PDA

View Full Version : Only 2 out of 10 mobos were able to support Phenom


hell_of_doom227
12-26-07, 01:20 PM
AMD really needs to do something, cause people will rather get new intel cpu/mobo. If AMD continues this practice...they should go down...

http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/12/26/phenom_motherboards/page15.html

grey_1
12-26-07, 01:39 PM
Looks to me more like poor support from the mobo manufacturers. He clearly states only Asus and Gigabyte have released updated bios supporting the new chip.

Either way it's bad for AMD, but unless the other manufacturers just never received needed code from AMD to write the support in, they dropped the ball, not AMD.

nekrosoft13
12-26-07, 01:42 PM
yes, but AMD will suffer. people will move to Intel, but still buy Asus, abit etc... board.

grey_1
12-26-07, 01:43 PM
yes, but AMD will suffer. people will move to Intel, but still buy Asus, abit etc... board.
Yup, that's what I meant on the last line. It's really sad as I would love to see AMD rebound, just for the competitions sake. they're hurting pretty badly at the moment.

CaptNKILL
12-26-07, 01:46 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1458384&postcount=7

shabby
12-26-07, 01:52 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1458384&postcount=7

I wonder which way he'll spin it this time.

grey_1
12-26-07, 01:58 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1458384&postcount=7
Oh that's golden. :p

mullet
12-26-07, 02:14 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1458384&postcount=7

That is the most retarded comment I have ever read.

Feyy
12-26-07, 02:54 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1458384&postcount=7

I think you guys are jumping at Artic too fast this time, because ALL the motherboards do have compatibility with Phenom, its just the most vendors like MSI,Biostar,etc haven't brought out the current bios versions to support the processor. As im sure you remember the 680i cant run 45nm Quad's with a bios revision, so AMD wins.

simply have not yet released updated BIOS versions with Phenom support.

In other words, wait another few weeks (after all its christmas holiday period) for further support and bioses to arrive.

Mr Bigman
12-26-07, 02:56 PM
No one mentioned the M2n32 590 SLi in the list.

BigOne uses that baord and works fine and thats the board im going with soon for one of my rigs.

I like AMD and always did and i like how things open faster on AMD.

hell_of_doom227
12-26-07, 03:06 PM
I think you guys are jumping at Artic too fast this time, because ALL the motherboards do have compatibility with Phenom, its just the most vendors like MSI,Biostar,etc haven't brought out the current bios versions to support the processor. As im sure you remember the 680i cant run 45nm Quad's with a bios revision, so AMD wins.



In other words, wait another few weeks (after all its christmas holiday period) for further support and bioses to arrive.

Not really because AMD Phenom can't even compete against q6600 which can run 3.0 easily which means there is no need for any upgrade to 45nm Quad's unless you want to jump to DDR3 with 790SLI chipset. To be honest, AMD has nothing to compete against Intel/Nvidia...not a single product. My bro just picked Evga 8800GT for $239 512MB from newegg...HD3870 costs the same. I could care less for AMD, but i just can't forgive to ATI for the most stupid business deal they made in a history of IT...I just knew from day one that AMD would not give a **** about ATI and what it meant for industry....

In other words people will get Intel platform...

It's really sad for AMD...but if they don't get their act together, good luck.

CaptNKILL
12-26-07, 04:21 PM
I think you guys are jumping at Artic too fast this time
I know, I was just picking on him. :p

lightman
12-27-07, 03:59 AM
As im sure you remember the 680i cant run 45nm Quad's with a bios revision, so AMD wins.

Do you realize though that Intel chipsets (with the same 775 socket) do support 45nm Quads, right ? So it's not a matter of socket, it's a matter of that particular chipset.

john19055
12-27-07, 06:50 AM
It takeing AMD a little time to get caught up ,but they are on the right path with the 3850 and 3870 and the Phenom is getting there ,running at the same speed they are about as fast as a Quad 6600 ,it just that they want overclock wortha shiitt ,but I think a few more reversion it will get better.

Dazz
12-28-07, 04:48 AM
At this stage the chipsets are compatable with ASUS, it's the manufactures that can't be bothered. I would say DO NOT BUY ABIT! I am still awaiting a reply of a problem i sent them an email 2 f**king weeks ago!!.

Zapablast05
12-28-07, 06:33 PM
My motherboard has a BIOS update available. It didn't have one the first week that Phenom came out. I was anticipating it, and now there is one. Now that it's out, Phenom has bad **** thrown at it, which is why I'm just getting an Intel setup.

bacon12
12-28-07, 06:46 PM
At this stage the chipsets are compatable with ASUS, it's the manufactures that can't be bothered. I would say DO NOT BUY ABIT! I am still awaiting a reply of a problem i sent them an email 2 f**king weeks ago!!.

I will never buy another abit mobo. NEVER!

I RMAed a board twice and still can't get it to post. If I was to ship it again I would have more in shipping than it cost. :thumbdwn:

My gigabyte does support the phenom, so I guess I am soooooo lucky.

Zapablast05
12-28-07, 06:50 PM
My gigabyte does support the phenom, so I guess I am soooooo lucky.

What board do you have?

bacon12
12-28-07, 06:55 PM
GA-M59SLI- S5

I will probably drop in a phenom.. err that s when it's faster than the 6400 I have in now, and bug free ;)

Zapablast05
12-28-07, 07:01 PM
GA-M59SLI- S5

I will probably drop in a phenom.. err that s when it's faster than the 6400 I have in now, and bug free ;)

Sweet. I can't find the 590 anywhere. I settled for the GA-M57LI-S4. I'm happy with my 5200+, but if/when AMD starts competing again, I'll probably stick with it. I ordered parts, all except the mobo and CPU because of indecisiveness with the mobo.

Mr Bigman
12-31-07, 05:31 PM
Got my ASUS M2n32 Deluxe Wifi and when i get the Phenom, This will replace my Media Center rig and give the wife the x2 and rock on with my othe rigs.