PDA

View Full Version : just changed my 8800 GT cooler


wysiwyg
12-08-07, 02:59 PM
as said in previous posts i was getting bad artifacting and locking up after about 10 mins of play at OC2 memory speeds or over 1800Mhz (the default speed)

So thought i cant be bothered waiting for an RMA as already waited a month for this and missed my gaming

so i ordered a thermalright HR-03-GT VGA Cooler and a standard 92MM fan for it as it has to be said the stock cooler is rubbish

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=HS-053-TR

just installed it today (had to take my 680i mobo chipset fan off to get it to fit)

and played Crysis for about 2 1/2 hours with the memory at 1950, was very smooth too

the bad thing is i finised the game :(

heres a couple of rubbish quality camera phone pics-

this was taken as soon as i took out the 15 HSF screws and seperated the card and HSF. as you can see hardly anything left behind to clean off with TIM cleaner-

http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/9885/dsc00257sp9.jpg

after a clean with Akasa TIM cleaner

http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/1795/dsc00258qv2.jpg

mounted in case

http://img503.imageshack.us/img503/2747/dsc00261vp3.jpg
http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/5796/dsc00260ec5.jpg
http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/4909/dsc00263lo9.jpg

XDanger
12-08-07, 05:02 PM
what blower is that you are using below?

wysiwyg
12-08-07, 05:12 PM
what blower is that you are using below?


http://www.overclock.co.uk/product/Thermaltake-A2414-TMG-SL1-Dual-Slot-Fan-Cooler_3908.html

Eltigre88
12-08-07, 08:13 PM
what blower is that you are using below?

It dosen't blow but it sucks well.

HiCZoK4
12-09-07, 12:44 PM
why would anybody want to do that ?!
anyway looks BIG :lol:

wysiwyg
12-09-07, 05:41 PM
why would anybody want to do that ?!
anyway looks BIG :lol:

because it was artifacting and locking up at its OC2 memory clock unless i uclocked it to 1800

and thought having a better cooler than the rubbish stock cooler may help

it didnt, so it isnt a heat issue it is crap memory so back for an RMA it goes tomorrow

and no way did you get 14000 in 3Dmark 05

i get 12+ with my rig

sharvin
12-10-07, 03:14 AM
think you need some air in a can lol.

wysiwyg
12-10-07, 04:15 AM
why

Koko56
12-10-07, 08:56 AM
because it was artifacting and locking up at its OC2 memory clock unless i uclocked it to 1800

and thought having a better cooler than the rubbish stock cooler may help

it didnt, so it isnt a heat issue it is crap memory so back for an RMA it goes tomorrow

and no way did you get 14000 in 3Dmark 05

i get 12+ with my rig

Ahhh, you see that guy had 3DMark2005 :D I made that mistake ones too... :)

XDanger
12-10-07, 01:00 PM
I know this isnt a 3d mark thread but ,I thought 3d 06 was cpu bound ,Doesn't quad help much over dual??

Or is it just that the GT's and their drivers are 3dmark06 oriented?

e6400@ 3.4, GT@700/1750/1000
12814

iron99
12-10-07, 02:05 PM
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now. :D

Me also :)

Koko56
12-10-07, 02:57 PM
Me also :)

and many, many, many other people... :D

*waits* :P

wysiwyg
12-10-07, 06:26 PM
tbh i thought crysis played very well for me looked great and was pretty smooth

wysiwyg
12-10-07, 06:29 PM
and i sent my card back for an RMA as BFG have had a bad batch of PCBs mine included or the memory is naff at least such as mine

the store said i cant exchange it for a 512mb GTS (the new version) which they have 1000 of and no GT in stock grrrrr despite me saying i would pay the extra if needed and i do not trust the GT much now

Revs
12-10-07, 06:31 PM
and i sent my card back for an RMA as BFG have had a bad batch of PCBs mine included or the memory is naff at least such as mine

the store said i cant exchange it for a 512mb GTS (the new version) which they have 1000 of and no GT in stock grrrrr despite me saying i would pay the extra if needed and i do not trust the GT much now

I'm sure in the UK if a product fooks up in the first month of ownership you have the legal right to get yo' money back. Not 100% but it's worth looking in to if ya really want the GTS.

Koko56
12-11-07, 07:17 AM
tbh i thought crysis played very well for me looked great and was pretty smooth

Well it was pretty decent for me too, it's just that the demo ran droolingly smooth for the first few times and then started to sort of "skip" frames while FRAPS displayed the same FPS... and the same happened in the full game appart that it never ran as smooth as the demo did for the first few times...go figure...

I think a reformat should help... well I really really hope it does... :D

wysiwyg
12-11-07, 07:47 AM
i have 4gb maybe the extra memory does help

Koko56
12-11-07, 09:09 AM
i have 4gb maybe the extra memory does help

I don't know about that... some guy with 4GB somewhere had the same problem as a guy with 2GB, but it might help a bit...

XDanger
12-11-07, 01:28 PM
I use Rivatuner to display my fps, I heard FRAPS can be a hog, maybe I heard wrong.

Any numbers for the cooler change wysiwyg?

wysiwyg
12-11-07, 05:50 PM
i think it was about 50 degress during crysis

i will retest as i RMA'd my card on monday as it still locked up with OC2 memory settings so it wasnt a heat issue

XDanger
12-11-07, 06:29 PM
You'll get the new quieter version then.

Eltigre88
12-11-07, 06:38 PM
I use Rivatuner to display my fps, I heard FRAPS can be a hog, maybe I heard wrong.

Any numbers for the cooler change wysiwyg?

I own FRAPS and have not seen any noticable difference between running it or not. You do feel it a little when your recording inside the game.

shabby
12-11-07, 07:24 PM
I just upgraded to the s1 and cant believe im getting load temps in the mid 40's, add a couple fans and you got the best cooler for the money imo.

XDanger
12-12-07, 02:20 PM
I own FRAPS and have not seen any noticable difference between running it or not. You do feel it a little when your recording inside the game.
Recording ,Thats the one.

Shabby you have my setup (apart from my ram brand and the oc)

Revs
12-12-07, 03:32 PM
I own FRAPS and have not seen any noticable difference between running it or not. You do feel it a little when your recording inside the game.

Fraps caused some serious stuttering for me in Crysis in Vista. It aint the 'norm' though, Fraps is usually trouble free. Must be a compatability issue. Just about to install the newest nvidia drivers. Wonder if that'll change anything.