PDA

View Full Version : Xbox 360 update question......


LabShark
10-27-07, 09:08 PM
I want to update my 360 - but I do not have the broadband adapter for it. I have broadband on my PC to get the update from Microsoft and then burn a CD.

Will this work OK and will I be getting the latest updates?

Here is a link that I came across:

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/systemuse/xbox360/console/systemupdates.htm

I want to make sure everything is up to date so I can utilize the HD-DVD player most effectively. I read where "Transformers" runs better after the updates.

Thanks!

Zelda_fan
10-27-07, 10:36 PM
You don't need a "broadband adapter" to update your 360. You simply plug in the Ethernet cable into the back of the 360 and bam it's connected.

LycosV
10-28-07, 01:20 AM
Zelda_fan is correct, if you have broadband on your PC you should be able to use your X-Box on it as well. Just unplug the eternet cord from your PC and hook it to your 360.

The update CD method you linked to above is an alternative, but they're generally a little behind on their updates vs getting them straight from X-Box Live.

LabShark
10-28-07, 09:20 AM
I have a wireless network.....so I'm guessing I need the wireless adapter.

Also - are the updates free or do I need a Live subscription?

Starscream
10-28-07, 09:57 AM
They are free.

S.I.N
10-28-07, 12:21 PM
Your router or modem doesn't has a ethernet port at all?

ViN86
10-28-07, 01:43 PM
you could bridge your ethernet to your wireless on your PC. that's how i get wireless with my 360 at home, hehe.

LycosV
10-28-07, 02:11 PM
If you've got wireless you should have a wireless router somewhere. There should be ethernet plugs on that.

LabShark
10-28-07, 05:42 PM
Yeah - Cat 5 jacks are on the router......just don't have any Cat 5 laying around. Did the CD thing and it loaded updates into the 360. How new they are is anybody's guess.

LycosV
10-28-07, 06:00 PM
Yeah - Cat 5 jacks are on the router......just don't have any Cat 5 laying around. Did the CD thing and it loaded updates into the 360. How new they are is anybody's guess.

Based on the filename it looks like an update from May. They've released an update since then on Live but I think all it did was add support for that dumb big button controller for quiz games.

Lyme
10-28-07, 06:28 PM
Yeah - Cat 5 jacks are on the router......just don't have any Cat 5 laying around. Did the CD thing and it loaded updates into the 360. How new they are is anybody's guess.

It is probably worth your while to simply pickup a cat5 cable, even if it is for every once and a while. Some games have been updated, and they only update right before you play it, and not with the dashboard/os updates.

LabShark
10-28-07, 08:06 PM
Thanks for the help guys. I updated it via the burned CD method for now. Checked out King Kong on HD-DVD and all seems well.

I'll check into the wireless deal or a Cat 5 cable.

Do I have to subscribe to Live to get the free updates?

Lyme
10-28-07, 08:08 PM
Do I have to subscribe to Live to get the free updates?

Yes, but you only need the FREE SILVER subscription.

NaitoSan
10-28-07, 08:31 PM
doesn't 360 come with cat5 cable? or you threw it away? :P

crainger
10-28-07, 09:02 PM
doesn't 360 come with cat5 cable? or you threw it away? :P

It's not long enough.

LabShark
10-29-07, 08:25 AM
Yup....