PDA

View Full Version : Need help!


LT.Schaffer
11-01-07, 05:26 PM
Well i currently have 4x1gb sticks of Corsair DDR2 6400 Ram..
I was wondering since i was about to order 4x1gb sticks of Kingston Hyper X PC2 8500..what i wanna know is "will this ram be as good or better than my current ram"? i will not be overclocking,so all i want is the best Performance ram for my Asus P5B MOBO....

I need advice.
Thanks in advance.

I plan on giving my current ram to my dad if i do order new ram...

john19055
11-01-07, 06:21 PM
If you already have 4gigs of Corsair PC2 6400 ,then save your money because you will not see any performance difference.If you do ,it will be very little ,if any.I just know with my Evga 680i SLI I went from PC2 6400C4 Dominator to PC2 8500C5 Dominator and all I did was waste my money .

LT.Schaffer
11-01-07, 06:39 PM
Thanks for the reply.
Well i'm using XP 32bit Pro so i only have 2 gb installed...

CaptNKILL
11-01-07, 07:02 PM
Faster ram is useless unless your overclocking. Stick with what you have. :)

LT.Schaffer
11-01-07, 07:11 PM
thanks for the replys,
I went ahead and ordered another Corsair 4gb kit with 4x1gb sticks pc2 6400 just like my other... so i'll be giving my 4gb kit 4x1gb sticks to my dad.
and i'll have another set to use in mine since i know it's rock solid..Thanks again...