PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about going SLI with a $140 eVGA 680i mobo,


3DBrad
12-25-07, 10:11 AM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188015

So who all uses this motherboard? It's a lot cheaper than the way-too-expensive $330 780i motherboards, and people use it with quad-cores quite nicely.

I love my current motherboard, but I would like to go SLI 8800gt. :)

So any suggestions? :)

stncttr908
12-25-07, 12:06 PM
Well if you're not going Yorkfield (45nm) down the road you might want to pick one up. If you're serious about SLI you'll be able to put up with the issues others have had (SATA, BIOS, etc.).

mythy
12-25-07, 01:12 PM
yea.. DON'T DO IT! So many have had soo many issues its a POS take my advice seriously I been down that road its a POS and it doesn't support upcoming 45nm quads

3DBrad
12-25-07, 01:59 PM
Well, I already have a great CPU so I won't be upgraded to a 45nm most likely. :D
But maybe I'll just wait and not spend any $ right now. :)

fasedww
12-25-07, 02:37 PM
yea.. DON'T DO IT! So many have had soo many issues its a POS take my advice seriously I been down that road its a POS and it doesn't support upcoming 45nm quadsI have had both the old and now the A1 version of Evga 680i motherboards absolutey no problems, I had to get the A1 for this quad, But I'm watercooled and the north bridge also, both boards so my northbridge chipsets were not spiking hot'.:D Also my memory has been these dominators from the old board to the new been at 2.1 volts, never any problems with the revisions.

3DBrad
12-25-07, 02:38 PM
I have had both the old and now the A1 version of Evga 680i motherboards absolutey no problems, I had to get the A1 for this quad, But I'm watercooled and the north bridge also, both boards so my northbrige chipsets were not spiking hot'.:D

Your sig says your CPU is running at 3.65mhz. :p

fasedww
12-25-07, 03:08 PM
Your sig says your CPU is running at 3.65mhz. :p
Yep thats what it is 10X 365 FSB. memory unscync at 800 mhz, 4 4 4 12 2t.:D I'm using the A1 revision now, my old AR motherboard is sitting in my closet right now. worked great with the E6600 dual core had it up to 3.7.

mythy
12-25-07, 03:35 PM
Your sig says your CPU is running at 3.65mhz. :p


Yea hes obviously not to brite :D

fasedww
12-25-07, 08:50 PM
Yea hes obviously not to brite :Dwho are you talking about me or him.;)

mythy
12-25-07, 08:57 PM
both! Mr. Mhz! :captnkill: ahahah add the damn G or make it 3.65Kmhz :D

fasedww
12-25-07, 09:04 PM
both! Mr. Mhz! :captnkill: ahahah add the damn G or make it 3.65Kmhz :D
kiss it, you asshole

3DBrad
12-25-07, 09:12 PM
Group hug, now back to the 680i discussion. :p

mythy
12-25-07, 09:16 PM
kiss it, you asshole



I love you too :wonder:

3DBrad
12-25-07, 09:24 PM
That would be "too" as in "also," not "to." :p

mythy
12-25-07, 09:28 PM
So it would why thank you for pointing out my grammatical error I appreciate it kind sir :D

LORD-eX-Bu
12-25-07, 10:51 PM
:headexplode:

mythy
12-25-07, 11:41 PM
rofl :D