PDA

View Full Version : Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT


Dag_3
12-19-07, 05:18 AM
I'm having a hard time getting acceptable FPS in singleplayer BF2 on my machine. It stutters even at 800x600 resolution with all graphics and sound options at medium and no AA. Note that this in standard singleplayer with 16 bots, so it's not a question of network lag. At 800x600 resolution I experience occasional low fps during play (it's as if the whole game hangs for a second), but it's more or less constant at higher resolutions.

My PC is a Dell Dimension 8400 w/integrated sound chip
CPU: P4 3,2Ghz
Ram: 3GB 533Mzh memory
Video Card: Point of View 7900GT stock clocked
Hdd: 320 GB Sata 1 drive
PSU: Standard Dell 350w supply
OS: Win Xp home

I've tried normal maintenance stuff (defrag etc), disabling HyperThreading, cleaning out old drivers with drivercleaner and reinstalling new drivers. Normally I'd suspect the PSU, but it seems Dell installs quality supplies and rates them conservatively, so I'm not convinced that's the problem. It runs other games acceptably too (Thief - deadly shadows for example). BF2 ran like a dream on the 7900GT at 1280x1024 on my other computer, a E6600 based selfbuild. Maybe I'm CPU limited with the P4 here?

So, does anyone else here have a similar system? And in that case, how does BF2 run on it?

Madpistol
12-19-07, 10:02 AM
I think it's your CPU. I had a 2.8Ghz P4 that I ran BF2/2142 on for the longest time, and while BF2 was acceptable on most servers, BF2142 was almost unplayable on Titan mode. I had a 6800 GT and 2 GB of ram, so neither of those were the problem for those games. Supposedly there were people playing with great framerates on higher end processors.

I don't know what to tell you. I upgraded to a Core 2 Duo system, and both BF2 and 2142 are smooth as silk. Granted, the new system is a totally different animal than a P4 system, but that's the only solution I've found. Sorry. :(

Tr1cK
12-19-07, 10:06 AM
CPU limited

P4 = Athlon XP

SH64
12-19-07, 11:20 AM
Yep most likely your CPU.

its running smooth for me with a X2 4800+ , 2GB RAM , X1900XTX (online 64 players).

K-1
12-19-07, 11:45 AM
I ran the game perfectly smoothly on an Athlon 64 3700+ (2.2 Ghz single core) with a 7900GT at 1280x1024 4xAA for the longest time. Would a P4 really cause that much of a problem? I know they were inefficient chips but were they THAT bad?

Dag_3
12-19-07, 11:46 AM
Thanks, that's what I suspected. Guess this computer is nearing the end of it's useful life, at least as a games machine.

Tr1cK
12-19-07, 12:37 PM
I ran the game perfectly smoothly on an Athlon 64 3700+ (2.2 Ghz single core) with a 7900GT at 1280x1024 4xAA for the longest time. Would a P4 really cause that much of a problem? I know they were inefficient chips but were they THAT bad?
Yes.

SlickRig
12-19-07, 02:08 PM
Yes.

Bull crap, BF2 is an old game now and a P4 is plenty for it. My first gaming PC ever consisted of a intel p4 at 3ghz 2gb ram and an X850XT PE. Running BF2 at 1280X1024 with 4XAA and 16XAF without a single hitch and all options at max. I was picky about my frame rate with this game to so it had to be at 60fps or higher which I never had any problems attaining.

3DBrad
12-19-07, 02:50 PM
With a 3800x2 I still had slowdown on large servers. Don't really anymore.

A 7900gt or 7800gtx will do fine at 1280x1024 on highest settings (with 1.5gb of RAM or more), but on large servers, sometimes 20-30fps isn't too uncommon with a lot going on.

CaptNKILL
12-19-07, 03:01 PM
The game ran excellent for me after getting a 7900GTX but when there was a lot going on or the server was packed my 2.5Ghz Athlon 64s (single or dual core... didn't really matter) would slow it down a little.

Its perfect now though.

I can play at 2048x1536 with 4x Super Sampling, 16x AF and vsync on and get 85fps constant all the time.

The increase in my minimum framerates with this core 2 has just been incredible. The 8800GTX just allowed ridiculous resolutions and AA. :p

Burnt_Ram
12-19-07, 03:07 PM
must be the cpu? i have a 7800GT with an Athlon64 @ 2.7 and 2 gigs ram, and i run BF2 smooth as a babies bottom @ 1024x768 4xAa 8xAF "max" settings.

only thing is i run out of vid memory once in awhile, but it's generally smooth 95% of the time ... so it's "definately" NOT your vid card!

Tr1cK
12-19-07, 03:30 PM
Bull crap, BF2 is an old game now and a P4 is plenty for it. My first gaming PC ever consisted of a intel p4 at 3ghz 2gb ram and an X850XT PE. Running BF2 at 1280X1024 with 4XAA and 16XAF without a single hitch and all options at max. I was picky about my frame rate with this game to so it had to be at 60fps or higher which I never had any problems attaining.
So why don't you give the OP some help then?


You just started gaming on a P4 with X850? Then how do you qualify this statement?
DX10 is not the make it or break it for Vista as there are plenty of other features that I prefer with it over XP. In time DX10 will mature much as in the same way the transition from DX8 to DX9 took place.

Honestly, it doesn't seem like many of you were around back in those days because if you had been then you would not be in such shock as to why there is not a sudden jump from DX9 to DX10.
Looks like you weren't around back in them days. :D

SlickRig
12-19-07, 04:37 PM
So why don't you give the OP some help then?

If I had a solution to his problem I would. I was simply stating that a 3ghz or faster P4 is plenty for BF2. Dont get your little panties in a wad just because I dont agree with you.


You just started gaming on a P4 with X850? Then how do you qualify this statement?

Looks like you weren't around back in them days. :D

Ok I obviously should have been more specific. First gaming PC that I ever built myself consisted of the P4 and X850XT PE. The others before that were (DELL) :o Gforce 2, 8500pro, Gforce 4 and my last prebuilt had a 9800pro in it. So yeah, I was definitely around in those days and remember it quite well.


Smart ass.

Tr1cK
12-19-07, 04:54 PM
:D

I didn't mean the P4 wasn't fast, just that it's a weak chip in comparison to most.

SlickRig
12-19-07, 06:12 PM
:D

I didn't mean the P4 wasn't fast, just that it's a weak chip in comparison to most.


Well yeah its definitely not as fast as most amd chips let alone Core 2 duo chips but its certainly enough cpu for BF2.