PDA

View Full Version : 8800 GTX & Intel Quad Q6600 = low fps ?

nvToni
11-22-07, 04:02 PM
Hi guys !

I'm new at all this AA and AF stuff so please bare with my question if it has been asked a zillion times.

So what's my problem?

Ok, I have recently replaced my old system (DFI Lanparty Ultra-D, AMD Athlon64 3000+ and 2Gb DDR) and EVGA 8800 GTX. Now the problem I was having with the old system was that the CPU was the bottle neck and I couldn't have AA and AF in all the games crancked up to max (low 20 to 30 FPS at 1280x1024 res.)

Here are the new system specs:
- Gigabyte X38-DQ6
- Intel Quad Q6600 (2,4 Ghz)
- OCZ 2 Gb DDR2 (4-4-4-15)
- EVGA 8800 GTX

And the settings I have enabled in Nvidia control panel:
- Anisotropic filtering = 16x
- Antialiasing - Gamma correction = ON
- Antialiasing - Mode = Override any application setting
- Antialiasing - Setting = 16xQ
- Antialiasing - Transparency = Supersampling
- Conformant texture clamp = Use hardware
- Error reporting = Off
- Extension limit = Off
- Force mipmaps = None
- Multi-display/mixed-GPU acceleration = Multidisplay performance mode
- Texture filtering - Anisotropic sample option = OFF (if used Texture filtering - Quality = High Quality this is unavaliable to change)
- Texture filtering - Negative LOD bias = Allow
- Texture filtering - Quality = High Quality
- Texture filtering - Trilinear optimization = OFF (if used Texture filtering - Quality = High Quality this is unavaliable to change)
- Threaded optimization = AUTO
- Triple buffering = OFF
- Vertical sync = Use the 3D appliaction setting

And the gaming resolution I use is 1280x1024 (19 inch)

Now here is the issue.

If I play games like:
- Need for speed - Pro street, all in-game settings maxed out, AA in game off, the frames I'm getting are 18 - 25 maybe 30 FPS dependes on the situation

- World in conflict, all in-game settings maxed out, AA in game off, the frames I'm getting are 17 - 25 FPS.