PDA

View Full Version : ForceWare 169.04 Beta Driver Feedback


Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Eliminator
10-30-07, 10:52 AM
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winvista_x86_169.04.html Vista 32bit
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winvista_x64_169.04.html Vista 64bit

wonder if they fix Crysis... all 6,7,8 series cards supported

Buio
10-30-07, 10:59 AM
Downloading and installing as I type. Hope it resolves the problem I got with 64-bit version of Crysis.

nekrosoft13
10-30-07, 11:02 AM
nvidia went driver crazy, i like

btw, any sign of that crysis patch?

nekrosoft13
10-30-07, 11:08 AM
Several game and application compatibility fixes. Please read the release notes for more information on product support, features, driver fixes and known compatibility issues.

umm, where are the release notes?

conroejoe
10-30-07, 11:17 AM
Downloading and installing as I type. Hope it resolves the problem I got with 64-bit version of Crysis.

set single mode display and force vsync on in the nv cp. viola

Buio
10-30-07, 11:25 AM
set single mode display and force vsync on in the nv cp. viola

Negative. Updated driver fixed the problems anyway. Over and out.

I'll try them more, but seems good so far (but just a few minutes running 64-bit Crysis).

conroejoe
10-30-07, 11:45 AM
Negative. Updated driver fixed the problems anyway. Over and out.

I'll try them more, but seems good so far (but just a few minutes running 64-bit Crysis).


and the mouse lag?

degust
10-30-07, 12:12 PM
So what's new in these? Is it only a fix for 64-bit Crysis demo?

vmsein
10-30-07, 12:38 PM
Posted elsewhere:
http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/7204/sourceve7.jpg
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/7219/crysisfk2.jpg
http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/4117/3dmarkuo4.jpg

4q2
10-30-07, 12:51 PM
Wow!!!! Those graphs sure do make 1 FPS seem like a huge difference!!! ;)

nekrosoft13
10-30-07, 12:57 PM
look at crysis that a HUGE! difference ;)

[EOCF] Tim
10-30-07, 01:26 PM
64Bit works fine, doesn't have to force Vsync on now. There seems to be an improvement in quality in 64bit though, better distant textures, and (more) volumetric fog, dunno yet, seems that's causing the lower performance.

Average of 3 runs each.

Forceware 169.01
Windows Vista 64bit

1680x1050, No AA

All settings on Very High, except Shaders and Shadows, which are set to High.

Q6600 G0 : (1600)x9 : 3.6Ghz 1.5v
Corsair 2Gb : Dram 800Mhz 4-3-3-12-2T 2.1v
8800 GTX : 612 - 1500 - 2000MhzMhz

Creative X-fi, Game Mode


169.01


32Bit CPU Bench


Min : 12.69 - Max : 34.74 - Average : 27.39


32Bit GPU Bench


Min : 22.89 - Max : 39.18 - Average : 31.59


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


169.04


32Bit CPU Bench


Min : 18.19 - Max : 35.36 - Average : 28.73


32Bit GPU Bench


Min : 22.91 - Max : 39.14 - Average : 31.60


64Bit CPU Bench


Min : 14.11 - Max : 35.26 - Average : 26.36


64Bit GPU Bench


Min : 14.87 - Max : 37.90 - Average : 25.18


Additional Comment:

There is definitely an improvement in graphics in 64bit, look at the mountain, it looks seriously detailed now, in 32bit, it's a mess.

SH64
10-30-07, 01:50 PM
Wow!!!! Those graphs sure do make 1 FPS seem like a huge difference!!! ;)
LOL for real!

hell_of_doom227
10-30-07, 01:58 PM
Tim']64Bit works fine, doesn't have to force Vsync on now. There seems to be an improvement in quality in 64bit though, better distant textures, and (more) volumetric fog, dunno yet, seems that's causing the lower performance.

Average of 3 runs each.

Forceware 169.01
Windows Vista 64bit

1680x1050, No AA

All settings on Very High, except Shaders and Shadows, which are set to High.

Q6600 G0 : (1600)x9 : 3.6Ghz 1.5v
Corsair 2Gb : Dram 800Mhz 4-3-3-12-2T 2.1v
8800 GTX : 612 - 1500 - 2000MhzMhz

Creative X-fi, Game Mode


169.01


32Bit CPU Bench


Min : 12.69 - Max : 34.74 - Average : 27.39


32Bit GPU Bench


Min : 22.89 - Max : 39.18 - Average : 31.59


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


169.04


32Bit CPU Bench


Min : 18.19 - Max : 35.36 - Average : 28.73


32Bit GPU Bench


Min : 22.91 - Max : 39.14 - Average : 31.60


64Bit CPU Bench


Min : 14.11 - Max : 35.26 - Average : 26.36


64Bit GPU Bench


Min : 14.87 - Max : 37.90 - Average : 25.18


Additional Comment:

There is definitely an improvement in graphics in 64bit, look at the mountain, it looks seriously detailed now, in 32bit, it's a mess.

Running quad core 3.6Ghz with 8800card and have that bad of performance tells me how unoptimised and crappy coded Crysis is. No thanks...

DRen72
10-30-07, 02:14 PM
I appreciate the benchmarks.

I do see one thing though, and thats the minmum score on the CPU benchmark. Can GPU drivers effect that?

degust
10-30-07, 02:43 PM
Tim']There is definitely an improvement in graphics in 64bit, look at the mountain, it looks seriously detailed now, in 32bit, it's a mess.
32 bit version is still loading assets after the level start. If you wait for some time the mountain will get all the details.
64 bit version loads everything during level loading and everything is in maximum detail fro, the start.
At least that's what i've experienced.

nekrosoft13
10-30-07, 02:47 PM
Running quad core 3.6Ghz with 8800card and have that bad of performance tells me how unoptimised and crappy coded Crysis is. No thanks...

and that statement prooves how little you know.

There never have been a game this technically advance.

Lfctony
10-30-07, 02:55 PM
and that statement prooves how little you know.

There never have been a game this technically advance.

Correct. People compare this to COD4 (which also looks great) and comment on how can it run so slow... The CryEngine has to load multiple levels of geometry (all of those stuff at once) due to the open landscape. Games like Jericho and CoD4 load only tiny levels compared to that. You're practically indoors or surrounded by buildings while in small maps all the time. Also, I think Crysis looks better in High detail, and even better on very high. Crysis is so advanced for it's time, just like Farcry was when it first came out...

Dragunov
10-30-07, 02:55 PM
Is this the driver gdphk spoke about?

thx

[EOCF] Tim
10-30-07, 02:59 PM
32 bit version is still loading assets after the level start. If you wait for some time the mountain will get all the details.
64 bit version loads everything during level loading and everything is in maximum detail fro, the start.
At least that's what i've experienced.

Have you checked it? In 32Bit it most definitely not load the mountain textures in high detail. Yes you get the behaviour what you mentioned, but it stays bad. 64bit is completely different.

Dragunov
10-30-07, 03:03 PM
International version:

http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/winvista_x86_169.04_uk.html

Legend
10-30-07, 03:16 PM
Running quad core 3.6Ghz with 8800card and have that bad of performance tells me how unoptimised and crappy coded Crysis is. No thanks...



You can get much better performance than what he is getting if you dont go so freakin crazy with the settings. Waves and Textures and sound are the only 3 options that should be run at very high. Shaders should be set to High and shadows to medium.

Take a look at my thread, I am getting good performance.


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=101172

Legend
10-30-07, 03:17 PM
32 bit version is still loading assets after the level start. If you wait for some time the mountain will get all the details.
64 bit version loads everything during level loading and everything is in maximum detail fro, the start.
At least that's what i've experienced.


Thats true but the textures on the distant mountains still look better than they do in 32bit even when all the textures have loaded.

Farcry 64bit had this same advantage.

[EOCF] Tim
10-30-07, 03:21 PM
You can get much better performance than what he is getting if you dont go so freakin crazy with the settings. Waves and Textures and sound are the only 3 options that should be run at very high. Shaders should be set to High and shadows to medium.

Take a look at my thread, I am getting good performance.


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=101172

For better performance, it's right the other way around I found, Shaders at medium, and shadows at high. Oh well.

Shaders at medium looks crap.

Legend
10-30-07, 03:29 PM
32 bit version is still loading assets after the level start. If you wait for some time the mountain will get all the details.
64 bit version loads everything during level loading and everything is in maximum detail fro, the start.
At least that's what i've experienced.


Thats true but the textures on the distant mountains still look better than they do in 32bit even when all the textures have loaded.

Farcry 64bit had this same advantage.