PDA

View Full Version : Phenom X4: 4 cores, 4 frequencies!


kam03
10-31-07, 04:18 PM
We know that in Nov.15 HD 3800 will begin to sell. But we still don't know that RD790 and Phenom X4 will come out earlier(than the AMD plan) or not.

Here is some news that every AMD fanboy would like:

AMD is developing a software called "AMD overdrive". Just like nTune, it can adjust different system values. It's interesting that we find out the software can adjust multiple frequencies of different cores independently.

Personally I think that's good news for people that cares about the total power consumptions of their computers. They can just turn off some cores while they are watching DVDrips.


http://www.expreview.com/img/news/071031/amd_overdrive.jpg


Link: http://www.expreview.com/news/hard/2007-10-31/1193813419d6698.html

grey_1
10-31-07, 04:23 PM
Those "current speeds" got my attention. I read about this a while back, but the article didn't mention Intel or AMD, just the scaling frequencies. I wonder what effect this would have on overclocking? Would it scale itself back, ?? time will tell.

DiscipleDOC
10-31-07, 04:57 PM
:drooling: :drooling: :drooling:

LORD-eX-Bu
10-31-07, 05:07 PM
:zzzz:

AMD hasn't impressed me in ages, lets hope that this is different but I'm not expecting much.

grey_1
11-01-07, 11:50 AM
Maybe they cannot set the same frequency for all of the cores due to some technical issues and suddenly it's a feature :p
LoL, as in "Will they scale back UP after scaling down? :p

Tygerwoody
11-01-07, 12:15 PM
Maybe they cannot set the same frequency for all of the cores due to some technical issues and suddenly it's a feature :p
this would be my guess.

nekrosoft13
11-01-07, 12:39 PM
Maybe they cannot set the same frequency for all of the cores due to some technical issues and suddenly it's a feature :p

that wouldn't suprise me, triple core for the WIN!

shabby
11-01-07, 05:41 PM
It's interesting that we find out the software can adjust multiple frequencies of different cores independently.


What a great idea, now you have to run orthos 4 times as much to see if your cpu is stable...

$n][pErMan
11-01-07, 08:12 PM
Acctually its a good idea. As it stands now you are only as fast as your slowest core for OC'ing.... perhaps this will allow you to get higher OC's on more cores while a core that would normally slow you down will not stop you from going higher on the other cores?

rhink
11-01-07, 11:52 PM
The whole idea is advanced power management to shutdown or slow down underutilized cores. If it's useful for overclocking, sounds great to me.

Dazz
11-02-07, 07:17 AM
If you could get games to use a certin core like in this case core 3 as the primary core then it would rock as the 1st core tends to do the most work, more so in games. Then set the remainder to other speeds like core 1 3334, core 2 3201, core 3 3067, core 4 2934MHz with in windows to use those cores in order.