PDA

View Full Version : Vista users. Is your Vista 32bit or 64bit?


Gregor976
12-21-07, 04:22 PM
Vote and discuss. :)

six_storm
12-21-07, 05:01 PM
32-bit just for compatibility. Hopefully 64-bit will improve and be pushed hard with future technologies.

einstein_314
12-21-07, 05:13 PM
I voted 64bit because my main rig is using it. My laptop and HTPC however are running 32bit.

Libertysyclone
12-21-07, 05:19 PM
I used 32 but decided to try out 64 because of all my new hardware. I fell in love instantly, its faster, faster, faster, oh yah and faster.

as far as compatibility I call BS on anyone who thinks there is an issue. I play all my games and use the full Adobe CS suite on it. The built in compatibility mode works extremely well.

4gb of RAM is highly suggested.

LordJuanlo
12-21-07, 05:20 PM
Vista 64 bit, I have XP for 32 bit

Gregor976
12-21-07, 05:37 PM
32-bit just for compatibility. Hopefully 64-bit will improve and be pushed hard with future technologies.

Thanks for voting. What hardware/software are you running that is lacking support in 64bit? I myself have a Xerox printer which has no drivers for Vista. 32 or 64bit. EDIT: Xerox has crappy driver support IMO. I don't have an XP-64 driver either.

I have a huge collection of games and I was expecting a lot of probs with them since many of them have probs in XP-64, but I've been pleasantly surprised. No game problems, except for some nVidia beta glitches which are also pretty frequent in all OS's.

einstein_314
12-21-07, 05:53 PM
The things I have compatibility issues with are listed below.

1) 3d CAD programs. Solidworks and Autodesk Inventor do not work on an x64 systems. I think there is now a Solidworks x64 version but Inventor still doesn't have one.

2) My TI-89 Graphing calculator will not work with x64. There is no driver for it and from what I've read, there are no plans for support. This mean I cannot plug it in to transfer programs and stuff to it. It's a PITA.

Other than that, I haven't had any problems or the ones I had have been fixed.

|MaguS|
12-21-07, 08:51 PM
Im stuck on Vista Home Premium. :(

Rakeesh
12-21-07, 10:52 PM
32-bit just for compatibility. Hopefully 64-bit will improve and be pushed hard with future technologies.

When it comes to hardware that was made with vista in mind, there is very little to no difference in compatibility between 64-bit and 32-bit.

Redeemed
12-22-07, 12:16 AM
64-bit Ultimate. And my next two computers will be running the same. ;)

XxDeadlyxX
12-22-07, 01:09 AM
Im stuck on Vista Home Premium. :(

I'm on Home Premium x64 SP1 RC1, running great :)

jAkUp
12-22-07, 01:27 AM
64 here :D

methimpikehoses
12-22-07, 01:42 AM
64 bit... just because I dream of games that actually need 4GB of RAM. ;)

breathemetal
12-22-07, 01:46 AM
32 for now.
By next week, 64!

AthlonXP1800
12-22-07, 02:13 AM
Wow many guys use 64bit than 32bit, I use 32bit for now until Vista SP1 out then I will install Vista SP1 64bit. :D

XxDeadlyxX
12-22-07, 07:11 AM
I'm really impressed with Vista x64 SP1rc1... it fixes my STALKER performance and it fixes the occasional Flip3D lag I had before SP1.

My problems with Vista now are pretty much nil (nana2)

Also Vista supports heaps more resolutions on my Dell 24" including 1920x1080, which makes it easy to switch to my 37" hdtv. I checked on XP and I can't even choose 1920x1080, or any 16:9 resolutions for that matter.

Creative drivers on Vista are great now.

Well done Nvidia/Creative/M$ :D

If only Crysis performance was better :( conroejoe says Crysis is a full 10-15fps slower with same settings on Vista... although I haven't done a direct comparison I hope the Crysis patch comes soon and actually makes the fps more stable.

Proff
12-22-07, 08:26 AM
I just installed 64 bit Home premium and as far as I see it runs pretty well. It was easier to install than I thought it would be. It does seem faster than 32 bit. I agree that the compatibility mode works really well. Just for fun I installed two of my older games Zeus Master of Olympus and Pharaoh/Cleopatra Queen of the Nile. Both of these games run surprisingly well. Far a I am concerned Vista 64 bit is the way to go and it only cost me $10.00.(nana2)

$n][pErMan
12-22-07, 12:02 PM
I am still running Vista 32-bit. The main reason for this now is I am just to lazy to install everything all over again and I doubt its going to matter a whole hell of a lot anyway in terms of gaming performance. But initially a year ago when I upgraded I went 32-bit Vista because there were a ton of issues with 64-bit and at the time 32-bit Vista, while having issues, was much easier to get running with software :)

Dragunov
02-25-08, 01:56 PM
I just installed 64 bit Home premium and as far as I see it runs pretty well. It was easier to install than I thought it would be. It does seem faster than 32 bit. I agree that the compatibility mode works really well. Just for fun I installed two of my older games Zeus Master of Olympus and Pharaoh/Cleopatra Queen of the Nile. Both of these games run surprisingly well. Far a I am concerned Vista 64 bit is the way to go and it only cost me $10.00.(nana2)

Tell how u installed them, cause mine has trouble installing it: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=108687