PDA

View Full Version : DirectX/Vista runs like poo, tweaked Dx9/XP much better


3DBrad
12-08-07, 11:32 PM
The DX9 tweaked "Very High" runs a lot better.

Did anyone else notice the music sounds different in Vista/DX10 (the menu music), or maybe I'm just thinking it did.

:)

jeffmd
12-09-07, 01:17 AM
yes..thank you for confirming what everyone has been saying for the past month. ^^

We know dx9 performs better... we also know dx10 looks better, and its higher quality shaders as well as vista penalty are an attribute to its lax performance. Just pick your poison.

methimpikehoses
12-09-07, 01:20 AM
MAXIMUM CONFIRMATION

Redeemed
12-09-07, 01:26 AM
MAXIMUM CONFIRMATION
MAXIMUM WOLFQUEST

methimpikehoses
12-09-07, 01:28 AM
MAXIMUM WOLFQUEST

MAXIMUM .CFG

Redeemed
12-09-07, 01:30 AM
MAXIMUM .CFG
GLEUTIOUS MAXIMUM? :wtf:

methimpikehoses
12-09-07, 01:42 AM
GLEUTIOUS MAXIMUM? :wtf:

MEDIUM SHADERS

asd
12-09-07, 02:21 AM
MAXIMUM .CFG
MAXIMUN LAG :captnkill:

Revs
12-09-07, 06:50 AM
MAXIMUM try the new Vista drivers, they're better! :D

JasonPC
12-09-07, 06:50 PM
MAXIMUM there haven't been new beta drivers since November :p

DRen72
12-10-07, 08:10 AM
I actually played through the game with everything on Ultra High except for shaders which I left on medium. For the most part things ran fine except inside the mountain (zero gravity area) and in the snow. The frame rates went to pot then. In the KPA areas the frame rates where mostly acceptable, but could have been better.

I'll play it again once we have new video cards that can handle it maxed out.

Madpistol
12-10-07, 09:06 AM
MAXIMUM there haven't been new beta drivers since November :p

MAXIMUM get a life. :p

ASUSEN7900GTX
12-10-07, 09:55 AM
MAXIMUM MAXIMUS JULIUS BIGGUS DICKUS MINIMUM MAXIMUS

aceflier
12-15-07, 11:11 PM
The DX9 tweaked "Very High" runs a lot better.

Did anyone else notice the music sounds different in Vista/DX10 (the menu music), or maybe I'm just thinking it did.

:)

exactly backwards to my findings. At 1280x720p dx10 runs better w/better IQ.

__________________________________________________ _______________________________________________

11/23/2007 11:50:13 PM - Vista
Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX9 1280x720, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=1, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: High

Custom Cvars:
sys_spec_GameEffects = 3
sys_spec_ObjectDetail = 3
sys_spec_Particles = 3
sys_spec_Physics = 3
sys_spec_PostProcessing = 3
sys_spec_Quality = 3
sys_spec_Shading = 3
sys_spec_Shadows = 2
sys_spec_Texture = 3
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects = 3
sys_spec_Water = 3
sys_spec_Sound = 3

sys_budget_videomem = 768

q_renderer = 3

r_sunshafts = 1
r_UsePOM = 1
r_TexturesStreaming=0
r_WaterGodRays = 1

e_water_ocean_fft = 1
e_water_tesselation_amount = 10
e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy = 4096
e_detail_materials_view_dist_z = 256
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation = 45

es_DebrisLifetimeScale = 1

g_battleDust_enable = 1
g_ragdollDistance = 40
g_ragdollMinTime = 20

q_Renderer = 3
q_ShaderFX = 3
q_ShaderGeneral = 3
q_ShaderGlass = 3
q_ShaderHDR = 3
q_ShaderIce = 3
q_ShaderMetal = 3
q_ShaderPostProcess = 3
q_ShaderShadow = 3
q_ShaderSky = 3
q_ShaderTerrain = 3
q_ShaderVegetation = 3
q_ShaderWater = 3


================================================== ============
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 64.20s, Average FPS: 31.15
Min FPS: 8.91 at frame 77, Max FPS: 50.44 at frame 988
Average Tri/Sec: -25916752, Tri/Frame: -831909
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.10
TimeDemo Play Ended, (1 Runs Performed)
================================================== ============

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

11/23/2007 11:50:13 PM - Vista

Run #1- DX9 1280x720 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: High ~~ Last Average FPS: 31.15

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____________

Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX10 1280x720, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=1, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: VeryHigh
================================================== ============
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 59.70s, Average FPS: 33.50
Min FPS: 21.14 at frame 138, Max FPS: 42.58 at frame 878
Average Tri/Sec: -27501158, Tri/Frame: -820870
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.12
TimeDemo Play Ended, (1 Runs Performed)
================================================== ============

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

11/23/2007 11:43:07 PM - Vista


Run #1- DX10 1280x720 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: VeryHigh ~~ Last Average FPS: 33.50

JasonPC
12-16-07, 10:56 AM
Try the tweaked Very High setting in XP and then see how the framerate is.

Revs
12-16-07, 11:45 AM
DX10, mostly very high settings, 1680 x 1050, 30-130 FPS (depending on level), sound good?

Check my posts 28 & 29 (nana2)

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=104221&page=2

aceflier
12-16-07, 12:10 PM
Try the tweaked Very High setting in XP and then see how the framerate is.


Why would i want to do that when im getting 33fps avg on very high on vista dx10 on my bigscreen tv at 720p?

aceflier
12-16-07, 12:14 PM
DX10, mostly very high settings, 1680 x 1050, 30-130 FPS (depending on level), sound good?

Check my posts 28 & 29 (nana2)

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=104221&page=2


That would work out ok if i wanted to fork out another $550 on another gtx to run SLI. But at the moment I spent enough till next year I'll upgrade to SLI whatever is out.

brady
12-16-07, 12:18 PM
I'm more curious bout crysis performance at lower resolutions like 1366x768. As is the case with most LCD HDTV's it's native resolution is 1366x768. Soon I'll be building a new gaming pc for that TV. It seems that with a q6600, 4gigs of ram and at least an 8800gt, at 768p you'd be able to get playable performance at very high in DX10 with no config mods. Am I wrong? Can anyone post scores?

aceflier
12-16-07, 12:22 PM
I'm more curious bout crysis performance at lower resolutions like 1366x768. As is the case with most LCD HDTV's it's native resolution is 1366x768. Soon I'll be building a new gaming pc for that TV. It seems that with a q6600, 4gigs of ram and at least an 8800gt, at 768p you'd be able to get playable performance at very high in DX10 with no config mods. Am I wrong? Can anyone post scores?

33fps at 720p is possible with my rig. Very high dx10 prolly be a little less at 768p. (note the overclock also)

Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX10 1280x720, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=1, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: VeryHigh
================================================== ============
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 59.70s, Average FPS: 33.50
Min FPS: 21.14 at frame 138, Max FPS: 42.58 at frame 878
Average Tri/Sec: -27501158, Tri/Frame: -820870
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.12
TimeDemo Play Ended, (1 Runs Performed)
================================================== ============

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

11/23/2007 11:43:07 PM - Vista


Run #1- DX10 1280x720 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: VeryHigh ~~ Last Average FPS: 33.50

brady
12-16-07, 01:25 PM
33fps at 720p is possible with my rig. Very high dx10 prolly be a little less at 768p. (note the overclock also)

Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX10 1280x720, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=1, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: VeryHigh
================================================== ============
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 59.70s, Average FPS: 33.50
Min FPS: 21.14 at frame 138, Max FPS: 42.58 at frame 878
Average Tri/Sec: -27501158, Tri/Frame: -820870
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.12
TimeDemo Play Ended, (1 Runs Performed)
================================================== ============

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

11/23/2007 11:43:07 PM - Vista


Run #1- DX10 1280x720 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: VeryHigh ~~ Last Average FPS: 33.50

I know edge AA is working in dx10 on very high but does the lack of traditional AA bother you on the big screen?

Revs
12-16-07, 02:21 PM
I know edge AA is working in dx10 on very high but does the lack of traditional AA bother you on the big screen?

AA is working fine on DX10. Well, I say fine, it's working but it does cause random judders every now and then. Although the judders don't reflect in the FPS.

Chubz
01-09-08, 11:20 PM
DX10, mostly very high settings, 1680 x 1050, 30-130 FPS (depending on level), sound good?

Check my posts 28 & 29 (nana2)

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=104221&page=2

With SLI what the f*** would you expect? If I didn't get 30-130 FPS, I'd be taking a bitch fit.