PDA

View Full Version : 8800GT/Vista/FW900


slackusr
12-24-07, 10:21 AM
I have had Vista Ultimate sitting in the box until I got some better hardware to run it on. Well I just picked up a BFG 8800GT, so I figured now was the time to give Vista a shot. I have an Sony GDM-FW900 (HP OEM version) which is an outstanding monitor. In XP I have to use Powerstrip to get the exact timings I want for 1920x1200@85Hz and 1600x1024@85Hz.

I understand that Powerstrip does not work with the 8800 series cards so I am trying to figure out how to get my timings to work. 1920x1200@85Hz is a common setting and I can set it in Vista but the polarity is wrong (the FW900 is -/-) so I get a squished picture. I have been able to get 1600x1024 working using Riva tuner but I am stuck on 1920x1200. Any ideas? Thanks.

henrybravo
12-24-07, 11:18 AM
Sounds like you might be using the bnc connections instead of the vga connection? No problems here using an 8800GTX with a dvi-to-vga cable. I've been using Vista since January with countless driver versions ever since.

HB

Gregor976
12-24-07, 12:50 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=104285

And like henrybravo said, definitely use the dvi to vga adapter or cable. Also make sure that it's a good heavy cable that's shielded and not too long. My brother "we purchased 2 of these monitors together" was using a really long cable and it was screwing with the edid signal so windows wasn't picking up the PNP info from the monitor. He was having all sorts of probs getting windows to accept his timings until I happened to notice that he had a 10ft fricken cable attached to the monitor. Heh.

Merry Christmas.

slackusr
12-24-07, 02:04 PM
henrybravo,

Nope, using dvi-vga here. What monitor driver are you using? The built-in FW900 driver in Vista? I am wondering if the EDID for my HP version is different than the EDID for the Sony. Thanks.

Gregor976
12-24-07, 02:38 PM
Same firmware except for the descriptor. "Sony vs HP"

Does your monitor show up as PNP or non PNP? That was what caused me to look at my bro's cable. His showed up as standard monitor but not PNP.

EDIT: I'd just use the Sony driver.

henrybravo
12-24-07, 02:40 PM
slackusr,

Yes I'm using the built-in Vista driver. In the device manager it is listed as SONY GDM-FW900, driver is dated 6/21/2006.

There is an .inf file available for this monitor from the Sony web site. It was originally designed for XP but it may work with Vista. I don't know if it will help with your problem but just thought I'd mention it.

http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/model-home.pl?mdl=GDMFW900&LOC=3

Click on Drivers & Software on the left.

One other thing...I'm surprised to hear you needed to use Powerstrip in Windows XP to get the timings you needed. I dual boot Vista/XP, and I don't have any problems running 1920x1200@85Hz or 1600x1000@85Hz in either OS, no Powerstrip required.

HB

XDanger
12-24-07, 03:27 PM
YES YES YES THAT MONITOR ROCKS!!!! I WANT THAT ONE :)

Is there a better monitor????

slackusr
12-24-07, 04:37 PM
All is well. All I needed was a press of the Reset button on the front monitor panel. I never thought to use it before as I have never needed it. It did the trick along with some dimensional fine tuning. Way to over think a simple fix, eh? Thanks for the responses, all. Happy holidays.