PDA

View Full Version : Cisco Suggestions


six_storm
11-21-07, 11:48 AM
Well, I've decided that I want to focus my concentration on networking and network administration. When I graduated my local tech school two years ago, I left with my A+ and Net+, also had my CCNA book and simulator software purchased. Well, I found it last night and started reading back through it and it got me wanting to work towards a CCNA and maybe other Cisco certs.

What I want to do is setup a small CCNA lab but I have no idea where to start. I've taken a look at eBay and there are quite a few Cisco routers and switches that are pretty cheap (I don't have much cash right now, Christmas is a b*tch) but I don't wanna get something so outdated that I'll be wasting my money. Can anyone direct me on what model router and switch to buy in order to setup a small lab?

evilchris
11-21-07, 07:21 PM
12 port 2950-EN and 2x 2621's.

I will get you current code if you need it.

six_storm
11-21-07, 08:19 PM
12 port 2950-EN and 2x 2621's.

I will get you current code if you need it.

Thanks for the reply. Looks like I'm going to be spending $500 just for one router and one switch according to eBay. :( craigslist doesn't have anything locally, except for really old models. I'm not expecting new models but I'd like to have something that will last for a little while.

What about these?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Cisco-2610-64D-16F-Modular-Router-2600-Series_W0QQitemZ290181977814QQihZ019QQcategoryZ512 02QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
http://cgi.ebay.com/Cisco-2610-Router-32-8-CCNA-Kit-12-3-21-IOS-CCNP-2600_W0QQitemZ170168859270QQihZ007QQcategoryZ51202 QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

six_storm
11-21-07, 08:53 PM
I found a brand new 24-port 2950 sealed for $250 w/free shipping so I think I might just grab that for right now. Now I just need some extra parts to add with my spare parts and make a new server.

JMischief
11-22-07, 01:18 AM
Thanks for the reply. Looks like I'm going to be spending $500 just for one router and one switch according to eBay. :( craigslist doesn't have anything locally, except for really old models. I'm not expecting new models but I'd like to have something that will last for a little while.

What about these?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Cisco-2610-64D-16F-Modular-Router-2600-Series_W0QQitemZ290181977814QQihZ019QQcategoryZ512 02QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
http://cgi.ebay.com/Cisco-2610-Router-32-8-CCNA-Kit-12-3-21-IOS-CCNP-2600_W0QQitemZ170168859270QQihZ007QQcategoryZ51202 QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

maybe you take a look at the cbt nuggets for video training and in addition you should get a simulation software. so you don't need to buy expensive hardware.

gns - router simulation (http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/Network-Testing/GNS-3.shtml)

cisco offers also a ccna simulation pack
see at amazon (http://www.amazon.de/Official-Simulation-Software-Preperation-Self-Study/dp/1587130424)

or maybe you get here (http://dynagen.cn) a freeware solution

for the ccna exam you need to know routing fundamentals (classfull, classless) and access list configuration. but the exam will change in the near future because of the new ccna courses (icnd1 + icnd2), which i don't know

cheers + good luck,
JM

six_storm
11-22-07, 09:23 AM
I found my simulation software last night but it won't let me register, probably since it's so old (it's only good for 180 days). Everywhere I've read, if you are going for your CCNA and a little bit more, you should get a cheap switch and a cheap router to work on. Then when you get done, you can pass them on.

evilchris
11-22-07, 05:22 PM
maybe you take a look at the cbt nuggets for video training and in addition you should get a simulation software. so you don't need to buy expensive hardware.

gns - router simulation (http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/Network-Testing/GNS-3.shtml)

cisco offers also a ccna simulation pack
see at amazon (http://www.amazon.de/Official-Simulation-Software-Preperation-Self-Study/dp/1587130424)

or maybe you get here (http://dynagen.cn) a freeware solution

for the ccna exam you need to know routing fundamentals (classfull, classless) and access list configuration. but the exam will change in the near future because of the new ccna courses (icnd1 + icnd2), which i don't know

cheers + good luck,
JM

Sim software is absolute horsecrap. Use the real deal unless you want to be a know-nothing paper cert. Sim software has never and will never react and run like the real IOS.

evilchris
11-22-07, 05:24 PM
Thanks for the reply. Looks like I'm going to be spending $500 just for one router and one switch according to eBay. :( craigslist doesn't have anything locally, except for really old models. I'm not expecting new models but I'd like to have something that will last for a little while.

What about these?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Cisco-2610-64D-16F-Modular-Router-2600-Series_W0QQitemZ290181977814QQihZ019QQcategoryZ512 02QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
http://cgi.ebay.com/Cisco-2610-Router-32-8-CCNA-Kit-12-3-21-IOS-CCNP-2600_W0QQitemZ170168859270QQihZ007QQcategoryZ51202 QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
No on 2610. One ethernet port sucks for learning. You want to have 2 FE ports.

I cannot stress this enough to you:

Cisco Press books
Actual Cisco hardware
Highest ram/flash available per model. Newest IOS code has high requirements. I'd go min 32 flash 64 ram.

With 10 years experience and a CCIE R&S certification you can trust me.

six_storm
11-22-07, 11:38 PM
No on 2610. One ethernet port sucks for learning. You want to have 2 FE ports.

I cannot stress this enough to you:

Cisco Press books
Actual Cisco hardware
Highest ram/flash available per model. Newest IOS code has high requirements. I'd go min 32 flash 64 ram.

With 10 years experience and a CCIE R&S certification you can trust me.

Thanks man. I looked at some of the official Cisco books and the CCNA book was exactly like the one I already have. I really wanna get the real equipment so I'm looking into that. I found a brand new 2950 24-port switch on ebay for $250 so I'm thinking about getting that and then getting a router down the road a little bit.

six_storm
11-24-07, 09:41 PM
Talked to the parentals and my dad thought it was a great idea to go for my CCNA. He is going to help me purchase some Cisco equipment here in the next month. I'm thinking about going ahead and buying that brand new 24-port 2950 switch for now and keep an eye out for a good router for around $250 shipped or lower, and of course something a little new. A lot of stuff of eBay is heavily used and/or missing parts and pieces unless you wanna pay a hefty price tag.

Which cert should I go after once I get my CCNA?

evilchris
11-24-07, 10:19 PM
After CCNA I would proceed directly to the CCNP. Certs do not get you a job. However, the things you learn in the CCNP track are fundamental to networking theory and knowledge, not all Cisco specific. DO LOTS OF LABS. Nothing will replace experience, but the book study and hands on gained going for a CCNP is excellent. I got my CCNP in 2001 and I think it really accelerated my career in IT. Rememer, the CCNP is not a "ticket" to a great job, it is a foundation.

evilchris
11-24-07, 10:22 PM
BTW, do not in any way EVER look at a braindump unless you want to cheat yourself. Fail a test 10x in a row and keep studying before you read a braindump. You're doing this to LEARN, not just to PASS.

six_storm
11-24-07, 11:25 PM
Haha! I remember Braindumps. They really didn't help back when I was doing the A+ stuff so I just winged it after so long and passed with flying colors anyway. I've got a pretty good textbook (CCNA Guide to Networking) but I'll probably have to find a good book for labs. My simulator expired ( :( ) so I gotta get the real equipment now.

Got any suggestions for a router?

six_storm
11-25-07, 01:51 PM
Just bought the 2950 24-port switch. Now it's time to look for a router. What do you guys suggest?

six_storm
11-26-07, 10:51 PM
Just bought a 2503 and 2620 router from Ciscokits.com for $300. Not too bad, but I didn't pay for everything myself ;) . Should be getting my equipment in about a week and a half.

six_storm
12-03-07, 04:53 PM
Just got all of my equipment today . . . turns out I don't have a DB-9 port on my mobo!!! Oh well, I can order a $14 USB-to-DB9 adaptor and all will be good. So here come the Cisco noob questions I've been dying to ask.

1. On one of the routers, there is an "Aux", "Console" and "BRI" ports on the back. Now in my mind, I want to say that a router would service multiple items like PCs, other switches or other routers. So why no output ports? I figured out that routers can connect to each other through serial ports but how would you connect a switch to this router? My other router has additional ports for different connections, but that's not the only way is it?

2. I hooked up the router and I can do the "Express Setup" fairly easy. My (Linksys wireless) router's IP is 192.166.4.10, therefore I set the switch to 192.166.4.103. When I saved the configuration, it tries to connect to 192.166.4.103 but fails. I even renew my IP addresses but it keeps on getting 10.0.0.2 back instead (10.0.0.1 is the switches main IP address before you change it). What's going on? I guess I might have to wait until I get that adaptor.

Ofer80
12-28-07, 06:27 AM
Nice, thx for information! :headexplode:

evilchris
12-31-07, 07:51 PM
2503 needs a transceiver.

http://cgi.ebay.com/AUI-UTP-RJ-45-Transceiver-Cisco-2500-CCNA-Ideal_W0QQitemZ9718744870QQihZ019QQcategoryZ118162 QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Config the switch via console **** the GUI.