PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Demo Performance Analysis


AthlonXP1800
10-27-07, 08:59 PM
TweakTown has Crysis Demo Performance Analysis article, it got Geforce 8800GT in benchmarks, it on par with Geforce 8800GTX at all resolutions.

Test setup:

Processor(s): Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3GHz (333MHz x 9)
Cooling: Corsair Nautilus500 (Supplied by Corsair) with Arctic Cooling MX-2 Thermal Compound (Supplied by Arctic Cooling)
Motherboard(s): ASUS Blitz Extreme (Supplied by ASUS)
Memory: 2 X 1GB Corsair XMS3 DDR-3 1066MHz 7-7-7-21 (Supplied by Corsair)
Hard Disk(s): Hitachi 80GB 7200RPM SATA-2
Operating System: Windows XP Professional SP2
Drivers: Catalyst 7.10 and Forceware 169.01

http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/1211/1/page_1_introduction_and_test_setup/index.html

SeriTonin
10-27-07, 09:38 PM
Thanks for the link.

Preparat
10-28-07, 01:22 AM
That 8800GT is overclocked btw

AthlonXP1800
10-28-07, 01:51 AM
That 8800GT is overclocked btw

No MSI 8800GT 512MB is not overclocked, it used reference 600MHz core, 1800MHz memory and 1500MHz shader clock speed but others were overclocked.

MSI 8800GT 512MB 600/1800/1500
XFX 8800GTS XXX 320MB 580/1800/1500
BFG Tech 8800GTX OC2 768MB 626/2000/1450
XFX 8800 Ultra XXX 768MB 675/2300/1667

Uberpwnage
10-28-07, 02:36 AM
If the GTX was overclocked, then the GT would basically be the same as a stock GTX.

Preparat
10-28-07, 04:37 AM
No MSI 8800GT 512MB is not overclocked, it used reference 600MHz core, 1800MHz memory and 1500MHz shader clock speed but others were overclocked.

MSI 8800GT 512MB 600/1800/1500
XFX 8800GTS XXX 320MB 580/1800/1500
BFG Tech 8800GTX OC2 768MB 626/2000/1450
XFX 8800 Ultra XXX 768MB 675/2300/1667

where does it say that?

Their MSI 8800GT review says the card is factory overclocked

am i missing something?

EDIT: http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1210/msi_geforce_nx8800gt_512mb_graphics_card/index.html

AthlonXP1800
10-28-07, 09:12 AM
where does it say that?

Their MSI 8800GT review says the card is factory overclocked

am i missing something?

EDIT: http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1210/msi_geforce_nx8800gt_512mb_graphics_card/index.html

No they overclocked it to 670MHz core and 1900MHz memory for the review, when they received the card on Monday it was factory clocked 600MHz core and 1800MHz memory.

http://www.tweaktown.com/news/8399/index.html

Wish the author made it very clear about all cards clock speed used in the review.

Preparat
10-28-07, 11:28 AM
No they overclocked it to 670MHz core and 1900MHz memory for the review, when they received the card on Monday it was factory clocked 600MHz core and 1800MHz memory.

http://www.tweaktown.com/news/8399/index.html

Wish the author made it very clear about all cards clock speed used in the review.

Did you read the review at all or just stared at the graphs?
This is what their own review of the card Published on 27th October 2007 says:

The top of the card has the NVIDIA GeForce logo along with the PureVideo HD logo. Across the top we can also see a sticker that shows us that this particular model is overclocked.

There are two models coming out, the 512MB one we have here today and a 256MB model, both of which carry GDDR3 memory. The standard clocks come in at 600MHz on the GPU and 1800MHz DDR on the GDDR3. MSI have decided to mix it up a bit; the core gets a 10% increase to 660MHz while the memory gets bumped to 1900MHz DDR.

And they managed to oc it to 680/2010Mhz:
With that said though, the card is already overclocked so we didn’t expect too much more. We managed to hit 680MHz on the core which is 80MHz from default but only 20MHz up from the MSI pre overclock. The memory also managed to jump just over 100MHz DDR to 2010MHz DDR. We did a quick 3DMark06 run at default which resulted in only another 350 marks.

AthlonXP1800
10-28-07, 07:56 PM
The TweakTown MSI 8800GT review took forever to load and still not displayed. The last time I read the review, I did not find 680MHz you mentioned in the review, the pages loaded with Java errors not displayed.

Well we have to wait and see tomorrow when MSI put the product on their website to find out exactly what core and memory clock speed the card will shipping in.

I suspect that the author probably installed MSI driver or software that automatically overclocked the card but however every sources I find confirmed that MSI 8800GT's factory reference clock speed 600MHz core and 1800MHz memory.

* 600MHz core clock
* 900Mhz memory clock (1.8GHz effective)
* 112 stream processors
* 1.5GHz shader clock
* 256-bit memory interface

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=162967
http://www.tweaktown.com/news/8399/index.html

Preparat
10-28-07, 09:11 PM
The TweakTown MSI 8800GT review took forever to load and still not displayed. The last time I read the review, I did not find 680MHz you mentioned in the review, the pages loaded with Java errors not displayed.

Well we have to wait and see tomorrow when MSI put the product on their website to find out exactly what core and memory clock speed the card will shipping in.

I suspect that the author probably installed MSI driver or software that automatically overclocked the card but however every sources I find confirmed that MSI 8800GT's factory reference clock speed 600MHz core and 1800MHz memory.

* 600MHz core clock
* 900Mhz memory clock (1.8GHz effective)
* 112 stream processors
* 1.5GHz shader clock
* 256-bit memory interface

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=162967
http://www.tweaktown.com/news/8399/index.html


dude seriously
The card WAS overclocked when testing Crysis

Its an OC edition

The quotes in my above post are from the damn tweaktown review that was published AFTER the tweaktown news article you keep posting links to.
The MSI card is also overclocked in the vr-zone review that YOU posted a link to.
Are you slow or something?

AthlonXP1800
10-29-07, 01:41 AM
Are you slow or something?

I thought Tweaktown site was very slow but when I visited VR-Zone site and it was still same very slow with missing texts and pictures, I realised it was my cable modem problem. Accorded to the cable modem's status, the downstreaming power level was very low at -4dB, I will call in later today ask to send a engineer to retune my cable modem to the correct level.

Mr_LoL
10-29-07, 01:59 AM
I thought Tweaktown site was very slow but when I visited VR-Zone site and it was still same very slow with missing texts and pictures, I realised it was my cable modem problem. Accorded to the cable modem's status, the downstreaming power level was very low at -4dB, I will call in later today ask to send a engineer to retune my cable modem to the correct level.
(omg) :o

shteve
10-29-07, 10:14 AM
I feel the need to point out that Mr AthlonXP1800 in no way reflects the intelligence level of the population of the UK. Every time I see his name next to a post I cringe in anticipation of the inanity there encapsulated.

sillyeagle
10-29-07, 02:43 PM
I thought Tweaktown site was very slow but when I visited VR-Zone site and it was still same very slow with missing texts and pictures, I realised it was my cable modem problem. Accorded to the cable modem's status, the downstreaming power level was very low at -4dB, I will call in later today ask to send a engineer to retune my cable modem to the correct level.

What are you talking about? He asked if you were slow, not if your connection was slow. Secondly a -4 downstream is not out of spec, and I have never seen a provider that considers it out of spec. Thirdly they are not going to send an engineer to retune your modem. You don't retune modems to fix RF levels, and engineers are not field techs.

Mr_LoL
10-29-07, 02:47 PM
I feel the need to point out that Mr AthlonXP1800 in no way reflects the intelligence level of the population of the UK. Every time I see his name next to a post I cringe in anticipation of the inanity there encapsulated.
I think he has some genuine difficulties so I am not going to laugh.

AthlonXP1800
10-29-07, 09:14 PM
What are you talking about? He asked if you were slow, not if your connection was slow. Secondly a -4 downstream is not out of spec, and I have never seen a provider that considers it out of spec. Thirdly they are not going to send an engineer to retune your modem. You don't retune modems to fix RF levels, and engineers are not field techs.

Are you work for Virgin Media? Dont be stupid, you cant working fast if your connection was slow to a halt.

You got that all wrong, a Virgin Media engineer was send in the summer when Internet was down for 2 days, he put cable modem signal status page in my IE Favourite and explained to me what to look for when the cable modem experience signal problem next time, the Internet should work fine when the downstreaming power level is no less than -12dB and upstreaming power level is no more than -47dB and he went outside my house, walked yards away to the Virgin Media cable box that distribute digital TV and Internet networking in my area and retuned my LAN signal to the correct power level then he came back a few minutes later to checked my cable modem signal status, it all returned to normal -12dB downstreaming and -47dB upstreaming power level.

I called Virgin Media yesterday morning about the signal power problem, they arranged to sent a engineer to retune my cable modem signal on Thursday.

maikel33016
10-29-07, 09:49 PM
do you guys thinck the with 2 EVGA 8600GTS 512MB I will be able to play Crysis at full