PDA

View Full Version : PSU went pop!


mcolbourn
11-26-07, 07:25 AM
Well I urn on my PC today and the PSU went pop! Its a Corsair HX620, I have submitted an RMA and hopefully they will replace it. But I am thinking, is that PSU up to running my PC? do you think I should get another more powerfull one? and if so what make model etc.

Tr1cK
11-26-07, 07:50 AM
Unless you had 4 cores maxed while running a 3d benchmark and copying a ton of files from one drive to another during a CD burn, then I think 620w is enough. :)

I max out my dual core/gts setup at around 400 watts with CPU and GPU stress.

If you get a new one, I would target 700+.

wysiwyg
11-26-07, 08:13 AM
if that happens to a corsair i worry for my JEantec 625w :o

andy_nv
11-26-07, 10:13 AM
Err, those things are supposed to be Seasonic at heart (HX620), makes you wonder.

mcolbourn
11-26-07, 11:30 AM
Well I am sending it back for a replacement. I will say at least none of my other parts were fried, that has to say something about the PSU! at least it only killed itself.

grey_1
11-26-07, 04:51 PM
Err, those things are supposed to be Seasonic at heart (HX620), makes you wonder.
Isn't Seasonic considered to be high quality?

andy_nv
11-26-07, 05:53 PM
Yes, that's the problem, a high quality part failing.
Personally, I went for a S12+ 650W model from Seasonic in October. It runs fine with an overcloked Q6600, 8800GTS (also o/c) and 4 hard drives.

XDanger
11-26-07, 06:01 PM
Im worried mine is just too old and could die any moment.

andy_nv
11-26-07, 06:04 PM
:p

LORD-eX-Bu
11-26-07, 06:53 PM
that psu should be fine, you just have a defective POS :lol:

Do you have another PSU? Are you sure that nothing else was damaged?

agentkay
11-26-07, 07:21 PM
The same happened to me but with an OCZ 700w Gamerstream PSU. Sometimes **** happens but as long as it doesn't kill or damage other components you should be happy. The most I hate is the week or two until you get the RMA replacement unit so I usually buy a new one at retail on the same day and sell the replacement or keep it as a backup unit.

Good luck on a fast RMA!

LORD-eX-Bu
11-26-07, 07:22 PM
yep, I have an Enermax Galaxy 1000W and a 700W OCZ as a backup :D

stncttr908
11-26-07, 09:42 PM
Ruh roh...

(Looks at sig)

Hopefully it's just yours.

mcolbourn
11-27-07, 09:17 AM
[QUOTE=agentkay]The same happened to me but with an OCZ 700w Gamerstream PSU. Sometimes **** happens but as long as it doesn't kill or damage other components you should be happy. The most I hate is the week or two until you get the RMA replacement unit so I usually buy a new one at retail on the same day and sell the replacement or keep it as a backup unit.[QUOTE]

Well thats what I did I know I really should have gone for another brand but I got a Corsair TX 750 today. It has not got the Modular cable system but in my P182 I have been able to hide all the cables mostly.

When I get the RMA one back I will sell it or keep it as a spare.

pross
11-27-07, 12:04 PM
my PSU makes a kind of fizzling noise when its under full load...especially MOH and COD4...ive had to run my CPU at 3.2 til i can get something with a little more power.. this thing was supposed to be 650w! but then it did only cost 40 ;)

LORD-eX-Bu
11-27-07, 12:06 PM
what brand is it? better not be POWMAX :lol: