PDA

View Full Version : Blocking Limewire


Bearclaw
12-24-07, 05:12 PM
I want to block limewire and the ports it uses on my network, and anything that would allow it access.

What do I need to do and how would I do it?

TheBigOne
12-24-07, 05:32 PM
I want to block limewire and the ports it uses on my network, and anything that would allow it access.

What do I need to do and how would I do it?
Block ports 6346 and 63685 in your router setup.
If you have a linksys router
go to QOS
then Rate control
then add ports 63685 and 6346 then set bandwith to 0
You'll find also that 6347 is also used for RTR-Gnutella. I recommend blocking that port also, Although blocking SVC-Gnutella (6346 and 63685) should do the trick.

Bearclaw
12-24-07, 05:55 PM
Thanks for your help. I will try this out.

stncttr908
12-24-07, 08:49 PM
Wait, you're going to throttle ALL traffic in the port range 36294-49155?

TheBigOne
12-24-07, 09:25 PM
Wait, you're going to throttle ALL traffic in the port range 36294-49155? I was thinking of bittorrent, because bittorrent go up different ports I meant Port 6347 and 63685 is for RTR-Gnutella

bacon12
12-24-07, 11:46 PM
Thats fine for blocking the default ports but if they are changed on the client side you are pissing in the wind.

You have the option of using a very strict firewall and only open the ports you absolutely need. I am behind a linux fw, but have heard good things about protowall (http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/IP-Tools/ProtoWall.shtml).