PDA

View Full Version : Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^


Pages : [1] 2 3

kam03
10-27-07, 05:12 PM
DX9

http://aycu14.webshots.com/image/31773/2002092335843049318_rs.jpg


DX10

http://aycu27.webshots.com/image/30866/2002050557609863110_rs.jpg

Jonelo
10-27-07, 05:20 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1427384&postcount=15

Nothing diference , your have sunshafts,volumetric light and paralax with oclusion mapping in DX 9 /XP ;)

Luchou
10-27-07, 05:21 PM
Not worth the performance drop (10 fps less) and the only difference I can see on that pic is the sun.

XP and DX9 for me, thanks ;)

Luchou
10-27-07, 05:25 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1427384&postcount=15

Nothing diference , your have sunshafts,volumetric light and paralax with oclusion mapping in DX 9 /XP ;)

Wow, I changed my mind, lol...

testing it now

Obie
10-27-07, 05:25 PM
If the OP was being sarcastic :afro2: I would agree with the sarcasm but if you put each photo into a tab (using FF or IE) you would clearly see very little difference. So, the question remains are we to formulate an opinion "in game" or are we to just use pics? Pics never give an accurate gauge of in game immersion. That's why pics shouldn't be used to point out in game immersion. In other words, it's what's obvious "in game" that stands out most, not some pic comparison.

kam03
10-27-07, 05:25 PM
Not worth the performance drop (10 fps less) and the only difference I can see on that pic is the sun.

XP and DX9 for me, thanks ;)

Look at the right side on the other island, you will notice more trees, bushes etc.

TyroPyro
10-27-07, 05:33 PM
Some more comparison shots (no extra configs, just in game menu settings)
http://webpages.charter.net/bliss/

Gaco
10-27-07, 05:36 PM
DX10 is a lot prettier no doubt, but it's just unplayable unfortunately.

In time I'm sure that that frenchmans way of working DX10 effects into DX9 will be explored fully and we'll see whether you'll get ALL the DX10 effects over when you do that trick or whether you'll still miss something. But from the look of it atm it looks pretty emberrasing for Microsoft and Crytek.

Some more comparison shots (no extra configs, just in game menu settings)
http://webpages.charter.net/bliss/
Nice :)

Mike89
10-27-07, 06:15 PM
DX10 is a lot prettier no doubt, but it's just unplayable unfortunately.

I just don't agree that it's a lot prettier. There are some differences but for me it's quite a stretch to turn any differences to "A LOT PRETTIER". Most people playing these game wouldn't be able to tell the difference unless they had two computers side by side and were staring at screenshots. Sometimes when I see DX9 vs DX10 shots, I actually like the DX9 better.

Gaco
10-27-07, 06:25 PM
I just don't agree that it's a lot prettier. There are some differences but for me it's quite a stretch to turn any differences to "A LOT PRETTIER". Most people playing these game wouldn't be able to tell the difference unless they had two computers side by side and were staring at screenshots. Sometimes when I see DX9 vs DX10 shots, I actually like the DX9 better.
I have just tested DX9 vs. DX10 in a the part of the level where the sun rises and the difference is not just "a lot prettier" another, it's huge IMO in this particular space. Especially the difference between high and very high on shaders and post processing is great here. My opinion stands.

svetli_pp
10-27-07, 06:26 PM
I've played both DX9 and DX10 in Vista64 and for me the difference is pretty noticable. I prefer DX10 the lighting is very pleasant for me its important. I run it 1280x800 noaa noaf everything on high and its no short of amazing. It is quite smooth at that settings also.

JasonPC
10-27-07, 06:31 PM
I think right now (at least on current gen cards) you just have to pick and choose which "VERY HIGH" settings you want. Like for me the game is very playable with very high textures and shaders. You just can't go very high across the board. I was playing the game in DX9 and DX10 and even on the same shadow settings (high), for whatever reason the shadows looked much better in dx10 for me. Way less grainy, I guess it could have something to do with the fact I had shaders set to very high in dx10?

jeffmd
10-27-07, 07:19 PM
Not worth the performance drop (10 fps less)


no ones asking if its worth the performance drop

K007
10-27-07, 07:28 PM
No difference. You can do this in DX9.

Riplayne
10-27-07, 07:35 PM
How do I enable Dx10 in the demo, I see no option for it?

Gaco
10-27-07, 07:36 PM
No difference
Not true.
You can do this in DX9.
Perhaps. Time will tell.

Nkd
10-27-07, 07:46 PM
yea its different, microsoft has said it themselves that dx10 wont look a whole lot better than dx10 but it will allow the game developers to optimize the game better, but so far lost planet is the only game that runs faster udner dx10 for me than dx9. all other games are slower, bioshock is pretty close. dx10 is suppose to give you better optimization and better performance while maintaining the beautiful looks. but so far most developers have failed.

jeffmd
10-27-07, 08:19 PM
I think developers are just using dx10 to make more detailed shaders rather then using it to optimise old ones.

jAkUp
10-27-07, 08:37 PM
The difference is huge. Even without comparing side by side just the overall lighting and especially the waves look much better.

jAkUp
10-27-07, 08:38 PM
No difference. You can do this in DX9.

There is absolutely no way of knowing that unless you were on the Crytek development team.

None of us know the length of the shaders, and way they implemented particular effects.

SH64
10-27-07, 08:58 PM
How do I enable Dx10 in the demo, I see no option for it?
Very High = DX10 .. you need to be in Vista.

JohnDio
10-27-07, 08:59 PM
Actually with some tweaks you can enable Parallax Occlusion Mapping, sunshafts and more DX10 effects in the DX9 ;). Also you can push more the LOD via the .cfg files :D :D

Jonelo
10-27-07, 09:07 PM
Win XP with very high settings , in one 1900 xt


http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b204/Unreal_MOD/800.gif

Win XP with very high settings , maybe sure ALL DX 10 setting , in one 8800 ultra

http://pix.nofrag.com/4/4/e/37f6e08deff647fbb4e7027b07d44.jpg
http://pix.nofrag.com/c/d/3/bf41854e5c3eb7ea4c2460305cc74.jpg
-
http://pix.nofrag.com/5/c/2/27b39f5211ff301580b8218d401e9.jpg
http://pix.nofrag.com/d/a/4/7b7a2813b5d925b3d3dbefb9877fd.jpg

K007
10-27-07, 09:35 PM
Not true.

Perhaps. Time will tell.

From the shot he showed, with the cfg edits, you can do them in DX9 as well. I got them to work as well..ran like 5-10fps tho but it can be enabled.

I assume stuff like the wind effecting smoke / better water effects are DX10 only, but most of the other stuff can be enabled...the question is...why does it have to be run through the cfg to enable in DX9...

SeriTonin
10-27-07, 09:36 PM
Win XP with very high settings , in one 1900 xt


http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b204/Unreal_MOD/800.gif

Win XP with very high settings , maybe sure ALL DX 10 setting , in one 8800 ultra

http://pix.nofrag.com/4/4/e/37f6e08deff647fbb4e7027b07d44.jpg
http://pix.nofrag.com/c/d/3/bf41854e5c3eb7ea4c2460305cc74.jpg
-
http://pix.nofrag.com/5/c/2/27b39f5211ff301580b8218d401e9.jpg
http://pix.nofrag.com/d/a/4/7b7a2813b5d925b3d3dbefb9877fd.jpg



There is absolutely no way of knowing that unless you were on the Crytek development team.

None of us know the length of the shaders, and way they implemented particular effects.



Pnwd (aaa)