PDA

View Full Version : Best board for x6800


24inchGamer
10-27-07, 02:57 PM
Best board for Intel X6800

also supporting ddr 1066 and sli.

Best money can buy?

Best budget?

mythy
10-27-07, 05:22 PM
Theres no better board in the 680i line up. You have 2 chip versions (680i, 680i LT)

The LT stands for "lite" and was a better value at one point upon release but now thats no longer true. Some features they striped are dual lan, on off reset mobo switches, debug led ect.


There are a bunch of DIFFERENT revisions as well in the 680i line up. Evga has at least 4! The latest is the "A1" revision and it was meant to resolve Quad Core overclocking and from what I hear it works great with the newer kent's ;) Your best bet for SLI is to wait for 780i to be released and then hope that 680i drops in price. 780i is just a 680i chipset with a add on bridge chip so don't bother with it.

Your only real option: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188013
Your Risky better Bios option: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813127020


The EVGA is the latest mature revision, the Abit has more features and has digital PWM circuits but its bios are still to fresh and you will need to update them often until Abit works out the bugs (They always do)

24inchGamer
10-27-07, 05:55 PM
Theres no better board in the 680i line up. You have 2 chip versions (680i, 680i LT)

The LT stands for "lite" and was a better value at one point upon release but now thats no longer true. Some features they striped are dual lan, on off reset mobo switches, debug led ect.


There are a bunch of DIFFERENT revisions as well in the 680i line up. Evga has at least 4! The latest is the "A1" revision and it was meant to resolve Quad Core overclocking and from what I hear it works great with the newer kent's ;) Your best bet for SLI is to wait for 780i to be released and then hope that 680i drops in price. 780i is just a 680i chipset with a add on bridge chip so don't bother with it.

Your only real option: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188013
Your Risky better Bios option: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813127020


The EVGA is the latest mature revision, the Abit has more features and has digital PWM circuits but its bios are still to fresh and you will need to update them often until Abit works out the bugs (They always do)
ok thanks man, so for sli and stability at this point in time, this is the best board to get?
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=491417

mythy
10-27-07, 06:19 PM
For right now yea. 680i was not widely adopted by manufactures like Intels P35 chip set. Most decided to use Nvidias reference design so there all the same. Some "like that evga" just have less bugs then the others ;)

24inchGamer
10-27-07, 06:23 PM
For right now yea. 680i was not widely adopted by manufactures like Intels P35 chip set. Most decided to use Nvidias reference design so there all the same. Some "like that evga" just have less bugs then the others ;)
ok, well all i want is the best board for my memory (will the board support my 1066) my cpu and run sli. so if this is the one to get then get it I will

mythy
10-27-07, 06:25 PM
Yea its every thing you want ;) Also it should set your memory for you this time :p

24inchGamer
10-27-07, 06:30 PM
Yea its every thing you want ;) Also it should set your memory for you this time :p
great, ill give it a whirl. Ive just read that without changing anything else I can set my cpu fsb to 300mhz and ill get 3.3ghz. Any ideas where I can change this from those screens i posted? :S

mythy
10-27-07, 07:06 PM
Your CPU is unlocked so yea you can just increase the CPU speed without effecting the memory but... Your CPU is fast enough and at its thermal limits. I do hope you have good cooling ;)