PDA

View Full Version : help


Slash310
11-27-07, 03:07 AM
recently 3 of my hard drives havent been running properly. My main HHD is thankfully working so im able to use the pc. but my other 150 hhd keeps shutting off. i reboot the pc and it displays my hard drive but then after 5 minuets my screen will freeze and then the hard drive is no longer displayed on my computer. same this with my other 2 500 gig hard drives. right now i have one of the 500 gig hdd on an External Enclosure case and the hard drive is running fine and hasnt turned off on me. what could be causing this problem?

hokeyplyr48
11-27-07, 05:21 AM
check your sata/power connections.
also make sure you have enough power for it all.

Slash310
11-27-07, 03:20 PM
i checked the cables and there all fine. ive had my pc for almost 4 months and everything would be fine so i dont think its my power supply.

Technoholic
11-27-07, 03:52 PM
Harddrive can become defective eventually, maybe never.

I have 320GB waiting to be RMA'd. :( It just stops working right. I/O Device Error, that is. And I'm running out of space on my 80GB, I'm so damn lucky to stuff all of it there.

I will later have external harddrive to back up 320.

Slash310
11-27-07, 04:31 PM
yeah i get the I/O Device Error and Unable to save written data also. they work fine on an external enclosure though just dont know why when they are connected to the motherboard.

Technoholic
11-27-07, 05:27 PM
Wait...

So you say that your harddrive is not fine when it's connected to the motherboard, but fine in external closure?

Slash310
11-27-07, 05:35 PM
yeah. the 500 gig hard drives work fine on an enclosure but not when connected to the motherboard. i still need to try the other 150 on an enclosure

Technoholic
11-27-07, 05:52 PM
yeah. the 500 gig hard drives work fine on an enclosure but not when connected to the motherboard. i still need to try the other 150 on an enclosure
500 gig works fine in enclosure, but not with motherboard. And 150gig is the same thing?

Earlier, I tried to find out what could I/O Device Error means, and some said it's the cable related or hardware defect.

Try swapping around the cables and see what happens? It may solve OUR issues?

Slash310
11-27-07, 06:07 PM
500 gig works fine in enclosure, but not with motherboard. And 150gig is the same thing?

Earlier, I tried to find out what could I/O Device Error means, and some said it's the cable related or hardware defect.

Try swapping around the cables and see what happens? It may solve OUR issues?

ive tried switching cables and sata slots and the same happens. im gonna try the 150 gig on my enclosure case in a bit

Slash310
11-27-07, 07:41 PM
i have my 150 on an enclosure and its working fine. i guess it must be my motherboard that must be messed up

Technoholic
11-27-07, 07:44 PM
Could it be the drivers affecting it? It's weird how my 250gig works just fine...

Slash310
11-27-07, 08:18 PM
im not sure, ill try and update the drivers and hope that works.