PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading my BIOS for NF7-S


Ramshambo2001
04-20-03, 10:08 AM
I would like to upgrade my mobo to accept the new 400 mhz fsb & barton support, but I am hearing stories of people totally screwing up thier mobo because they didn't know what they were doing. I have never done this before and would like to know if I follow the instructions on abit's site, am I going to run into any problems. If there is a better guide out on the net that you like to use or have any suggestions please post , thx!

Tux
05-03-03, 01:22 AM
Here is what i did..

1.) went to www.bootdisk.com and downloaded a windows 98 boot disk.

2.) downloaded the bios file from abits site. Depends on what revision board you have as to where to find the bios update. If you have a version 2.0 nf7-s board go to http://fae.abit.com.tw/eng/download/bios/nf7-s2.htm

3.) ran the file i downloaded from abits site and copied all the bios files to a seperate floppy disk.

3.) Inserted my boot disk, rebooted the computer, made sure the first boot device in the bios was set to floppy, booted off the bootdisk, and ran runme.bat


now im running bios version 1.1

CaptNKILL
05-03-03, 02:29 AM
I just used the Windows compatable flash util. It worked fine for me (although the process takes longer than I expected).

I dont have the link right now, but you can just go to www.abit.com.tw and look for mobo Utilities. It'l be there.

One warning: the program is still beta so it could have a problem... although Ive never heard of any.

EDIT:heres (http://fae.abit.com.tw/eng/download/dl_flashmenu.htm) the link

demonized
05-03-03, 07:31 AM
make sure ur system isnt overclocked. to be safer load optimal default settings from the bios.

|JuiceZ|
05-03-03, 05:20 PM
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
I just used the Windows compatable flash util. It worked fine for me (although the process takes longer than I expected).

I dont have the link right now, but you can just go to www.abit.com.tw and look for mobo Utilities. It'l be there.

One warning: the program is still beta so it could have a problem... although Ive never heard of any.

EDIT:heres (http://fae.abit.com.tw/eng/download/dl_flashmenu.htm) the link

yea I used the windows proggie as well, worked fine. Also depending upon which vers of the NF7-S you have, make sure you don't accidentally flash the wrong one.

netviper13
05-04-03, 01:22 AM
It's really not as hard as people make it seem. Just follow the instructions and don't do anything stupid like unplug the system in the middle of the flash and you'll be fine. One of the first things I did with my NF7-S after getting the OS set up was to flash the latest BIOS, and it went very smoothly.

Just simply formatted a disk in XP to be a boot disk, then copied the files from the self-extracting EXE onto it, booted from the disk, and flashed from there.