PDA

View Full Version : 4Gb PC6400 vs. 2Gb PC8500


Pages : [1] 2 3

CaptNKILL
10-27-07, 10:52 PM
Ok, I bought 2Gb of OCZ SLI PC-8500 a few months ago when I put together my Core 2 setup, thinking that i'd need it to do any overclocking.

Well, it turns out that these core 2s seem to run perfectly fine with memory dividers (my athlon X2 and nforce 4 system was unstable with memory dividers other than 1:1).

Extra memory performance does pretty much nothing at all in 99% of cases, but games are starting to require quite a bit of memory.

Right now, if I were to sell my current RAM on ebay I could easily get $125-$150 for it (which is MORE than what I payed for it a few months ago). More importantly, I could get 4Gb of DDR2 800 for around $110\$120.

What do you guys think?

Would it be worth it? With games like The Witcher and Crysis coming out soon, I think it might make sense to have more than 2Gb. I know the extra memory speed is doing practically nothing.

I have Vista x64 too, so I should be able to just drop the memory right in and go.

Absolution
10-28-07, 12:32 AM
memory speed? blah

crainger
10-28-07, 12:36 AM
I'm about to go 4gb of 6400 myself. :D 4x1gb sticks. Hope my 650i can handle it. Other wise I'll have to nab a P35 I think. Or just go for 2x2gb :o

ATOJAR
10-28-07, 01:20 AM
I just upgraded to another 2GB myself .... got quite a nice boost, very pleased.

Kain
10-28-07, 06:49 AM
4GB FTW. :)

CaptNKILL
10-29-07, 04:01 PM
Well I guess I can throw this idea out the window.

I just checked my BIOS and the lowest speed I can select for memory is 2x the FSB. There is no 1:1 on these core 2 systems apparently.

At 450Mhz FSB, the lowest memory speed I can run at is 900Mhz.

I guess it sort of invalidates this poll. 400Mhz FSB is definitely not enough for overclocking.

EDIT: Duh... I'm an idiot. 2xFSB = DDR. That would explain it. :retard: :p

SH64
10-29-07, 05:15 PM
4gb

CaptNKILL
10-29-07, 05:21 PM
4gb
See my latest post.

I just realized PC-6400 isn't fast enough for overclocking.

:(

LORD-eX-Bu
10-29-07, 05:54 PM
you can't oc with your pc2-6400? what brand is it again? its not some value select bargain bin trash right?

SH64
10-29-07, 07:15 PM
See my latest post.

I just realized PC-6400 isn't fast enough for overclocking.

:(
4gb

CaptNKILL
10-29-07, 08:57 PM
you can't oc with your pc2-6400? what brand is it again? its not some value select bargain bin trash right?
Huh? :p

I have PC2-8500.

If I want to run my FSB at 450 or 500 or more the ram would have to be capable of doing that. I'm not sure DDR2 800 would be up to the task. At least, not any that is cheap enough to buy over 1066.

Besides, overclocking memory is the worst thing you can do. No performance increase and a good chance of corrupting important files. No thanks. :o

LORD-eX-Bu
10-29-07, 09:01 PM
meh I've been doing it for a bit, haven't lost any files but you are definately right about no performance increase. I just dropped mines down to 800 and left the timings at 5-5-5-15.

Your memory should be fine for overclocking, you should give it a shot.

CaptNKILL
10-29-07, 09:07 PM
meh I've been doing it for a bit, haven't lost any files but you are definately right about no performance increase. I just dropped mines down to 800 and left the timings at 5-5-5-15.

Your memory should be fine for overclocking, you should give it a shot.
There isn't any point in overclocking my memory. I have it underclocked right now (check my sig).

But anyway, I made the thread to discuss the pros and cons of getting 4gb of 800Mhz memory over 2gb of 1066Mhz memory. I didn't realize until today that 800Mhz memory wouldn't offer me enough overclocking head room (especially with a Q9450 which would probably hit 500fsb), so the 4gb of 800Mhz memory option is out of the question for me.

I was only considering it because it'd be a free upgrade. Since it won't work for me, it doesn't really matter.

Sorry I wasted everyone's time. :p

LORD-eX-Bu
10-29-07, 09:09 PM
free upgrade?

CaptNKILL
10-29-07, 09:12 PM
free upgrade?
I take it you didn't read the thread. :lol:

einstein_314
10-29-07, 10:07 PM
4Gb!!!! Do it!!


:D just kidding. I did actually read the thread :p

LORD-eX-Bu
10-29-07, 10:19 PM
I take it you didn't read the thread. :lol:

:lol:

I read it, I just didn't pay attention too much I guess :lol:

somehow I got confused with one of crainger's posts thinking that you already had PC2-6400 :lol:

it all depends how high you want to push the fsb, you definately wouldn't be able to push 500 mhz fsb on modules like those but if you stuck around 400-450 I think you'd have a pretty good chance.

CaptNKILL
10-29-07, 10:23 PM
:lol:

I read it, I just didn't pay attention too much I guess :lol:

somehow I got confused with one of crainger's posts thinking that you already had PC2-6400 :lol:

it all depends how high you want to push the fsb, you definately wouldn't be able to push 500 mhz fsb on modules like those but if you stuck around 400-450 I think you'd have a pretty good chance.
As much as I want to go for 4Gb, I think I'll just stick it out and wait for the prices to come down on DDR2 1066.

I don't really even need this OCZ stuff since I don't overclock my memory (it was the cheapest I could find at the time). If I could get 2 cheaper 1066 kits for around $140 and sell this for $120 I'd be happy.

LORD-eX-Bu
10-29-07, 10:26 PM
when DDR3 matures a bit more I plan on getting 4gb probably from OCZ, their FLexLC modules with the water cooling heatspreader :lol:

ready to drop a grand just on memory when it actually makes a difference :rofl

CaptNKILL
10-29-07, 10:37 PM
when DDR3 matures a bit more I plan on getting 4gb probably from OCZ, their FLexLC modules with the water cooling heatspreader :lol:

ready to drop a grand just on memory when it actually makes a difference :rofl
:lol:

Man... high end memory is ridiculously expensive for what amounts to absolutely nothing in real world performance. :p

I don't think I've run SANDRA on this system since I put it together, so I have no idea what my memory bandwidth is... strangely that hasn't caused my PC to explode or to run slow :lol:. Its far easier and cheaper to just get decent memory that will allow your other components to do what you want them to do, rather than trying to get more memory bandwidth.

I looked at a review yesterday that showed DDR2 at 1066mhz vs 800mhz and there was only a 2fps difference in HL2 when the game was running at 175fps.

If it wasn't for overclocking, there would be no reason to have anything more than DDR2 667.

LORD-eX-Bu
10-29-07, 10:43 PM
yeah, at least until processors start coming out with 1600 mhz fsb :D

CaptNKILL
10-29-07, 10:44 PM
$671
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145171

vs
$85
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820161042

= zero performance difference unless you're actually getting your FSB to over 533Mhz with your CPU at its highest multiplier.

Can any motherboards even hit 625Mhz? :rofl

LORD-eX-Bu
10-29-07, 11:00 PM
well, this (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=163756) guy got his fsb up to 600 mhz, I've seen higher but that requires extensive mods to the mobo and rather unorthodox and extreme methods of cooling :lol:

CaptNKILL
10-29-07, 11:16 PM
well, this (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=163756) guy got his fsb up to 600 mhz, I've seen higher but that requires extensive mods to the mobo and rather unorthodox and extreme methods of cooling :lol:
"rather unorthodox"

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=28755&stc=1&d=1193717758

I like that.

:lol:

LORD-eX-Bu
10-29-07, 11:32 PM
looks like a futuristic factory or reactor of some sort :p

:D