSAO_radius=2
r_refraction=1
e_ram_maps=1
sys_flash_edgeaa=1
e_vegetation_use_terrain_color=1
e_terrain_ao=1
e_terrain_normal_map=1
e_max_entity_lights=16
r_UsePom=1
r_EnvTexUpdateInterval=0.05
r_TexturesFilteringQuality=0
r_HairSortingQuality = 1
r_FillLights = 14
e_particles_lights = 1


i_lighteffects = 1
g_ragdollMinTime = 15.0
g_ragdollUnseenTime = 2
g_ragdollDistance = 40.0
g_battleDust_enable = 1


e_obj_quality=4
e_proc_vegetation=1
ca_useDecals=1
e_decals_allow_game_decals=1
e_decals_life_time_scale=2
e_lod_ratio=6
e_lod_min=0
e_lods=1
e_view_dist_ratio_detail=30
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation=45
e_vegetation_min_size=0
i_rejecteffects=1
e_vegetation_bending=2
sys_flash_curve_tess_error=2
e_view_dist_ratio=60
e_max_view_dst_spec_lerp=1
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_custom_ratio_min=1
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio=1.5
e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy=2048
e_detail_materials_view_dist_z=128
es_DebrisLifetimeScale=1
e_cbuffer_resolution=256
e_dissolve=1
ca_DrawFaceAttachments=1
ca_AttachmentCullingRation=200
e_terrain_occlusion_culling_max_dist=200

r_WaterRefractions=1
r_WaterReflections=1
r_WaterUpdateFactor=0.05
e_water_tesselation_amount=10
e_water_tesselation_swath_width=10
r_WaterUpdateDistance=0.2
r_WaterCaustics=1
r_WaterReflectionsQuality=4
e_water_ocean_fft=1
q_ShaderWater=2
r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate = 0.05

r_Beams=3
r_BeamsDistFactor=0.05
r_BeamsMaxSlices=200
e_Clouds=1
r_CloudsUpdateAlways=1


e_shadows = 1
r_ShadowBlur=3
e_shadows_max_texture_size=1024
r_ShadowJittering=2.5
e_gsm_lods_num=5
e_gsm_range=3
e_shadows_cast_view_dist_ratio=0.8
r_ShadowsMaskResolution=0
e_shadows_on_alpha_blended=1
e_shadows_from_terrain_in_all_lods=1
e_gsm_cache = 0

e_cull_veg_activation=50
g_joint_breaking=1
g_tree_cut_reuse_dist=0
p_max_MC_iters=6000
e_phys_foliage=2
es_MaxPhysDist=200
es_MaxPhysDistInvisible=25
e_phys_ocean_cell=0.5
e_foliage_wind_activation_dist=25
g_breakage_particles_limit=250
p_max_object_splashes=3
p_splash_dist0=7
p_splash_dist1=30
p_splash_force0=10
p_splash_force1=100
p_splash_vel0=4.5
p_splash_vel1=10
v_vehicle_quality=4
p_max_substeps_large_group=5
p_num_bodies_large_group=100

e_particles_quality=4
e_particles_lod=1
e_particles_max_emitter_draw_screen=32
r_UseSoftParticles=1
e_water_ocean_soft_particles= 1
e_particles_object_collisions=1

Now I haven't got a frigging CLUE as to what most of this stuff does, but it does seem to have made it closer to my buggy as hell DX10 version - which runs like a dog unless you go medium on shaders and, unfortunately, lower the post processing to medium or high - which kills of all the sexy godrays.

SlieTheSecond
10-27-07, 01:33 AM
Create a new config file. Lets call it tweak.cfg. Copy all that to the new config file.

Place it in the config folder. Now start crysis with the command line: crysis.exe +exec tweak

Or just add +exec tweak to your crysis shortcut.
Or put that line into a bat file in your bin32 folder and make a new shortcut to it.

No need to continually past this into a config file.

The only thing I noticed with that was some more rocks and grass/brush.

m3dude
10-27-07, 02:10 AM
easier to just name the file autoexec.cfg.

Ambrose
10-27-07, 03:19 AM
Not sure if this is the same tweak but someone posted it in the other thread and it worked fantastic for me:

r_DepthOfField=1
r_MotionBlur=3
r_sunshafts=1
r_UseEdgeAA=1
r_Flares=1
r_Coronas=1
r_colorgrading=1
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2

sys_spec_Quality=4
e_sky_type=1
e_sky_update_rate=1
r_DetailTextures=1
r_DetailNumLayers=2
r_DetailDistance=8
r_HDRRendering=2
r_SSAO=1
r_SSAO_quality=2
r_SSAO_radius=2
r_refraction=1
e_ram_maps=1
sys_flash_edgeaa=1
e_vegetation_use_terrain_color=1
e_terrain_ao=1
e_terrain_normal_map=1
e_max_entity_lights=16
r_UsePom=1
r_EnvTexUpdateInterval=0.05
r_TexturesFilteringQuality=0
r_HairSortingQuality = 1
r_FillLights = 14
e_particles_lights = 1


i_lighteffects = 1
g_ragdollMinTime = 15.0
g_ragdollUnseenTime = 2
g_ragdollDistance = 40.0
g_battleDust_enable = 1


e_obj_quality=4
e_proc_vegetation=1
ca_useDecals=1
e_decals_allow_game_decals=1
e_decals_life_time_scale=2
e_lod_ratio=6
e_lod_min=0
e_lods=1
e_view_dist_ratio_detail=30
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation=45
e_vegetation_min_size=0
i_rejecteffects=1
e_vegetation_bending=2
sys_flash_curve_tess_error=2
e_view_dist_ratio=60
e_max_view_dst_spec_lerp=1
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_custom_ratio_min=1
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio=1.5
e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy=2048
e_detail_materials_view_dist_z=128
es_DebrisLifetimeScale=1
e_cbuffer_resolution=256
e_dissolve=1
ca_DrawFaceAttachments=1
ca_AttachmentCullingRation=200
e_terrain_occlusion_culling_max_dist=200

r_WaterRefractions=1
r_WaterReflections=1
r_WaterUpdateFactor=0.05
e_water_tesselation_amount=10
e_water_tesselation_swath_width=10
r_WaterUpdateDistance=0.2
r_WaterCaustics=1
r_WaterReflectionsQuality=4
e_water_ocean_fft=1
q_ShaderWater=2
r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate = 0.05

r_Beams=3
r_BeamsDistFactor=0.05
r_BeamsMaxSlices=200
e_Clouds=1
r_CloudsUpdateAlways=1


e_shadows = 1
r_ShadowBlur=3
e_shadows_max_texture_size=1024
r_ShadowJittering=2.5
e_gsm_lods_num=5
e_gsm_range=3
e_shadows_cast_view_dist_ratio=0.8
r_ShadowsMaskResolution=0
e_shadows_on_alpha_blended=1
e_shadows_from_terrain_in_all_lods=1
e_gsm_cache = 0

e_cull_veg_activation=50
g_joint_breaking=1
g_tree_cut_reuse_dist=0
p_max_MC_iters=6000
e_phys_foliage=2
es_MaxPhysDist=200
es_MaxPhysDistInvisible=25
e_phys_ocean_cell=0.5
e_foliage_wind_activation_dist=25
g_breakage_particles_limit=250
p_max_object_splashes=3
p_splash_dist0=7
p_splash_dist1=30
p_splash_force0=10
p_splash_force1=100
p_splash_vel0=4.5
p_splash_vel1=10
v_vehicle_quality=4
p_max_substeps_large_group=5
p_num_bodies_large_group=100

e_particles_quality=4
e_particles_lod=1
e_particles_max_emitter_draw_screen=32
r_UseSoftParticles=1
e_water_ocean_soft_particles= 1
e_particles_object_collisions=1

I'm running Vista, but as everyone has no doubt discovered DX10 runs like crap :(. Fortunately, with this tweak I can run in DX9 and have it looked just as good and run twice as fast. Oh, and did I mention I'm running at 1680 x 1050 (Avg fps: 25-35). Barely any mouse lag. Boy does this game look sweet. :D

Gaco
10-27-07, 11:31 AM
Create a new config file. Lets call it tweak.cfg. Copy all that to the new config file.

Place it in the config folder. Now start crysis with the command line: crysis.exe +exec tweak

Or just add +exec tweak to your crysis shortcut.
Or put that line into a bat file in your bin32 folder and make a new shortcut to it.

No need to continually past this into a config file.

The only thing I noticed with that was some more rocks and grass/brush.
It can't make this work, but I want to since the config resets itself frequently otherwise. It is supposed to be in here right? C:\Users\Gandalf\Documents\My Games\Crysis_SP_DEMO

My command line for the shortcut is "C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis SP Demo\Bin32\Crysis.exe" +exec tweak -DX9

agentkay
10-27-07, 11:50 AM
I believe you can rename the config into "autoexec.cfg" and place it into the demo folder (not documents folder) "Crysis SP Demo".

Gaco
10-27-07, 11:56 AM
I believe you can rename the config into "autoexec.cfg" and place it into the demo folder (not documents folder) "Crysis SP Demo".
Ok.. well I don't know if I'll use this config, does anyone really have some comparison screenshots? I just think I'm gonna go all high settings when I play in DX9 (since the performance is about the same with the config tweak in DX9 as all very high in DX10) and all very high settings, but post processing medium when I play in DX10.

I know I'm repeating myself here, but god damnit if the mouselag wasn't there in the DX10, I would have gone with that mode anytime :(

lunix
10-27-07, 12:23 PM
I have 2 tweaks I have done so far that have helped me hit 40FPS avg in the benchmarks with everything on high.

Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis SP Demo\Game\Config\CVarGroups

sys_spec_PostProcessing.cfg
Set r_MotionBlur=0 I did not like it and it eats me frames.

sys_spec_Shadows.cfg
Set e_shadows_max_texture_size=512 as my GTS320 seems to run out of vram in the game.

Oh AA seems to be a killer. 4xAA dropped me down to 17fps but with 2xAA I can hit 30. 4xAF only lost me 2fps.

jAkUp
10-27-07, 01:12 PM
Ok.. well I don't know if I'll use this config, does anyone really have some comparison screenshots? I just think I'm gonna go all high settings when I play in DX9 (since the performance is about the same with the config tweak in DX9 as all very high in DX10) and all very high settings, but post processing medium when I play in DX10.

I know I'm repeating myself here, but god damnit if the mouselag wasn't there in the DX10, I would have gone with that mode anytime :(

For me the mouselag goes away when I set post processing to high.

Jonelo
10-27-07, 01:48 PM
And some tweak for the AF ?

conroejoe
10-27-07, 01:53 PM
For me the mouselag goes away when I set post processing to high.


Its too bad SLI is wasted on this game so far. Beta and the demo.

8800reject#2
10-27-07, 02:30 PM
Anyone try to just change the file to "read only"? works for me. LOL :cool:

jeffmd
10-27-07, 02:48 PM
Anyone seen a post that tries to describe all these settings?

Lonestar
10-27-07, 03:02 PM
From what i can see only a few settings are locked in hardware for dx10. The catalouge CVarGroups contains all settings for low up to very high.

What i don't understand is why they made certain options like sun shafts unavailable in dx9 just because they whished to have that perticular setting locked for dx10.

Changing the 0 after sunshafts to 1 makes that wonderfull option available for dx9 as well (high setting).

POST PROCESSING
[3]
r_DepthOfField=1
r_sunshafts=1
r_MotionBlur=0
r_colorgrading=0
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2

These restrictions are silly and nothing but a marketing trick!

Jonelo
10-27-07, 03:25 PM
Well , this is a comparative Very high /high in DX9 and two files for to replace the original files and activate Very high in XP, the download include a back up of the original files . Merci Scrapy !!

Very high settings in XP, source this blog (http://blogs.nofrag.com/Scrapy/#article32013) - is the same method of the beta ;) - .

To replace the files of C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis SP Demo\Game\Config\CVarGroups with this files

- #1 rapidshare.com - veryhigh (http://rapidshare.com/files/65472180/Crysis_Pack_High_to_VeryHigh__NoFrag_.zip.html)
- #2 megaupload.com - veryhigh (http://www.megaupload.com/fr/?d=PPVQWWZ3)

the download include a back up of the original files


Passez en VeryHigh sous XP !
http://pix.nofrag.com/4/4/e/37f6e08deff647fbb4e7027b07d44.jpg
http://pix.nofrag.com/c/d/3/bf41854e5c3eb7ea4c2460305cc74.jpg
-
http://pix.nofrag.com/5/c/2/27b39f5211ff301580b8218d401e9.jpg
http://pix.nofrag.com/d/a/4/7b7a2813b5d925b3d3dbefb9877fd.jpg

Intéressant, non ? Et bien, me concernant, pas vraiment en fin de compte. Perte de FPS, et surtout la sensation d'avoir besoin de beaucoup plus d'AA. Mais bon, ça tourne et ça m'a quand même plus. Voici la solution:
Il suffit d'aller dans : C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis SP Demo\Game\Config\CVarGroups. Dans tout fichiers CFG, il y a cette structure:

exemple.cfg
[default]
; default of this CVarGroup
= 4

VeryHigh_code=1
VeryHigh_code=1
VeryHigh_code=1

[1]
Low_code=1
Low_code=1
Low_code=1

[2]
Medium_code=1
Medium_code=1
Medium_code=1

[3]
High_code=1
High_code=1
High_code=1

Toutes les commandes qui se trouvent en dessous de "4" sont les configurations pour l'option en VeryHigh. Il suffit de les copier, et de les remplacer par les commandes en dessous de [3] (1=low, 2=medium, 3=high). Mettez les options en high, et vous éxecuterez les options qui ont été réservé pour le VeryHigh. C'est tout simple. N'oubliez pas de faire un petit backup au cas ou ça tourne pas chez vous (13 fichiers en tout).

Je met à votre disposition un pack des cfg préfaites (avec backup), il n'y a plus qu'a remplacer:

- #1 rapidshare.com - veryhigh (http://rapidshare.com/files/65472180/Crysis_Pack_High_to_VeryHigh__NoFrag_.zip.html)
- #2 megaupload.com - veryhigh (http://www.megaupload.com/fr/?d=PPVQWWZ3)

jeffmd
10-27-07, 03:30 PM
holy cow... you mean none of those small rocks are 3d? I could have SWORN when I walked over em "Oh gee.. they must have raised the geometry out for those rocks to make it seem like a real rocky road"... that is one insane effect those parallax maps can do.

Jonelo
10-27-07, 03:34 PM
XP very high settings bech

benchmark:
http://pix.nofrag.com/9/e/4/3a95a90bee6684b87ccb3cd788db1.jpg
http://pix.nofrag.com/e/b/8/43b9352af4fa2acdd571251fe45dc.jpg

Entre le VeryHigh, et le High, il y a des hauts et des bas. Explication:
- Le VeryHigh c'est beau, y'a de superbes effets neskgen rigolol, mais la lumière à travers les arbres et les bumps en plus donnent une impression de contraste très élevé... On a vraiment la sensation d'avoir besoin de AA en VeryHigh. Sans compter la chute de FPS qui se limite à 15 de moyenne.
- Le High, c'est beau, y'a plus l'effet de lumière qui passe à travers les arbres, et il manquera quelques cailloux en mode super-bump (faut encore les chercher hein). Mais vous doublez vos FPS, et le AA en off ne vous gênera moins. Même avec ma 8800u, je reste en high (Sauf pour épater les amis).

Conclusion: Pour ce qui sont resté sur XP. Et bien vous n'avez vraiment RIEN perdu. Comme tout le monde s'en doutait, le directX10 (compatible uniquement sous Vista) n'est en fait qu'une pathétique tentative commerciale. Et on en a la preuve sous nos yeux. Il faut savoir quand même une chose, c'est que certains effets ne sont pas activé en DX9 (le soft particles et la geometry instancing (voir le blog de __MaX__ (http://blogs.nofrag.com/__MaX__/#article32011) pour de meilleurs explications)). En gros, en passant à Vista, vous avez accès à des effets bull****s invisible.

http://pix.nofrag.com/b/f/b/ad6b6c97ac832edd52541c5528690.jpg I believe that he does not need translation ;)

aceflier
10-27-07, 04:07 PM
How many hours was that again nvidia spent with crytek forming that master scheme of seduction again w/8800.

Seeing a pattern here?

far cry 5900ultra=slow dx9
far cry 6800ultra=runs ok 40-50fps all maxed
far cry 8800gtx=pwns
crysis 8800gtx=slow dx10
crysis 9800gtx=runs ok 40-50fps all maxed
crysis x800gtx=pwns


How many thousands of dollars is that from each of us? ;)

Either way best looking Pc game ever.

0ther than indoor maping the editor is pretty good.

jeffmd
10-27-07, 06:26 PM
whats that? people say the more eye candy, the slower it is? thats unpossible!

Jonelo
10-27-07, 07:47 PM
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b204/Unreal_MOD/800.gif

ASUSEN7900GTX
10-28-07, 03:41 AM
Jonelo i can´t get those veryhigh cfg files to work that is i can still not choose veryhigh although i put the files in the rigt folder replacing originals but is it because my game is installed in english and the files are french/spanish?

Jonelo
10-28-07, 03:51 AM
You cannot choose Very high, because High is very High;). Only is a replacement of the settings of high by very high, can make it you same in this folder ;) . Pure and easy copy paste ;)

ASUSEN7900GTX
10-28-07, 03:59 AM
aha i see thx now i needn´t worry about it just play and make it look sweeet:)

SeriTonin
10-28-07, 11:19 AM
Looks nice, but it kills my frames.

ASUSEN7900GTX
10-28-07, 11:27 AM
well played it with the very high stuff AA16XQ in game settings and i got a decent 13-17fps not stuttering or so pretty flow but of course every game runing stable 30-40fps is better