PDA

View Full Version : Upgradeable?


Pages : [1] 2

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 02:36 PM
I have been trying to figure out if i can slide a new PCIe graphics card in my old compaq SR1110NX with PCI. Windows.com says that PCIe is compat with PCI computers and i can put one in. But when i go to nvidia.com they say i need a PCIe complient chipset, a PCIe x16 slot, and 24v/44amp worth of power supply bus minimum... it seems that i have the power supply, but i have just regular PCI. whats the real deal? anyone know? :(

newls1
11-10-07, 03:43 PM
I have been trying to figure out if i can slide a new PCIe graphics card in my old compaq SR1110NX with PCI. Windows.com says that PCIe is compat with PCI computers and i can put one in. But when i go to nvidia.com they say i need a PCIe complient chipset, a PCIe x16 slot, and 24v/44amp worth of power supply bus minimum... it seems that i have the power supply, but i have just regular PCI. whats the real deal? anyone know? :(
Um......NO DUDE:o You cant "slide" in a PCIe gfx card in a pci slot.

wysiwyg
11-10-07, 03:53 PM
yeap you need a PCI express motherboard

the fact that you may only have a AGP slot and PCI means you need to build a new system

if you do not even have AGP then throw the pc away its ancient or send it to a museum

if you get a pci espress motherboard and PCI express graphics card aim for at least an 8600 card as a minimum


you will need minimum 450w PSU too

can you list the exact hardware you have?

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 04:21 PM
i kinda figured it wasnt that easy. i believe i have the intel 845v motherboard. and i popped the side off and i only have a 250w psu :headexplode: think i could get a new motherboard and psu and just swap it out? or is that more complicated than it seems?

XDanger
11-10-07, 04:29 PM
http://www.markwielgus.com/amspell/amproduct/pc-hardware/B000RNDZ5M

If its like this one then it has a pci-e slot, there are some 845's now that do apparently

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 04:53 PM
lol no mine looks nothing like that. its about 3-4 years old i think. i dont remember. its a SR1110NX presario. iv upgraded to 2gb ddr-pc2700 ram, and dual 250gig hd's. its just PCI i know that there is no AGP slot i have looked. :thumbdwn: basically i just want to know what i have to do to upgrade my motherboard at this point. i see a few nice ones that nvidia makes for a decent price. or do i have to get another version of the 845v to fit?

XDanger
11-10-07, 06:01 PM
might as well start from scratch.
Whats the pc for ?

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 06:15 PM
i have a brand new dvd burne,r a dvd rom, dual 250gig hard drives isnt starting from scratch? with the new motherboard i would install ram a new psu. ide raid, and a new video card. thats not starting from scratch? basically i want to know if any old motherboard will fit.

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 06:31 PM
the pc is for internet and online 3d gaming.

XDanger
11-10-07, 06:33 PM
If its an atx then sort of

Would need to take ddr1 and have ide and take whatever cpu you have ,But you really ought to get a new cpu,New ones are cheap and fast

Does online 3d gaming mean fps and everquest et al?

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 07:12 PM
yea games like supreme commander world in conflict quake and that sort of thing. FPS and quality is what i want. where do u find cheap cpu's? every one i have lookd at has been expencive

XDanger
11-10-07, 07:28 PM
e6400's like the one I have now are relatively cheap

An e4300 is also a good choice

It all depends on how much you are willing to spend

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 07:45 PM
wow that is pretty cheap. so i can just get any motherboard thats dual core and ide raid or does it have to be a certain one to fit my tower?

XDanger
11-10-07, 07:57 PM
As long as its ATX you should have no worries

Not sure about ddr1 and You will need a new psu also

You can still get a good price for your ram though, Sell all your old junk.

CaptNKILL
11-10-07, 07:58 PM
If its this:
http://www.amazon.com/Compaq-Presario-SR1110NX-Desktop-Celeron/dp/B0002DV9C8

You're much better off doing a full upgrade. :o

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 08:03 PM
yea thats it! all i plan on re using is the floppy and the tower case lol im looking at the -- EVGA nForce 680i SLI Motherboard - NVIDIA, Socket 775, ATX, (New T1 Version), Audio, PCI Express, SLI, Dual Gigabit LAN, S/PDIF, USB 2.0 & Firewire, Serial ATA, RAID --and looking into the e6400 dual core cpu. i found each for about $180. not bad!

XDanger
11-10-07, 08:06 PM
You plan on keeping the floppy?

If you are going on a spending spree then wait for the q9450, with an e4300 or something lower to tide you over

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 08:14 PM
lol yea why not? who knows when u will need a floppy? lol and the bay is fun to dust...

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 08:20 PM
spending spree? not quite... and the quad is going for $1000+ ??? where i can get that dual core for $200...

XDanger
11-10-07, 08:30 PM
thats the (Edit) qx9650, overpriced for mugs and the rich ,Q9450 is cheaper but not released till January, The q9450 is all the qx9650 cpu's that fail to run properly with the normal intel stock heatsink, Thats why you will need a decent heatsink.

If you want the best NOW then q6600 is the way to go, more like $300 though

If you dont want to OC a Dual then e6600

but sticking to about $200 , e6400 or e6420 you can oc it to 3.2 with very little problem.

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 08:44 PM
i found the E6750 2.66ghz dual core 1333mhz fsb for $220. i think that will do just fine :captnkill: how about power supply tho? should i just get the biggest power supply i can afford or what? and whats a "decent" heat sink? lol i dont want my new machine to melt! should i look into fans also?

XDanger
11-10-07, 08:57 PM
NICE
Are you planning on running sli? With 2 8800GT's?

Heatsink http://www.thermalright.com/default.htm

PSU http://www.wopple.com/Spec___M12-700___M027553.html This looks good but as you can see its not cheap.

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 09:02 PM
no, im thinking 1 8800gt to keep the cost lower. what do u think, a 500w power supply do it?

40ozFatality
11-10-07, 09:07 PM
and how do i know what heat sink to get? they all say the same thing and look diff? lol any suggestions on the best heat sink for the price that fits the e6750?

XDanger
11-10-07, 09:13 PM
What price?

Freezer 7 pro = Nice n cheap

TRUE = The Best air cooler money can buy atm

PSU=Good quality/brand

Everythings going the way of energy efficiency so about 600w should be OK

PC Power & Cooling ,probably

The E6750 is a great cpu and at a good price ,But if I were you id get a TRUE and an E4300 till January then upgrade to a Q9450, That thing will last you another 4 years.