PDA

View Full Version : UT3: Anything above 163.75 causes lock ups.


DeusGear
11-28-07, 09:24 PM
Sadly the new 169 drives gave a big boost but also broke UT3. Many people are getting freezes on any map that has water and can last anywhere from 5 to 30 seconds or sometimes even a full lock up. Personally my freezes last about 5-15 seconds, and I'm seriously considering going back to the old drivers. The entire thread about this issue can be seen here:
http://forums.epicgames.com/showthread.php?t=585666&page=36

jAkUp
11-28-07, 10:21 PM
Yea some problem here, strange thing is it only happens on certain maps.

conroejoe
11-28-07, 10:47 PM
Works fine here in XP 169.09, what OS you running?

jAkUp
11-28-07, 11:08 PM
I think it is only a Vista issue.

DeusGear
11-28-07, 11:18 PM
I think it is only a Vista issue.
Yep vista here.

Bokishi
11-28-07, 11:34 PM
Problem here also

DeusGear
11-30-07, 02:38 PM
Has anyone here tried the older drivers? The 169 drivers gave me a nice perfm boost, and HL2 engine games have no problems with it.

Eliminator
11-30-07, 03:11 PM
no problem with XP over here

Quick420
11-30-07, 04:53 PM
no problem with XP over here


Ditto(lee63)

hell_of_doom227
12-01-07, 10:20 AM
Vista is crap...

verncat
12-01-07, 01:42 PM
Vista is crap...

GG, here we go again...

Dragunov
12-02-07, 01:53 PM
They better shut up

It is possible it's a Vista related issue, but maybe it's the driver or the game itself

But why act the most people this way, if something is not working correctly, it's the fault of Vista.....

I hope most of the people can think and not just follow the stuff they read

We are not brainless

DeusGear
12-02-07, 03:59 PM
I can confirm. I cleaned out my 169 with driver clean and installed 163.75. Played gateway and torlan for a couple of hours, not a single hitch. Reinstalled 169, the issue is back. It seems to be a driver issue after all.

Dragunov
12-03-07, 02:00 PM
So no Vista issue afterall

DeusGear
12-03-07, 05:55 PM
Guys go the last page of the thread linked please, epic replied!

Hapatingjaky
12-03-07, 08:53 PM
I've never experienced any lockups in UT3 use 169.12, works perfectly.

degust
12-04-07, 08:43 AM
Hangs here also.
Vista x64, 169.12, 8800U, A64X2/nForce4.

badboy64
12-04-07, 03:32 PM
I too don't experience any lockups with the 169.12 in Vista at all when playing UT3.

jAkUp
12-04-07, 08:06 PM
I too don't experience any lockups with the 169.12 in Vista at all when playing UT3.

Its only certain maps, for instance, the Gateway map where all the water is is pretty easy to replicate it for me.