PDA

View Full Version : Memory suggestions


Lazaredz
10-31-07, 05:25 PM
I am going to be moving to Vista 64bit in the near future. With that move I will be upgrading to 4GB memory (2x2GB). I have used Corsair for a LONG time now and have been happy with my 8500C5D 2x1GB set. However Corsair does not offer a decent 2x2GB set as far as I can tell so I am asking for suggestions. I have heard decent things about OCZ and G-Skill in the recent past but to be honest have not paid too much attention.

So, can I get some suggestions as to which set and where I can get a decent pair of memory sticks totalling 4GB for less than $300?

Thx

Oh and the new setup will be:

Q6600 G0
Asus P5B Deluxe Wi-fi
EVGA 8800GTX
X-fi XM

I doubt I will be upgrading the mobo or proc in the next 9 months unless something AMAZING happens (X48 w/ SLI???)

Lazaredz
11-01-07, 02:07 PM
Any opinions on this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820144115

LORD-eX-Bu
11-01-07, 02:17 PM
why not just buy another 2x1gb set of 8500C5D memory? it is super cheap now.

With 2gb modules you'd be paying alot more, I not even sure if you could achieve the same timings as with a 1gb module.

CaptNKILL
11-01-07, 02:21 PM
I just bought 2 sets of these:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820161042&Tpk=wintec%2b8500

$176 shipped for 4gigs of PC-8500

Should be able to get $125 or more for my OCZ PC8500, so I'll make most of the money back and get an upgrade to 4 gigs. :D

There really isn't any reason to get expensive ram. As long as its rated speed is high enough to allow overclocking, get the cheapest ram you can find with a decent brand.

Lazaredz
11-01-07, 02:27 PM
I was going to go 2x2GB for three reasons:

1) I have heard there are problems in Vista when using all 4 slots.

2) Posts I have read in various forums show more stability with just 2 slots (irreguardless of OS)

3) As I understand it there can be a significant heat increase on the memory and NB with all 4 slots occupied.

If I am WRONG on these 3 points, please let me know.

LORD-eX-Bu
11-01-07, 02:31 PM
I am not too familiar with people having issues when using all four slots, could be because I only have 2gb..

I have heard that overclocking four 1gb modules will stress the memory controller on some boards which could lead to instability...

even with my 8500C5Ds I run em at 800 Mhz 5-5-5-15 anyways, I'm pretty sure that at that setting with 4gb you shouldn't have any problems.

now some ATI users had major instability issues when running 4x1gb modules on their boards, that lead to them having the equivalent of our nvdllmkm.dll error or nv4disp.dll crash.

john19055
11-01-07, 06:05 PM
Both OCZ Reaper and Patriot Extreme makes a good set and they have low timeing of 4-4-4-12.I have heard the OCX Reaper overclock the best.But there are cheaper brands that are rated at 4-4-4-12 to.I have always had good luck with Corsair memory and they have a good warranty as well as OCZ.