PDA

View Full Version : What OS are you using for gaming?


Pages : [1] 2 3

Vanzagar
10-27-07, 10:07 PM
Now that Vista's been out for almost a year, I'm wondering what the majority of gamers are using now? Gone back to XP or is Vista pwning?

If you're not on Vista 64 would you please tell us why? Curious as to whether it's a money/upgrade issue or something else...

Heard SP1 for Vista is going into Beta testing and should be out fairly soon...

-V-

nekrosoft13
10-27-07, 10:11 PM
64bit vista

Vanzagar
10-27-07, 10:12 PM
I use Windows 32bit, just cause I'm too cheap to upgrade for now... but in a couple months will upgrade to some form of Vista (thinking 64bit and 4gb ram)...

May depend on what this poll reveals I guess... the added FPS and minimal difference in visible graphic quality make XP still look pretty attractive...

SH64
10-27-07, 10:27 PM
Dual Booting ftw!

Amuro
10-27-07, 10:31 PM
Vista x64 for games that support DX10, and XP SP2 for the rest.

CaptNKILL
10-27-07, 10:32 PM
64bit vista
Same here.

I dual boot but I never use XP 32bit. Its just sort of there as an emergency backup.

Eliminator
10-27-07, 10:54 PM
Vista x64 for games that support DX10, and XP SP2 for the rest.
same here

NaitoSan
10-27-07, 10:57 PM
64bit here.

Uberpwnage
10-27-07, 11:15 PM
64 bit Vista except for Crysis.

Rakeesh
10-27-07, 11:44 PM
I dual boot xp pro 32-bit and vista ultimate 64-bit.

Saintster
10-28-07, 12:11 AM
32 bit xp and I'm not going to change until it's phased out.

XxDeadlyxX
10-28-07, 12:19 AM
64-bit Vista.

wrathofgod
10-28-07, 12:21 AM
Dual Booting ftw!

Same here...XP & Vista Ultimate

nrdstrm
10-28-07, 12:28 AM
32 Bit Vista 99.9 % of the time...Occasionally, I have to boot XP to load an old program, but it is rare...

a12ctic
10-28-07, 12:34 AM
I exclusively use arch and ubuntu for gaming.

SH64
10-28-07, 12:47 AM
For those using 64-Bit OS's , do they extra RAM doing anything for the newly released games/demos ?

crainger
10-28-07, 01:02 AM
For those using 64-Bit OS's , do they extra RAM doing anything for the newly released games/demos ?

I'm about to find out. I'm ordering another 2 sticks for Corsair 6400. :)

K007
10-28-07, 01:23 AM
Got no choice here..has to be XP. Since i use a GX2 and i need SLI working at peak levels..i have to go with XP..Vista last time i tried..ran everything like ass..SLI may work but the performance was pretty bad..ill wait till SP1/GF9 before i move to Vista..and i aint going the SLI path again -.-....though even with the SLI hassels (which are minor..but too big in Vista)..its still does pretty dam good job of all the games out atm..only game that suffers heavy is Crysis..but i can play 1280x960, medium everything cept water/textures on high..and it was pretty smooth.

$n][pErMan
10-28-07, 01:54 AM
32-Bit Vista.... will try 64-Bit someday when the bugs are fixed and it has more driver support :)

stefan9
10-28-07, 02:33 AM
Vista home premium 32 bit

Mr_LoL
10-28-07, 02:37 AM
Windows XP service pack 2. Vista pisses me off majorly as Pro Evo 6 and Tiger Woods 97 don't run.

jAkUp
10-28-07, 02:45 AM
Vista 64 Ultimate

nekrosoft13
10-28-07, 03:05 AM
For those using 64-Bit OS's , do they extra RAM doing anything for the newly released games/demos ?


crysis is ram hungry ;)

shrapnel
10-28-07, 04:38 AM
May depend on what this poll reveals I guess... the added FPS and minimal difference in visible graphic quality make XP still look pretty attractive...
You can say that again !!
I read in a computer magazine that one should wait till DirectX 10.1 is released ( and DirectX 10.1 gfx cards) to upgrade to Vista, as Direct X 10 is simply NOT optimized for gaming.... it was simply meant for Vista and the beautiful (but useless) Aero Interface !
Since I'm primarily a gamer, I will wait for DirectX 10.1 ready Gfx cards b4 I even think of upgrading to Vista.
XP 32 bit suits me just fine and I've yet to see a valid reason (not even Crysis!) to upgrade to Vista.
Playing Crysis and getting 15-20 fps just for the sake of seeing a few Volumetric clouds and slightly better lighting isn't my idea of fun gaming:rolleyes:
So, for now Win XP 32 bit RULEZ:)
For those using 64-Bit OS's , do they extra RAM doing anything for the newly released games/demos ?
In short, NO ! If you read the Crysis Demo feedback threads, you will see many posts by gamers with 4GB RAM who are reporting very poor performance.

Gaco
10-28-07, 05:04 AM
64bit vista.. I'm thinking about adoping XP64 for dualboot just for Crysis if performance doesn't improve before launch or more importantly the mouselag doesn't go away from DX10 mode. Would anyone here suggest doing this?