PDA

View Full Version : 169.25 + Vista SP1 RC + SLI = DX10 goodness :)


Revs
12-16-07, 03:58 PM
Though i'd better make a thread about this as it's a major leap in performance in Crysis.

Prior to installing SP1 RC on my machine I could play Crysis only in DX9 and with medium/high settings with the odd .cfg tweak, sunshafts, edge AA, godrays, etc. This got me what I call playable FPS, about 25-40 at 1680 x 1050.

After installing the new beta drivers and the service pack I had a go on Crysis again and couldn't believe my eyes's. 40-70 FPS on the area I was in. So I went back and did some more tweaking only to find I could run in DX10 with almost all very high settings and get between 30 and well over 100FPS in parts.

My .cfg is below and shots with and without SLI enabled. Please, if you can give it a go, do so and post your results.

r_displayinfo = 1

sys_spec_GameEffects = 3
sys_spec_ObjectDetail = 3
sys_spec_Particles = 3
sys_spec_Physics = 3
sys_spec_PostProcessing = 3
sys_spec_Quality = 3
sys_spec_Shading = 4
sys_spec_Shadows = 4
sys_spec_Texture = 4
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects = 3
sys_spec_Water = 3
sys_spec_Sound = 3

q_renderer = 3

r_sunshafts = 1

r_UsePOM = 1
r_WaterGodRays = 1

e_water_ocean_fft = 1
e_water_tesselation_amount = 10
e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy = 2048
e_detail_materials_view_dist_z = 256
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation = 45

es_DebrisLifetimeScale = 1

q_Renderer = 3
q_ShaderFX = 3
q_ShaderGeneral = 3
q_ShaderGlass = 3
q_ShaderHDR = 3
q_ShaderIce = 3
q_ShaderMetal = 3
q_ShaderPostProcess = 3
q_ShaderShadow = 3
q_ShaderSky = 3
q_ShaderTerrain = 3
q_ShaderVegetation = 3
q_ShaderWater = 3

r_MotionBlur = 1

Running one GT

http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/364/crysis64200712161835074wi4.jpg

Running GT's in SLI (more than double FPS!)

http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/4926/crysis64200712161838355rw7.jpg

ralinn
12-16-07, 04:20 PM
Downloading SP1 now. I'm pretty lazy so I never really benchmark anything, but I remember how it ran before updating anything. I'll give it a whirl (and install new beta drivers) as soon as it's installed and keep you posted.

Thanks for the heads up :)

Revs
12-16-07, 04:21 PM
Some more shots >>>

http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/9291/crysis64200712161628150dy4.jpg

http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/3420/crysis64200712162110381wj8.jpg

ralinn
12-16-07, 04:26 PM
BTW, is the annoying mouse lag gone in DX10 mode yet?

agentkay
12-16-07, 04:29 PM
BTW, is the annoying mouse lag gone in DX10 mode yet?

There is definitely no lag with a single card and DX10 and the 169.21 driver.

Revs
12-16-07, 04:30 PM
BTW, is the annoying mouse lag gone in DX10 mode yet?

Seems to be. I think it's very much linked to the FPS in DX10. It didn't bother me enough for me to notice anyhow.

BTW, if anyone has installed SP1 RC and has lost performance in other games please let us know. I've not found it a problem at all yet though.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=104124 'Windows Vista Service Pack 1 RC now public' thread

asd
12-18-07, 03:30 AM
My settings:
E6600@3.2G + 4GB of memory + 8800GTX + VISTA ULTIMATE 64bit,
running in DX10 64bit mode, Res= 1680x1050, all set to very high, only post processing set to high, I got 25 FPS and can be consider playable now, but I need to play like a ninja.

SH64
12-18-07, 03:42 AM
BTW, is the annoying mouse lag gone in DX10 mode yet?
Even if you get rid of that there will be the SLI AFR-rendering mouse lag which requires higher framerate than a single card to feel a smooth mouse movement.

Nanosuitguy
12-18-07, 03:43 AM
Wow that is amazing... can you try how it performs in 1650x1080 with 4xAA enabled with every setting on Veryhigh please?

Revs
12-18-07, 03:53 AM
Wow that is amazing... can you try how it performs in 1650x1080 with 4xAA enabled with every setting on Veryhigh please?

It's very glitchy with AA. It's shows good FPS but it's not too smooth. Also if I set AA, play the game a bit and then disable it the FPS drops to about 8FPS. I have to close and restart the game to get it smooth again.

I was playing the zero-gravity bit last night and to looked AMAZING. 50FPS most of the way too. Very high shaders makes a hell of a difference. I was going to post some screenshots but my internetz was down. I'll post em tonight when I get home from work.

Also i'm gonna try setting AA in the CP to see if that helps. I'll report back on that too :)

Nanosuitguy
12-18-07, 04:04 AM
Hm... what about the "pistolAA" trick? does it work any for you? It worked real good for me :P

So what cant i say, the price on the 8800gt is stunning.. and u get a really great deal. Good power. 4xAA shouldn't have that big impact on your performance in indoor environments such as the carrier and the core levels...

SH64
12-18-07, 04:06 AM
It's very glitchy with AA. It's shows good FPS but it's not too smooth.

The reason behind that is the SLI rendering mode used. with AFR more framerate is required to get smooth gameplay. (i.e. if 30fps is enough for a single card , you will need at least 35-40fps on SLI-AFR & so on ..)
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=103438

Revs
12-18-07, 04:11 AM
The reason behind that is the SLI rendering mode used. with AFR more framerate is required to get smooth gameplay. (i.e. if 30fps is enough for a single card , you will need at least 35-40fps on SLI-AFR & so on ..)
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=103438

Hmmm, interesting. Cheers.

Revs
12-18-07, 04:21 AM
Hm... what about the "pistolAA" trick? does it work any for you? It worked real good for me :P

So what cant i say, the price on the 8800gt is stunning.. and u get a really great deal. Good power. 4xAA shouldn't have that big impact on your performance in indoor environments such as the carrier and the core levels...

You mean EdgeAA. Again, i'll try it and let you know

Bokishi
12-18-07, 04:23 AM
I got worser performance in Crysis with these, so I rolled back

Revs
12-18-07, 04:27 AM
I got worser performance in Crysis with these, so I rolled back

With SP1 RC too?

asd
12-18-07, 04:34 AM
Can anyone tell me if 25 FPS can be consider smooth in Crysis?

Nanosuitguy
12-18-07, 04:35 AM
Can anyone tell me if 25 FPS can be consider smooth in Crysis?

Yes, its smooth... and totally playable. In fact, crysis has the smoothest 20 and 25 fps ive ever seen in a game.. witch is good :p

asd
12-18-07, 04:50 AM
Yes, its smooth... and totally playable. In fact, crysis has the smoothest 20 and 25 fps ive ever seen in a game.. witch is good :p
Nice, then I should continue my game now, I really want to fight head to head against those KPA, play like a ninja is not my style. :)

Bokishi
12-18-07, 05:53 AM
With SP1 RC too?

Yeah, my results were the opposite of yours, where I averaged 30 fps in DX10 without the SP1 RC, but fps was in the teens when I installed it.

Revs
12-18-07, 06:01 AM
Really? That's strange. :( Your system is pretty similar to mine too. You sure you had SLI enabled ;) :p j/k

SH64
12-18-07, 06:11 AM
Can anyone tell me if 25 FPS can be consider smooth in Crysis?
It comes down to your personal preference.
for me its not.

Revs
12-18-07, 06:37 AM
For me it depends. If it's sort of 30-40 with the odd drop to 25 that's just OK. But if it 25-30 with the odd drop to 15 it's not enough. That's way i'm so pleased with this SP1.