PDA

View Full Version : can we have the "old" control panel back?


xorbe
11-20-07, 04:00 PM
The new one is huge, and they kicked out the coolbits
and temp monitor. nTune + driver is 83MB now.

This is progress?

:thumbdwn:

And these nVidia pages don't even link the latest nTune version (they link 5.05.47):
http://www.nvidia.com/object/sysutility.html
http://www.nvidia.com/page/forceware_geforce.html

or by using search on nVidia's site. I found the latest with Google!
What a (*#&$ mess.

5.05.54 is here http://www.nvidia.com/object/ntune_5.05.54.00.html

Two hours later, and I still haven't figured out how to overclock with nTune.
update: Downgraded from 169.09 to 163.75, and now I have a performance
tabs with the overclocking controls. How frustrating!!!

haccess
11-21-07, 01:03 AM
I used nvtray/nvtweak (http://nvtweak.laptopvideo2go.com/) to enable the old control panel and clock frequency options. honk honk (http://haccess.googlepages.com/oldcp.jpg)

F_L_C
11-21-07, 02:17 AM
I agree 100%. I want to know who the jackass at nv is who decided to separate basic functions such as OCing and temp monitoring from the interface. In their infinite wisdom, they have actually added complexity (instead of streamlining) the interface by requiring yet another fkn program to be installed. ntune is a POS...always has been, always will be.

Some advice for the OP. Dump ntune and learn to use Rivatuner. It's a bit bloated, IMO, but is the best alternative out there. CoolBits stopped working properly many revisions ago. Why they decided to ditch such a simple, clean, and effective applet is beyond me. But suck it up, cause CoolBits and the old CP are history.

xorbe
11-21-07, 03:19 AM
It actually makes the Linux version look good! :cool:
We have coolbits still for our xorg.conf files, well at least
the last time I looked.

Mike89
11-21-07, 02:47 PM
can we have the "old" control panel back?

It ain't gonna happen dude. I personally like today's control panel much better but do agree that Nvidia screwed up with this ntune nonsense.

Dragunov
11-21-07, 03:00 PM
In the beginning people all complained about how ugly ATIs CCC was, and they preferred those of Nvidia above those one.

But during the early days of CCC, I had a 9800XT and already loved it very much, only a pity ATI fails nowadays in their hardware, cause the software (I don't speak about the driver) looks very nice, very sweet, marvelous ... alot better of the CP of Nvidia

SLippe
11-23-07, 04:44 AM
The new one is huge, and they kicked out the coolbits
and temp monitor. nTune + driver is 83MB now.

This is progress?

:thumbdwn:

And these nVidia pages don't even link the latest nTune version (they link 5.05.47):
http://www.nvidia.com/object/sysutility.html
http://www.nvidia.com/page/forceware_geforce.html

or by using search on nVidia's site. I found the latest with Google!
What a (*#&$ mess.

5.05.54 is here http://www.nvidia.com/object/ntune_5.05.54.00.html

Two hours later, and I still haven't figured out how to overclock with nTune.
update: Downgraded from 169.09 to 163.75, and now I have a performance
tabs with the overclocking controls. How frustrating!!!
The first link you posted that you said goes to .47 goes to .54 for me!

http://www.nvidia.com/object/sysutility.html

SlieTheSecond
11-23-07, 03:42 PM
ATI Tool works great for me.

It's simple, straight to the point. One section you set you clocks, the other section shows your temps.

Only thing I wish It had was a fan speed control, but riva tuner works for that.

anthonyl
11-28-07, 02:59 AM
Is there one "tool" that does them all...fan speeds / temps / clocking?

GeniusPr0
11-28-07, 10:50 AM
Is there one "tool" that does them all...fan speeds / temps / clocking?

expertool 5.6 :)

HiCZoK4
11-29-07, 08:41 AM
I think that current panel is very good. just sometime need nhancer for aa with some games.

BDUB
12-07-07, 04:58 PM
The new CP sucks @$$...

Coming from 93.xx using old CP, I cannot believe how crippled this "new" one is (163.75). I don't even see any of the Nview options.. I cannot even give my second CRT it's own background when in DUAL VIEW MODE.. WTF is up w/ that?

And what about setting the "render frame ahead" from default 3 to zero (via coolbits before) for ISI games like rF to avoid the lag?? First ATI wrecked their cards by using a crap control panel, I switch to using Nvidia cards, now Nvidia is wrecking the usability of their cards by forcing a crappy CP.

EDIT- I finally got Nview to work.. had to go to Windows CP.