PDA

View Full Version : Waves on the shore ???


svetli_pp
10-31-07, 04:34 AM
I don't understand why they removed that stunning feature of waves splashing one over another on the border between the ocean and the terrain. It was so nice in FarCry, otherwise the water in Crysis is much more beautiful almost incomparable. What do you think ? I miss those gorgeous FarCry waves on the shore, or maybe there are settings that enable them.

3DBrad
10-31-07, 09:52 AM
In the editor and the game therefore, you can change the tumultuous nature of the water. :)

svetli_pp
10-31-07, 10:49 AM
That's not what I'm talking about. In FarCry there are surfs - waves on the shore that keep spilling one over another. It is a completely different effect than the surface of the ocean going up and down. I think a separate shader does the job in FarCry and it's missing here in Crysis.

Nanosuitguy
11-01-07, 12:07 AM
Know what you mean, dont know why they removed it tho...

[EOCF] Tim
11-01-07, 04:07 AM
That's not what I'm talking about. In FarCry there are surfs - waves on the shore that keep spilling one over another. It is a completely different effect than the surface of the ocean going up and down. I think a separate shader does the job in FarCry and it's missing here in Crysis.

That might just be cuz it isn't very windy, and just a very very calm sea. In the trailers (DX10 Flythrough) we have seen exactly what you said. :)

m3dude
11-01-07, 04:21 AM
the following doesnt work in dx 9, but id be curious to see someone with vista and a g80 try it. the command is e_water_waves = 1. another command to modify it is e_water_waves_tesselation_amount = x.

nayone with dx 10 and a dx10 card try it and report back

FastRedPonyCar
11-01-07, 09:52 AM
the following doesnt work in dx 9, but id be curious to see someone with vista and a g80 try it. the command is e_water_waves = 1. another command to modify it is e_water_waves_tesselation_amount = x.

nayone with dx 10 and a dx10 card try it and report back

yes it does. I've tried it in DX9.

m3dude
11-01-07, 02:28 PM
can u post a screen showing the difference with it on/off?

FastRedPonyCar
11-01-07, 02:39 PM
I'm not at home right now but all you have to change is

e_water_ocean_fft = 0 to a value of 1
e_water_waves_tesselation_amount = 10 <- very high vs "1" for low.

Ths means that even with tesselation set to 1, you're still going to get SOME waves in DX9 just not the big choppy waves. The only thing DX10 users get without having to modify a config file is higher tesselation and the FFT is set to 1 on very high settings with DX10. FFT does some sort of extra GPU wave processing.

Another variable is "e_phys_ocean_cell" high and very high get a value of 0.5. Ultra high would be 0.2 or 0.1. This determines the level of physics applied to the ocean I believe.

Either way, I've seen so many screenshots of a tweaked DX9 config game to make me blue in the face and countless threads on numerous forums completely and utterly shattering the myth that DX10 somehow has some sort of hidden features that are completely inaccessible to DX9. DX9 can do EVERYTHING (in crysis) that DX10 can do. You just have to change config values.

m3dude
11-01-07, 02:51 PM
no thats not what im referring to. this is a separate water feature and doesnt work under dx 9 for me. the game wont accept any value for e_water_waves other than 0.

FastRedPonyCar
11-01-07, 03:19 PM
My game has a shader of sorts that is the seafoam you typically see when the wave has come and is going or something like that.

I haven't seen any video or screen shots DX9 or 10 showing actual waves crashing onto the shore.

SeriTonin
11-01-07, 03:22 PM
I know what your talking about, it was in a few videos.

I don't understand why they got rid of it, but then again, the game, to me, seemed so much better when it was all videos and pics of a closed door product.

Feels like Doom 3 all over again, the e3 2002 footage had much higher res textures, better lighting and for some reason the final product was watered down. (Dont give the hardware excuse, 6800's ate up doom 3)

I see it with Unreal Tournament 3 and no, not just the textures, maps look nothing like once shown.

m3dude
11-01-07, 03:30 PM
do u mean this foam effect?

http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/1777/70656363ek2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

m3dude
11-01-07, 03:33 PM
we are talking about this

http://www.incrysis.com/incgallery/22.jpg

u can also see it in this video

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/15439.html

svetli_pp
11-02-07, 04:41 AM
Yep, that's right. I don't see such effects even on very high settings for water.

[EOCF] Tim
11-02-07, 04:54 AM
Yep, that's right. I don't see such effects even on very high settings for water.

Sounds like the Pre-release demo is looking more and more like the Beta engine, and that the full game is a different animal all together.

FastRedPonyCar
11-02-07, 08:21 AM
You guys aren't supposed to see that on the SP map.. Have any of you ever been to a bay in real life like the one in the SP map? Those kinds of waves crashing up to the rocks/shore don't exist unless the tide is directly facing the cove.

When my wife and I were in Negril Jamaica, the resort we stayed at was in a little horse shoe alcove just like the one in the the demo and there were no waves. It was like the shore of a lake.

That video shows a wide open ocean making waves to the shore. If when the full release comes out and we get to these areas where there is shore line or rocks that don't have waves moving towards them, then yes, it would be time to complain.

Who knows, maybe there are a lot of cool features that they left out of the demo. You never know.

I'll wait until I play the retail version though.