PDA

View Full Version : Beta Forceware 169.28 Feedback Thread - WinXP only!


Pages : [1] 2

Pav
12-21-07, 03:21 PM
Thanks yet again to Electronic Punk for sorting us out with a new set of drivers for Windows XP. These are dated 18th December 2007, Beta English only and available for 32bit and 64bit version of Windows XP.

Download 32bit - http://www.electronicpunk.com/forceware/169.28_forceware_winxp_32bit_english.exe

Download 64bit - http://www.electronicpunk.com/forceware/169.28_forceware_winxp64_english.exe

Please leave feeback if you try them out, thanks!

I know its a bit early but...Happy Christmas everyone! :)

7oPd4wG
12-21-07, 07:54 PM
Installed and played cod4 so far seems stable. Haven't put through 3dmark06 yet (nana2)

bmg
12-21-07, 08:02 PM
Any problems with aa not working in profiles like with 169.21?

Effexor
12-21-07, 08:57 PM
Any problems with aa not working in profiles like with 169.21?

For me it still has the same broken AA issues.. I cannot force AA on in games I used to, like UT2004, and Oblivion. I wish they would fix the broken profile settings for AA.

SJA06
12-22-07, 02:58 PM
For me it still has the same broken AA issues.. I cannot force AA on in games I used to, like UT2004, and Oblivion. I wish they would fix the broken profile settings for AA.

yep, same here, very annoying.

UT3 and all othe UE3 games can't force AA
Oblivion - same
FSX forced higher mode through Nhancer don't work.

Back to the .17's

Bokishi
12-22-07, 03:30 PM
Back to the .17's

Yeah that's where I'm heading too

HeavyH20
12-22-07, 03:47 PM
For me it still has the same broken AA issues.. I cannot force AA on in games I used to, like UT2004, and Oblivion. I wish they would fix the broken profile settings for AA.

The direction of new drivers is to not overide in game settings. There will be a point where the only way to adjust the driver settings will be within the game. Forcing the game settings is old school.

SJA06
12-22-07, 04:05 PM
The direction of new drivers is to not overide in game settings. There will be a point where the only way to adjust the driver settings will be within the game. Forcing the game settings is old school.

Well if that's true then 'what a crock of ****' I want to use AA in UE3 engine games, in which your given NO option - I want to force 16xQ AA in FSX which gives you a single AA option, to mention but two.

I just want control of my PC and not be forced to do it the way a particular vendor says I should :thumbdwn:

SlieTheSecond
12-22-07, 11:54 PM
Where did you get that information?

Most games come with limits such as no AA when your computer is perfectly capable of 32xAA. And they are going to take away the ability to make games look better via drivers?

KoVaR
12-23-07, 07:15 AM
How is flat panel scaling this time ?

andy_nv
12-23-07, 10:04 AM
AA seems to work here with Gears of War, forced through the drivers.

emig5m
12-23-07, 04:43 PM
Where did you get that information?

Most games come with limits such as no AA when your computer is perfectly capable of 32xAA. And they are going to take away the ability to make games look better via drivers?

Which is the whole point of buying high end gaming hardware - to bump up the settings. We're going into ****ing 2008, AA should just be a set in stone game coding standard! No other way of thinking about it, you code a game, it must comply to 2008 standards (support AA) or it's not allowed to be published!

El1iP3S01D
12-24-07, 01:19 AM
This is the best driver by far for Test Drive Unlimited...The Driver has increased my fps to an additional 5 fps from 30 to 35 in the city and outside the city an additional 10 fps from 45 to 55...So my feedback would be that the driver works.:afro:

openedge1
12-24-07, 07:24 AM
I believe it is a faster driver also because Vsync may be broken...it was for me in The Witcher and EQ2. Screen tearing is pretty bad..

Burnt_Ram
12-24-07, 10:15 AM
AA worked for me with beta 169.21, and still does with WHQL 169.21 even MOHA, which is a UE3 game works with AA forced throught nHancer.

lips
12-25-07, 02:33 PM
these drivers have been so bad for me ever since 169.21. 1920x1200 never want to work for me on my Acer lcd. Thank god guru keeps old drivers. vista driver gives my monitor 'out of range' error, then restores to full res, but crutial xp driver does nada, black screen hell. 163.75 worked perfect, what changed I wonder?

conroejoe
12-25-07, 08:56 PM
these drivers have been so bad for me ever since 169.21. 1920x1200 never want to work for me on my Acer lcd. Thank god guru keeps old drivers. vista driver gives my monitor 'out of range' error, then restores to full res, but crutial xp driver does nada, black screen hell. 163.75 worked perfect, what changed I wonder?


hrmm working fine here. everything seems faster.

Stevedroid
12-26-07, 12:52 AM
AA is working for me with Bioshock. However it only works on some edges - which, as far as I know, is the way it's always been - a result of UE3's deferred lighting.

The edges that it doesn't work on really stand out, so if you're not paying close attentionyou might think AA is off totally, but once you look in more detail, you see it just doesn't work on some edges depending on the current lighting. If you think AA isn't working, take a good look at all edges before making that assumption.

Here's a shot that demonstrates what I'm talking about, you can see from the green circles AA is definitely working on some edges, but from the red circles it's not working on others (click for fullsize with marked areas).

http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/5315/bioaawc4.th.jpg (http://img183.imageshack.us/my.php?image=bioaawc4.jpg)

SJA06
12-26-07, 04:34 AM
From that shot it quite clearly ISN'T working on any edges, even those circled, I think Bioshock's bloom is hiding it to some extent though.

Anywat what would be the point of it only working on some edges? - I want full AA on all edges.

Stevedroid
12-26-07, 10:45 PM
From that shot it quite clearly ISN'T working on any edges, even those circled, I think Bioshock's bloom is hiding it to some extent though.
No, it is working on some edges. Once you got to Imageshack, did you bother to click the image and look at it in the original size? Imageshack shows images scaled by default, and the simple linear interpolation they use for scaling introduces aliasing. I can upload a shot with AA totally off for comparison if you really have a desire to look like a fool. Before you respond, consider carefully that I may have already made such a comparison and do not make my assertion idly.

It is unfortuante that the AA is partial, but as previously said, as far as I know that's how it's always been with UE3 games because of the engine's use of deferred lighting; I do not think it is a problem specific to this driver version.

Bokishi
12-27-07, 01:16 AM
So you use nHancer to force AA with these drivers?

SJA06
12-27-07, 05:09 AM
Look, I'm not trying to make anyone look a fool, I'm just saying AA does not appear to be working properly or at all, in your shots or mine. Bioshock is not the easiest game to judge it, as it's so dark and bloomy.

A couple of rough crop/close-ups with the same settings forced through nhancer.

169.17
http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/2466/64229211td1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

169.28
http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/4527/61295529ua3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Lenin
12-27-07, 11:00 AM
Is there any good reason to switch to these if you're using 169.21 now?
No probs with aa there (forced through nHancer).

songohanx
12-27-07, 03:39 PM
Stepmania 4.0 has terrible OpenGL performance. It "chugs" hard every few seconds.

It's working fine with 163.75

Stevedroid
12-27-07, 04:40 PM
Look, I'm not trying to make anyone look a fool, I'm just saying AA does not appear to be working properly or at all, in your shots or mine. Bioshock is not the easiest game to judge it, as it's so dark and bloomy.

Perhaps it's just not working through nHancer then? I just use the nVidia control panel.

Here's my shots, you can see from the things like the gun, some of the slats on the bookcase on the floor, the books lying on it, and the 3D pointer arrow at the top that AA is partially working.

AA off:
http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/3251/aaoffhm4.jpg
AA on:
http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/4339/aaonba7.jpg

Note that this scene seems particularly bad with regard to AA not working. For the most part, in other areas, the AA coverage seems better. I'm presuming it depends on how a particular scene is lit.

This is the way I always remember AA working in the game. I don't remember a driver set that gave 100% perfect AA coverage - but that one I'm not sure on. Maybe there was a driver where AA worked totally. However, I am sure that AA is at least partially working with 169.21.

PS I didn't mean to react that harshly, I just get really angry when someone calls me a liar.