PDA

View Full Version : COD4


evilchris
11-12-07, 11:34 AM
Tons of fun, but only about 5 hours worth. I played it at reference level and almost blew my walls out. Lots of variety.

Lyme
11-12-07, 12:51 PM
Played online yet? If you have the PS3 version, it looks like a update is coming your way to fix a few issues. http://www.infinityward.com/community/forum/index.php/topic,2505.0.html


Another Update for you:

The server team has been working on this all weekend, and will be working through the night. They're upgrading all server hardware as well as dedicated an individual database to each functionality to improve performance and handle the traffic hitting the servers. (i.e. Database for Matchmaking, Database for Leaderboards, etc.)

This will greatly improve the speed and stability for matchmaking for players.

During this upgrade you may still receive the 'Downloading Game Settings' message, but it is temporary, in the sense of just let it download and you will eventually drop into a lobby and play just fine.

Peoples-Agent
11-13-07, 12:48 AM
Amazing game, and fantastic on Xbox Live.
The one thing I like about it, you aren't punished for being a nOOb... the rank up system is ace making the game more fun.

Bye Bye RB6 Vegas, Halo 3 and GRAW2 ....An online marvel is here.

Single player is fantastic aswell, I like the contrast between the USMC and SAS missions.

Mr. Hunt
11-13-07, 04:34 AM
Yeah been playing it on the PS3... it is basically crack and I just hit 55... I haven't played through much of the singleplayer.

And I agree about the levels... level 1s can easily take a 55... the guns and perks are pretty balanced.

DJMONDY
11-13-07, 09:06 AM
How do i get it to run at 1080p on the ps3?

According to my tv its running at 720p :(

Good game tho isnt it :D

|MaguS|
11-13-07, 09:34 AM
Disable 720p and 1080i, I have not tested it since I purchased the PC version.

Mr. Hunt
11-13-07, 09:46 AM
Contemplating doing the first prestige thing... kind of don't want to because I want to finish all challenges and am on my way with some of the harder ones done... :(.

DJMONDY
11-13-07, 11:25 AM
Disable 720p and 1080i, I have not tested it since I purchased the PC version.

By doing this will it affect other things that dont run in 1080p??

Bit of a pain if it does ay :rolleyes:

evilchris
11-13-07, 11:50 AM
By doing this will it affect other things that dont run in 1080p??

Bit of a pain if it does ay :rolleyes:

People don't seem to understand what disabling 1080i and 720p does. It doesn't make the game "run in 1080p" as setting your PC resolution would in a game menu. It makes the PS3 scale the output to that resolution. COD 4 is a 720p game on 360/PS3 period.

DJMONDY
11-14-07, 04:38 AM
People don't seem to understand what disabling 1080i and 720p does. It doesn't make the game "run in 1080p" as setting your PC resolution would in a game menu. It makes the PS3 scale the output to that resolution. COD 4 is a 720p game on 360/PS3 period.

Ahhh right i get you. i actually thought cod4 was a 1080p game.

I understood the scaling part but i thought there was a problem with the game itself that it wouldnt run in 1080p unless you disabled the lower resolutions.

Iyo,...what is better? scaled to 1080p or running at 720p?

Thanks mate ;)

EciDemon
11-14-07, 05:54 AM
I guess that would depend on what does the job better, Your tv or the software scaler in the Ps3. Try both and look carefully :)

I don't have a ps3 yet, So ive only been able to test different scalings on the 360. Imo, native res is the way to go. For me though it will scale either way on the monitor (22" 1680x1050). I usually run it in 1080p so the monitor downscales a bit. The built in scaler in the 360 works very good I think, It just lacks support for 16x10 resolution modes then it would be perfect.

DJMONDY
11-14-07, 11:02 AM
They should look about the same, unless your TV is HUGE. evilchris should know for sure though.

Its a sony 40W2000 (40 inch), so not huge but not small.

Zelda_fan
11-14-07, 11:29 AM
I don't see why people care so much about a 1% difference in image quality. It looks great regardless of what scaler you use. Simply forget about settings and enjoy the game.

NaitoSan
11-14-07, 11:39 AM
i always run games at 720p no matter what. they still look good and until i get other hdtv that supports 1080p then i'll run them at that resolution when game runs it natively.